We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Living Treasure”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Posada is a small hotel with an unbelievable collection of treasure , not only the artifacts but the
staff included . The walls are covered in paintings , weavings carved gourds & metalwork .
Display cases full of Mayan ceramics , carved stone & jade beads .
As the name suggests I't like living in a Museum .
3 blocks from the walking street , staff will call taxis & arrange tour bus for you .
I'm here now for the second time & received such a warm welcome , just finished a delicious breakfast , their restaurant is also open for dinner .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    74
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
44
73
78
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville NC
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

For the last 4 years our humanitarian clown group, with Patch Adams MD, has come to stay at the Posada Belen. We have rented out the whole hotel most years and have enjoyed the hospitality and care of owners Francesca, Rene, and the staff (who we are excited to see and talk with every year!). We have received nothing but kindness and the utmost care from both owners and staff, including dietary needs/restrictions.
We take all of our meals in the hotel, and have the pleasure of interacting with the staff we have become friends with while eating delicious and nutritious meals every day. The food safety is also important to us as a group and no one in our groups (approximately 80 people over 4 years) has ever had a problem with the food or water at Posada Belen.
The beds are comfortable, the blankets are warm, and being able to spend time together as a group in the comfort and safety of this small hotel is very important to us. We will continue to come back.
As a group leader, I recommend this hotel to other groups looking for a safe and comfortable place to gather and work or sightsee from. Francesca is extremely helpful with setting up transportation and tours, and will help with any concerns.
Posada Belen is family run, economical, and is an inviting place with wonderful staff and owners. It is a beautiful historic building with many registered Mayan artifacts to view.
Consider booking for your next visit to Guatemala City.

Sincerely,
Charlotte H.
Gesundheit! Institute Global Outreach Coordinator

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

For some reason my first review was removed...not sure why. We stayed at Posada Belen thinking it would be a nice place to finish a wonderful trip to Guatemala. It actually ended up being the worst part of our trip. First off you are paying over $50 dollars for a room you could get for $18 dollars anywhere else in Guatemala. We didn't bother trying the food because it was cheaper to call in enough pizza for four people than it would be to feed one person from their menu. We couldn't get a internet signal from our room either. I would usually let most of this slide anywhere else and I don't usually write reviews unless something was really great or really bad. Here is the kicker. My wife was on the bed for probably 5 minutes and already had 3 bed bug bites. We switched beds and went to sleep. In the morning she had close to 30 bed bug bites and I had around 10. The sad thing is this was over two months ago and she still has a couple of the same bites that are itching....No we didn't bring any bugs home with us but they are the same bites that won't go away. Honestly avoid this place, You and your wallet will be better off finding a different place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDoich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene_Sanchinelli, Owner at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We got VERY worried about this review and first we tryed to locate the guests date and registration to identify the room and we could´t find any person with that last name stayed in the hotel, then we run an investigation on ALL the rooms with the help of a professional exterminator and NOT A SINGLE BED BUG WAS FOUND, no signs of anything and did a non scheduled special sprayin just in case, We cheked every single sheet, wall, Etc. And found no traces of blood or ANYTHING. Investigated deep on wikipedia and found that the bed bug bite itching or marks do not appear inmediately and often appear up to 9 days AFTER the bite. So if the writer is real (wich I found is not) it was sure they where bitten somewhere else. About food price...A pizza will be always cheaper for 2 deppending of what kind youbuy because the one I like is NOT cheaper than food price at the hotel. I will find also very hard to find a decent hotel in Guatemala for $18 or less for a double room with a private bath. I guess someone is being writing bad reviews to make us fall in the ranking. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio Palopo, Guatemala
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you don't have enough money for top of the line and would settle for a Holiday Inn, this is the wrong place. On the other hand, if you want friendly, funky and different it is a real win. Also, being close to downtown you can walk to a lot of places that you would miss if you stayed in Zona 10.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. The street is quiet so there are no pollution/noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was my third visit to Guatemala City at the end of July beginning of August of this year. This time for a business trip. Always my first choice is Posada Belen Museo Inn, at the Centro Historico. Since you cross the front door of this small Inn, you feel the nice ambiance of the Hotel, with a beautiful garden in the middle full of plants, and a fountain, with two nice small tables with it`s chairs to rest there and drink a Gallo. It`s an oasis in the City. The staff is very helpful and happy.
It´s a small Hotel in a house that was built more than 100 years ago, it`s a gem. All decorated with Guatemalan textiles and artesany, primitive oil paintings, a lot of wood furniture, a big collection of Mayan Artifacts.
I have stayed eight days, and my returns of a hard working day was always like coming back home. Happy to find my room clean with my laundry ready, washed by hand and iron.
To take a nice hot shower after a long day it`s comfortable, (solar system).
The food is very good; tasty breakfasts. But I can`t miss to mention at dinner time the carrot soup, the smoked pork chops with peanut butter sauce, the vegetables those are my favorites.
The main buildings as the National Palace, Cathedral, Central Market, etc. are within walking distance from the Hotel. This time the only place I could visited was the Central Market.
For long distances it`s better to take a taxi, they really have reliable taxi drivers, one of them is
Raul, he is a very kind driver, friendly, expert driving in the heavy traffic of the City. Reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Posada De Belen is one of the most special places in which I have ever stayed, and I have traveled all around the world. From the moment that you walk through the doors, you are swept away by the ambiance of the place and the romance of the Mayan times and traditions. The walls are covered in beautiful, original art, most of which is Mayan. Each piece in the entire place is numbered because it is an official museum ordained by the country. It is incredibly special because normally private owners are not allowed to keep these artifacts, so the fact that Posada de Belen has them and cared enough about them to go through the process of becoming an official museum is a testament to the spirit of the place and the sentiment of the owners who are maintaining the traditions and memories of the culture.

There is something magical and special about staying in a place that seems to have transcended time and beautifully incorporates the old and new. There are small sitting areas throughout the inn and a small courtyard/garden inside. There are great nooks to read, drink a cup of coffee, have a glass of wine, or just relax.

The staff is incredibly helpful. If you want something they don't have, they will go to the store and buy it for you. They are also incredible cooks. At night if we wanted to sit and enjoy a glass of wine on the bench instead of at a table, they brought us over a small table to put our wine bottle and wine glasses and quietly came by often to refill our glasses.

We were so enamored with the place that we actually decided to get married in the courtyard in an intimate ceremony of eight. We gave the two guys who work here two hours notice to prepare us a special dinner, and they put together an unbelievable traditional Guatemalan feast. The owner even joined us!

Posada de Belen is a place not to be missed. A trip to the city would not be complete without staying, at the very least, one night here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraKDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed there as our first night in Guatemala. I payed the room USD55 via Paypal. As expected a taxi was waiting for us at the airport which was good news.

Place is ok, located downtown, clean, decoration is somewhat charming for some rooms.

But, the place need seriously to be refreshed as walls weren't so clean, the broken shower taps have been replaced by rough plastic taps coming straight out of he walls. The facility itself is rather small with a very tiny patio. We were lucky to have a window to the patio, the only way to get a little bit of sunlight!

Overall we had a good stay and management was reliable but i would classify the hotel as mid-range.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper window to the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#20 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#28 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#10 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Property: Posada Belen Museo Inn
Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing