We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE BEST!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

the place is amazing, it really makes you feel like you were in home, the food is fantastic and the staff really cares about your needs. if i return to guatemala city, i know this will be the place to be, i feel secure and in home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    74
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
44
73
78
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Cusco, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed in Posada Belen for one night while in Guatemala City. I chose the hotel because it was advertised as safe and is located near the heart of zona 1. I was pleased with safety but I have many complaints.

The actual hotel - our room smelled like an old basement. There was no ventilation because the window to the street did not open (for safety reasons) and we were located in the corner so there was no window to the rest of the hotel, which has an open roof over a tiny courtyard. It was so dusty that both my friend and me had sneezing attacks and runny noses because of the irritation. Also, the shower water was warm but did not drain. Although there was wifi in the hotel common areas, it did not reach our corner room.

Price: The hotel stay price is expected for a safe stay in the city.
However - meals are inconsistent and overpriced. We arrived late so we decided to stay in for dinner. There is no set menu so the man working in the office simply went through the freezer and told us our meat options. Then, the very same man cooked us a meal of mystery soup made from a package and then a huge chunk of meat (chicken and fish in our cases) seasoned exactly the same way (way too salty) a heap of very buttery rice that was probably instant and some steamed broccoli. We never recieved desert which was promised on the chalk board and the meal was edible only because we were very hungry. They also charged a whopping 100Q per person, which can easily buy very good, quality meal anywhere else in the country.
Taxi to the airport - We asked that the hotel call us a taxi to the airport and the man (different from the night before) happily did so. It arrived about 15 minutes late and the hotel charged us for it. The hotel charged 100Q which is an absurd amount to pay for a 10 minute ride to the airport. Not only did they completely overcharge us, after he rushed us into the car, he gave the driver 50Q, half of what we had paid, and the driver offered to take less because he said that was too much!

Overall, I'm glad the hotel was safe but I felt decieved and taken advantage of. My friend and I (two girls) had just finished an exhausting backpacking trip and after splurging on this hotel and reading positive reviews, we hoped we would have the chance to relax and not be hassled in our own hotel. Unfortunately, that was not the case.

Room Tip: Request to not be put in the corner room - no wifi and the shower did not drain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Guatemala City after staying in a larger hotel in Zone 10 for a week on business. The Inn has a lovely staff - extremely attentive and ready to help. The internet is great and purified water readily available. The rooms are very basic, perfect for a backpacking trip or a quick night before heading out to other parts of the country.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
239 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel was a very good find from our travel book. Though Guatemala City is VERY VERY difficult to find anything if you are driving. We arrived late on a Wednesday night and as soon as our cab arrived the hotel staff was there to get our bags and welcome us. They offered us purified water and assorted drinks on our arrival. The food was good not exceptional but we enjoyed it. The price was very reasonable and the staff was very customer focused.

Room Tip: Would advise you to take a cab there or if you know your way around Guatemala City you could drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJG-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHOLD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This place offers a quiet respite for the weary traveler. The food is home-cooked, the staff is friendly, helpful and caring and the price is unbeatable. I met with the Doña and she was a gracious, welcoming hostess. This posada is located within walking distance of the main attractions in Zona 1, and they use their own personal (and safe) taxi service. This hotel is securely locked and watched over by the wonderful staff. The interior is exquisitely decorated using Mayan artefacts. The dining, the patio, the corridor are all pleasing to the eye. This place does not have TV, but the rooms all have wifi. And you can have your clothes hand-washed! When I return to Guatemala City I will stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank theobied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Posada Belen right before Christmas and we made arrangements with the owners Rene and Francesca Sanchinelli to have a taxi pick us up ( it was part of the services offered to customers at an extra fee). We e-mailed them 2 days in advance to confirm the trip and Mr. Sanchinelli wrote back "No problem, the taxi will be waiting for you". Well, we were on time and spent more than two hours waiting for the "taxi", called the hotel a couple of times and nobody picked us up. We ended up taking another car service. Their employees at the hotel were really nice but they explained that it was the owner who did the arrangements and we NEVER heard an apology from him. Rene and Francesca Sanchinelli knew of the the problem, because we were told so and they could not be professional enough to call us while we were there or write to us afterwards. In fact we never met them or heard from them once in Guatemala. Not a way to conduct business! Not going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittykat214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Posada Belen Inn is not fancy but the rooms are clean, nicely decorated and Francesca who owns the place with her husband, is an absolute gem. I was traveling on my own for the first time and quite nervous about coming to Guatemala after everything I had read on line before coming. Francesca set up my whole trip for me which included a stay at her hotel, three times during the 10 day trip, and it was a wonderful trip. I can't say enough about Francesca and her staff, all of whom were very warm and friendly. If you are looking for a fancy hotel with lots of amenities, this is not the hotel for you, but if you are looking for somewhere where you are made to feel like family, which is clean and safe, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I slept in three different rooms and they were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnut58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#20 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#28 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#10 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Property: Posada Belen Museo Inn
Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing