We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Friendly and courteous, the team here genuinely wants your stay to be a pleasant experience. A unique kind of place where you feel safe amidst the chaos of the city... while eating a home-cooked meal (gluten-free - not a problem). Excellent value; we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brent d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 311 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been a very contented client of the Posada Belén since the year 2000. Since then I have stayed there more than 15 times and the service and hospitality have ALWAYS been exemplary. As I am retired and on a tiny pension, I am delighted to say that the Posada gives me the "bang for my buck". I know the Posada is clean, quiet, and always interesting due to the museum included in their business. I highly recommend the Posada Belén to anyone travelling to Guatemala or simply travelling to the city for an over-night stay.

Room Tip: Any room is clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

i've been busy since my trip to guatemala in january, but i feel i have to share the great experience i had staying at the posada belen.
it was a last minute decision to go to guatemala and i had just a couple of nights before my trip to look for a place and make my reservations.
this place had everything i wanted and needed. it may not be in a nice area but it was quiet and safe. it was an old building in the historical center of guatemala city...exactly what i wanted. i prefer staying in small places, and needed a place that offered airport pickup/drop off, has wifi, and served breakfast and this place had all these.
from the moment i arrived until the day i left i never had a problem. the staff at the inn was very warm in welcoming me. i felt at home right away. i am not sure if it was because it wasn't full but i had the whole room with 3 beds to myself...and the room was huge. i also had the chance to check the other rooms and no two rooms looked the same...they were all decorated beautifully, the whole place was just amazing. they have a huge collection of antique pieces of furniture, displays and paintings.
i didn't have time to read and find out what i wanted to see and just made sure i spend some time with francesca, the owner of the inn, when i got there. she made the calls and also gave me suggestions of what i can do and see in 3 days. aside from that we had a really good conversation which lasted for hours. it seemed like we've known each other forever!
if you need someone to drive you to a restaurant or anywhere in the city, a tour guide, or if you want to go on a day trip to antigua or a few days to visit the mayans you just need to let her know. she knows who to contact. she's such a nice lady...you will love her!
the staff - very nice, friendly, and accommodating. they made sure you're enjoying your stay. breakfast was good. i always had the tipico, although there were other choices. there was so much food it lasted me till dinner. i went on a day trip to antigua and didn't get back to the hotel until 9pm. when they found out i didn't have dinner yet they made sure i didn't go to bed hungry.
although the staff spoke very little english, and my spanish was 'un poquito' i enjoyed my small talks with them when i was either in the dining hall or the courtyard. you don't even have to look or call them if you need anything...they're always there waiting for you.
if this is going to be your first trip to guatemala city make sure to also ask francesca about the city walking tour. francisco, the tour guide she contacted was very knowledgeable and interesting. it's worth it!
i was able to do and see a lot in 3 days and still had a relaxing trip. thanks to francesca and her wonderful staff. i will never forget my stay at the posada belen. i went with no clue what to expect and came home with lots of memories. i will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Twelve of us spent a week working in Guatemala City and could not have asked for a better space to base ourselves. We felt as if we were in a family home. Trusted taxi drivers, excellent meals, safe, comfortable and colorful. The owners were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EYCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed five nights. Each meal was delicious and unique. Small and cozy but staff accommodated gluten free and vegetarian diets in our group. We felt very safe whole time, great arrangements for taxi service and side trip to Antigua.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at Posada Belen for about a week, and even just coming back after a day out and about in Guatemala, the highlight of the days were how loving and welcoming all of the staff members were. It was like a giant family! The food was amazing, freshly cooked each day and never disappointing. They were reasonable and considerate about special diets, and a delicious home made meal is always wonderful to wake up and go to sleep to! It was a very amazing experience, a home away from home. I felt safe and welcomed from the minute I stepped in the door and all the way through the trip, which is rare for a hotel. You dont often get the luxery of feeling you arent just at a hotel, but a relative’s house in a foreign country. I cant imagine that my amazing experience in Guatemala would have been as great if I had not been at the Posada Belen.

Room Tip: Each room was unique and special and beautiful in its own way, they were all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adiyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in Posada Belen during a group mission trip to Guatemala with Patch Adams. Patch explained to us that this was hands down his favorite hotel to stay at ever (and he stays at hotels 300 days a year).

The staff is friendly, the rooms are so reasonable, and the hotel will cook homestyle meals at a reasonable price that are traveler friendly and cultural staples of Guatemala.

If you want a sheltered Guatemala experience there is always the Holiday Inn, but for a genuine Guatemala experience in a place that feels like a home stay at Posada Belen!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zadavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#37 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajau Colonial
Hotel Ajau Colonial
#43 of 49 in Guatemala City
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#21 of 49 in Guatemala City
127 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#44 of 49 in Guatemala City
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $45 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing