We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What bugs?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I hate to see one in the tourist business get a slap down.I not sayin the bed bug review is false,But i have to wonder if the couple stayed at 13 Calle?
I have forgotten how many times i have stayed there over the years.But for the last few yrs,it has been twice a year.Now I pretty tight with money.I would probably knock you down to reach a centavo first. If the Inn left a bad taste in my mouth, i doubt i would shell out money for a bad taste twice a year. I not saying i have never been bitten.I have been.Once by a mosquito.But he dead now.And that was couple years back.
I admit. Ritz Carlton it aint.But the staff i call the three amigos +1(Nilo #2.Juan #3 and ACHIWAWA!! Rafael # 1 + Maria)
Seriously, I not being paid to write this.I telling you as i see it.
I hope to return in April.But if you doubt my story, and you still go to the inn,look in the register over the years for comments by El Presedente Clinton.You will find not one negative comment by me

Room Tip: they all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herb c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 311 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you have to have the latest in showers and massage tubs and want luxury comfort in your bathroom - this is not the inn for you. However if you want a comfortable bed, a shower with hot water and a place full of
ancient Mayan artifacts, a huge map of Guatemala on the wall to
plan and check out your trips, charming authentic decor and - a staff that truly puts your comfort first - this is the place for you. There are books available to increase your knowledge of the ancient Mayan world
and the archeological studies and finds that are bringing them to life.
The owners, Rene and Francesca, are willing sources of information about places to visit and how to get there. Breakfast can be as simple as fruit, toast and coffee to a full typical Guatemalan desayuno with eggs, beans, cheese and plantanos. Dinners are delicious and well prepared, from pork chops to chicken or fish always accompanied by perfectly prepared vegetables. This is my "home away from home" in Guatemala and I always look forward to staying again with my friends.
During many visits I have come to know and treasure each one of the staff and could not manage some of the obligations of my trips without them. If you travel to really get the "feel" of a country and want to actually interact in a meaningful way with the people, please consider
booking a room at Posada Belen and becoming acquainted with the people there. The Posada is only 4 or 5 blocks from the Central market, the beautiful Government Palace on the Main Park and the
Cathedral. There is a branch of the Universidad de San Carlos within easy walking and they often have special exhibits and demonstrations of Guatemalan culture. It is an ideal location to experience the heart of the older part of Gauatemala City while also being a short taxi ride to
the "Zona Viva" and te more modern city. The best of both worlds!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderinsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I love LA POSADA BELEN for It's style and confort. The service like always was very good and the location near to everything in downtown. I enjoyed the attention and the hospitality from the employees ant the owners Rene and Francesca. In addition, the food was so delicious.
I look forward to my next trip to visit la Posada. The rooms are very clean and the Mayan decoratios as a special touch make of this place a real Museum.

Room Tip: I like every single one, I don't have a favorite one, so what ever They choose will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oregomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Posada is a small hotel with an unbelievable collection of treasure , not only the artifacts but the
staff included . The walls are covered in paintings , weavings carved gourds & metalwork .
Display cases full of Mayan ceramics , carved stone & jade beads .
As the name suggests I't like living in a Museum .
3 blocks from the walking street , staff will call taxis & arrange tour bus for you .
I'm here now for the second time & received such a warm welcome , just finished a delicious breakfast , their restaurant is also open for dinner .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

For the last 4 years our humanitarian clown group, with Patch Adams MD, has come to stay at the Posada Belen. We have rented out the whole hotel most years and have enjoyed the hospitality and care of owners Francesca, Rene, and the staff (who we are excited to see and talk with every year!). We have received nothing but kindness and the utmost care from both owners and staff, including dietary needs/restrictions.
We take all of our meals in the hotel, and have the pleasure of interacting with the staff we have become friends with while eating delicious and nutritious meals every day. The food safety is also important to us as a group and no one in our groups (approximately 80 people over 4 years) has ever had a problem with the food or water at Posada Belen.
The beds are comfortable, the blankets are warm, and being able to spend time together as a group in the comfort and safety of this small hotel is very important to us. We will continue to come back.
As a group leader, I recommend this hotel to other groups looking for a safe and comfortable place to gather and work or sightsee from. Francesca is extremely helpful with setting up transportation and tours, and will help with any concerns.
Posada Belen is family run, economical, and is an inviting place with wonderful staff and owners. It is a beautiful historic building with many registered Mayan artifacts to view.
Consider booking for your next visit to Guatemala City.

Sincerely,
Charlotte H.
Gesundheit! Institute Global Outreach Coordinator

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

For some reason my first review was removed...not sure why. We stayed at Posada Belen thinking it would be a nice place to finish a wonderful trip to Guatemala. It actually ended up being the worst part of our trip. First off you are paying over $50 dollars for a room you could get for $18 dollars anywhere else in Guatemala. We didn't bother trying the food because it was cheaper to call in enough pizza for four people than it would be to feed one person from their menu. We couldn't get a internet signal from our room either. I would usually let most of this slide anywhere else and I don't usually write reviews unless something was really great or really bad. Here is the kicker. My wife was on the bed for probably 5 minutes and already had 3 bed bug bites. We switched beds and went to sleep. In the morning she had close to 30 bed bug bites and I had around 10. The sad thing is this was over two months ago and she still has a couple of the same bites that are itching....No we didn't bring any bugs home with us but they are the same bites that won't go away. Honestly avoid this place, You and your wallet will be better off finding a different place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDoich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene_Sanchinelli, Owner at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We got VERY worried about this review and first we tryed to locate the guests date and registration to identify the room and we could´t find any person with that last name stayed in the hotel, then we run an investigation on ALL the rooms with the help of a professional exterminator and NOT A SINGLE BED BUG WAS FOUND, no signs of anything and did a non scheduled special sprayin just in case, We cheked every single sheet, wall, Etc. And found no traces of blood or ANYTHING. Investigated deep on wikipedia and found that the bed bug bite itching or marks do not appear inmediately and often appear up to 9 days AFTER the bite. So if the writer is real (wich I found is not) it was sure they where bitten somewhere else. About food price...A pizza will be always cheaper for 2 deppending of what kind youbuy because the one I like is NOT cheaper than food price at the hotel. I will find also very hard to find a decent hotel in Guatemala for $18 or less for a double room with a private bath. I guess someone is being writing bad reviews to make us fall in the ranking. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you don't have enough money for top of the line and would settle for a Holiday Inn, this is the wrong place. On the other hand, if you want friendly, funky and different it is a real win. Also, being close to downtown you can walk to a lot of places that you would miss if you stayed in Zona 10.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. The street is quiet so there are no pollution/noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#21 of 49 in Guatemala City
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajau Colonial
Hotel Ajau Colonial
#40 of 49 in Guatemala City
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#34 of 49 in Guatemala City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,671 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
203 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#44 of 49 in Guatemala City
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $35 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing