We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine warmth and delicious meals in a unique setting: a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 28, 2011

After 20 years away from Guate's Zona 1, I returned last week(2/19 and 2/26/11), this time with my 13 year old daughter, to stay for a night coming and a night leaving the country at Posada Belen. The stay was magical for us both. The hotel is a former home and it truly is homey, filled with antique furniture, paintings and archeological finds from the owner's travels. The rooms are spacious and adorned simply with tipica bed spreads, wall hangings and tiling. My daughter was thrilled to discover several live turtles occupying the courtyard, itself filled with orchid-bearing trees and wrought iron seating. Don Rafael, the manager, was warm and accommodating even though we arrived late and hungry both coming and going from our travels in Antigua and at Atitlan. He readily prepared a delicious Chapin breakfast our first morning, and another remarkable meal was our send-off a week later. He and his son Manuel, along with other staff Nilo, Juan and owner Francesca were unfailingly helpful and available.

Zone 1 has been avoided by many in recent years, and my daughter and I only ventured out briefly (this was her first trip to Central America, and our time was limited), but the 6a Avenida has been transformed into a walking mall by closing it to traffic , and security personnel are omnipresent. We were promptly retrieved from the airport and picked up from Posada Belen each time we sough a taxi/shuttle, We look forward to returning to Posada Belen on our next trip to Guatemala.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SrNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Posada Belen Museo Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 309 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

Just returned with 14 friends from our yearly trek to the Maya world, and stayed at Posada Belen. This is my third time. The beautiful home dating to the 1800s in Zona 1, downtown, opens its welcoming arms where you immediately feel at home. They always have the rooms assigned and without any questions take our luggage to our rooms. The kitchen, manager and rest of the staff are there for your every whim. Rooms are ample and food is terrific. Vegetarian? No problem. Don't like chicken? No problem. Because we were a group, the hotel was occupied almost entirely by us. Sitting by its tiny garden where turtles live and enjoying a glass of wine makes it even better. Don't expect luxuries. The place is immaculately clean. If you're staying in Guatemala City on your way to and from Maya ruins, this is the place to be. We highly recommend it.

Marta and a group from the Institute of Maya Studies, Miami

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siliobarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

we stayed just a few days and we loved it. The hotel is convenient located in zona 1, at walking distance of the market and the 6th Avenida. The neighbourhood is very quiet, the staff did everything to make our stay comfortable. A place where you want to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tulix54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

If you want the feel of being transported back a hundred years and staying as a guest in someone's home in Guatemala City, Posada Belen is for you. Very charming, very Old Guatemala. The rooms which are decorated with local bedspreads and paintings open onto a small but lush courtyard, sitting area, and dining room that will transport you back in time. Francesca, the owner, could not be any nicer, helpful, or more accomodating. We booked the hotels, transfers, and excursions through guatemalaweb.com, her tour company and everything was very well arranged. The dinner we had was excellent, but I thought the breakfast was overpriced by Guatemalan standards. All in all, the hotel is a great value. It is in the historic section within walking distance of the central market (but I would take a taxi anywhere at night). The Guatemalian staff was very friendly. The only downsides were the bathroom which was tiny (but provided the necessary facilities) and the slightly-musty old-house smell which may have been due to the rainy season. A great place to stay your first and last night if you want to experience the real Guatemala.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

When I was planning my visit to Guatemala, I found Posada Belen's website. I contacted the owner, Senora Francesca Sanchinelli, and within a few days she emailed me a suggested itinerary with prices.

After making a few changes, I settled on a 10-day discovery tour, which included the market of Chichicastenango, Lake Atitlan and Panajachel, Antigua, and Tikal, using Posada Belen as my base in Guatemala City.

My Spanish is more than adequate for solo travel, and yes, I could have saved a few dollars by making all of the arrangements myself, but I wanted my money to go to local people and not an impersonal tour company.

From the moment I exited the airport with my luggage and found a smiling and welcoming taxi driver holding a sign with my name on it, I felt that I was among friends.

The inn is hidden away on a small street, within easy walking distance of the Parque Central, and it is a true traveler's oasis. Th entire staff was delightful and helpful in every way. Breakfasts were delicious, and so was the one dinner I ate there. Although not glamorous, Posada Belen is clean, comfortable, quiet and safe. I felt like a guest in a private home.

All of the arrangements went off without a hitch: transfers, sight seeing, accommodations, and there were some unexpected, but fortuitous changes.

Due to the heavy rains, Sra Francesca advised me against the planned volcano climb and instead she arranged for me to have a excellent walking tour of Antigua.

In Panajachel, I arrived at the dock a few minutes late for the tour of the lake, but the transport company arranged for a smaller boat to take me to the first village to rendezvous with the ferry.

By staying overnight at the hotel in Tikal, I had the option of taking the late afternoon guided tour, when it is cooler, less crowded, and there are more animals and birds to be seen. Also, my entrance ticket to the archeological park was stamped with the next day's date, which allowed me to make a second visit to the temples the next morning.

I expected to enjoy my visit to Guatemala, but Sra. Francesca made it unforgettable!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaswpbfla813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We love this place.Stayed here twice on 2 visits to Guatemala, Hopefully we'll stay there again someday.Very charming place.Staff very eager to provide you a comfortable stay. We traveled through out Guatemala. Francisca arranged your lodging & travel. The cost was very reasonable & most convenient. We don't speak Spanish so her help was valuable beyond words.One draw back is the water pressure in the shower.Not good.However it was a little inconvenience compared to be surrounded by Maya artifacts,great food,& very nice people. I think we stayed in every room at one time or another.Loved then all.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

A wonderfully peaceful, hospitable spot in the centre of bustling Zona 1 of this teeming city. Warmest imaginable welcome from the incredibly obliging staff, a lovely light meal room, comfortable beds, hot water, 6 pet turtles in a leafy little courtyard - who could want more.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajau Colonial
Hotel Ajau Colonial
#43 of 49 in Guatemala City
29 reviews
1.1 mi away
Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center
Conquistador Hotel & Conference ...
#39 of 49 in Guatemala City
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#19 of 49 in Guatemala City
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $45 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing