We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Guatemalan ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Belen Museo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Guatemalan ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Arriving after dark, after a 40 minute taxi ride to a dark barred door on a dark street, we were not too impressed at the number three rated hotel. Room and bathroom are fairly basic. But wake up in the morning, see the atrium in the daylight, enjoy the plants and the artifacts and a great breakfast and you see that you found a warm place with a strong Guatemalan character. If you like B&Bs in the US and have a little sense of adventure this is the place for you. And the price is a real bargain.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    73
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
39
66
77
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have traveled to Guagemala many times over the past eighteen years. My party and I always stay at Posado Belen on the evening of our arrival and on the evening before we depart the country. The hotel has an old world charm because of the many artifacts. Staff is both friendly and helpful.There is a great sense of security and the streets are generally quiet making for a good nights sleep, Meals are reasonable in price and are very tasty All in all, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZorroPlatiado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

There are so many good things to recommend about this hotel, I don't know where to start! The rooms are large, well-kept, comfortable and cozy. Both the courtyard and the dining room provide gathering spaces where you can meet and talk with people from many different parts of the world. MOST IMPORTANTLY, the staff members are courteous, helpful, and friendly. If you have a question about the city, travel, banking, medical issues, they can and will help you. Need coffee first thing in the morning? Tell them what time and they'll gently knock on your door to wake you with a steaming cup. The delicious home-cooked meals are a welcome change from restaurant fare and the service is a perfect combination of attentiveness and friendliness. The next time I travel to Guatemala City, I will certainly return to the Posada Belen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inixoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We needed a place for two nights and weren't sure where to stay. This posada is close to parque central, the intriguing market and historical buildings. The service was great. My only real complaints are the very dark room (only a tiny skylight), the very expensive breakfast ($15 for two which is somewhat outrageous in Guatemala), and the room itself was also a bit more than I'd have expected to pay for what we got. We need to go back in three weeks to catch our flight but will try another place and see what we get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just can't say enough about this hotel. Respectful travelers will fall in love as did I. Don't let the hype fool you, downtown Guate City has a lot going on and absolutely is safe if you simply follow a few common sense precautions. Daytime is lovely, night time, simply take taxis. It is that easy. This hotel is full of history and a sense of wonder. Takes you to another place and time. I highly recommend to anyone seeking an authentic experience. Good value to boot.
Cheers! Raw Travel TV

Room Tip: Don't use the google address. It is wrong. Get the address directly from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank punkoutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Friendly and courteous, the team here genuinely wants your stay to be a pleasant experience. A unique kind of place where you feel safe amidst the chaos of the city... while eating a home-cooked meal (gluten-free - not a problem). Excellent value; we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brent d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio Palopo, Solola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been a very contented client of the Posada Belén since the year 2000. Since then I have stayed there more than 15 times and the service and hospitality have ALWAYS been exemplary. As I am retired and on a tiny pension, I am delighted to say that the Posada gives me the "bang for my buck". I know the Posada is clean, quiet, and always interesting due to the museum included in their business. I highly recommend the Posada Belén to anyone travelling to Guatemala or simply travelling to the city for an over-night stay.

Room Tip: Any room is clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#23 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#21 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#32 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center
Conquistador Hotel & Conference ...
#22 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Property: Posada Belen Museo Inn
Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing