We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are traveling to Guatemala, THIS is the place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Belen Museo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you are traveling to Guatemala, THIS is the place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in Posada Belen during a group mission trip to Guatemala with Patch Adams. Patch explained to us that this was hands down his favorite hotel to stay at ever (and he stays at hotels 300 days a year).

The staff is friendly, the rooms are so reasonable, and the hotel will cook homestyle meals at a reasonable price that are traveler friendly and cultural staples of Guatemala.

If you want a sheltered Guatemala experience there is always the Holiday Inn, but for a genuine Guatemala experience in a place that feels like a home stay at Posada Belen!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zadavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    74
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
42
70
77
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Realistically, Guatemala City does not offer up much in the way of charm and ambience. It is a noisy and dirty place and apparently you need to watch yourself, though I've never had any problems there. Anyway, I have been to Guatemala City many times (maybe 12 times, can't recall) and I've stayed in various hotels. I now stay at the Posada Belen every time. It is safe, quiet and they have turtles in one of the little courtyards. This is an oasis of calm and tranquility in an otherwise noisy and frantic place, and it's local and a family business (as opposed to a large franchise chain operation run by automatons).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cirulac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle< WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I found this hotel in a guide book and it said "short on luxury but long on charm". It was a bargain at $55.00 but it was more like a back packers hotel. We would not recommend this hotel to a discriminating traveler.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMLSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Posada Belen is a homey break from the rest of Guatemala City. The staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive. The food was excellent. Make sure you dine in at least once while you stay there. The big breakfast table is a great place to connect with other travelers. Spend your down time browsing hundreds of archeological relics throughout the place, or while away your afternoon on the lush patio journaling, spotting orchids, and maybe finding the ellusive turtle that also lives there. Our room had two double beds and one single. It was clean and comfortable. As a bonus, they provide you with water you can actually drink!

Room Tip: Some rooms have 3 beds if you're traveling in groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderinAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Guatemala City. I liked to feel safe and welcome at Posada Belen, the experience was different. I could sit and watch the blue sky or go out and walk to do some shopping. Everywhere is so close! I highly recommend everybody to try this neat hotel that I am sure you will like too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariadelCarmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

For my multi-stop trip across Guatemala, I chose Posada Belen Museo Inn for my brief stay in Guatemala City based upon the Lonely Planet Guatemala guidebook, as well as the reviews provided here on TripAdvisor by former guests.

E-mail communication with hotel personnel regarding a reservation was fast and easy. In order to secure my reservation, I was instructed to pay $63 ($43 for the first night + $5 for the first breakfast + $15 for the transfer from the airport) through the hotel's website. This was a little difficult, as the hotel's payment interface is a bit crowded and clunky due to a lot of different boxes to check and numbers to enter. However, I eventually checked the correct boxes and entered the correct numbers, and sent the hotel the requested $63 through their PayPal account. Before I departed for Guatemala City, I sent the remaining $48 ($43 for the second night + $5 for the second breakfast) through PayPal to the hotel. This was very convenient, as it allowed me to avoid credit card foreign transaction fees or carrying more currency than I needed to.

When I arrived at the airport and exited the main doors, the driver was waiting for me and holding a sign with my name on it, and quickly brought me to the hotel.

Both mornings, I was given a choice of two breakfasts, and both days, I chose the Tipico: Eggs (fried or scrambled), toast with butter, red beans, a slice of fresh cheese, cooked sweet bananas, orange juice, and coffee.

My room featured a comfortable bed with great sheets and huge, fluffy pillows. However, the comforter on the bed (both beds, in fact) looked a little ragged and dirty. The curtains on the window in the room also looked a bit dirty, as if they had never been taken down and washed. And the window in the room didn't open to the outside, but rather opened to the interior courtyard of the hotel.

The room was dimly lit, with no television, telephone, clock, or air conditioning. Only a small, table-top box fan circulated the air in the room. There was a safe in the room, but it was located in the floor under a table and between the two beds. Some surfaces in the room had a fine, black dust/dirt/silt/soot. A pitcher of purified water and several drinking glasses were provided.

In the bathroom, the towels were thin, and some were yellowed with stains. Hot water in the shower was difficult to obtain. The shower featured a funky lever and tube system, and it appeared to me that hot water was created by a heating coil (?) attached to the top of the shower head. I felt like Mario the Plumber each time I took a shower, trying to adjust the levers to get the hot water to work!

The hotel is a convenient short walk to the Parque Central and its nearby sights.

Internet was available for guest use at a common computer in the dining room for a fee of $2 per hour.

Checkout at the hotel was easy, and the staff called a taxi for me so that I could move on to my next stop in Guatemala.

If given the chance, I would not stay at Posada Belen Museo Inn again in the future. Although the staff was very friendly and helpful, the issues that I described above would cause me to seek other lodging in Guatemala City should I return there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weatherman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We reviewed the Posada Belen in 2007. We have visited it five times more since then and we have no reason to change our opinion: it is still the oasis of calm, charm and security in the heart of Guatemala City. The owner, Francesca, will organise trips all over Guatemala for you, making sure you get the best prices and most convenient routes. It is a real pleasure to work with her. The staff at the Posada Belen are as helpful and charming as ever. We have been to Guatemala for eleven years; the Posada Belen is always our first port of call. We have no regrets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveGozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#29 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#27 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#21 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#13 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.5 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Property: Posada Belen Museo Inn
Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing