We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent htel, well located in safe area”
Review of La Casa Grande

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guatemala City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa Grande
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Casa Grande Guatemala City
Excellent hotel. Safe and friendely.

Stayed: August 2003
1  Thank paelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for La Casa Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 32 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2007

We have stayed in a few different hotels while visiting Guate over the
year 2007. Our most pleasant visit was at this hotel - it was clean and bright and very family friendly. There is no pool for older kids and the restaurant is just so-so but that didn't matter compared to the great price and customer service. There is a mini-market within walking distance plus a couple very good local restaurants. The computer room is great and they provide a great complimentary coffee
"bar" machine. We stayed in the suite, had a small working a/c, and liked watching some of the busy city activity from our window. We were
there as a final pick up trip for two older children we were adopting and found it highly suitable. We really liked it for our purposes.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KDurfee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

After a series of unfortunate events, my husband and I lucked into finding this place. Our previous hotel was booked, our passports were stolen and we were booked (by the Marriott) into a horrid, slum hotel. Upon leaving the US Embassy, we walked by this place, walked in, asked if they had rooms and booked on the spot. The hotel arranged for a taxi back to the other hotel where we felt confident our belongings would no longer be. We were pleasantly surprised when they were! At any rate, we recieved excellent service here. It is very safe and clean. Lots of adoptive parents here and our only complaint would be crying babies through the night. A very small complaint considering what we went through! Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Have a great trip! ~Emily

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thewuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

While in Guatemala on our 1st visit trip we stayed at La Casa Grande. The staff is wonderful. Clean Hotel. Good Zone. Right beside the US Embassy. Great view. Roomy. Lots of living room sitting space. Free bottled water. Friendly atmosphere. Has a restaurant inside. Always willing to send someone for stuff you need outside the hotel premises at no extra charge. Family type atmosphere. Would definately request anyone to stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank katfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Our two children, my husband and I returned to La Casa Grande after staying there twice 10 years ago. Many of the same staff are still there, including Gloria and Freddy, the husband and wife team who work at the front desk most of the time. It's a very comfortable, clean, and lovely hotel next to the U.S. Embassy with very reasonable prices and a central location. We would recommend it highly!!!

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank wrilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

We just returned to the States from Guatemala, where we adopted our new daughter. I had misgivings about the city, having heard a vast array of warnings regarding street thievery, unstable military, etc. What we found in La Casa Grande was a perfectly safe haven for adoptive families. The staff has extensive experience with the types of things families go through in this strange, but wonderful process. They provide cribs, playpens, walkers, room service, bottled water, insight, and good advice. What you won't read about in any "formal" descriptions of the hotel are the many small but big-hearted ways the staff interacts with the adoptive families. A big plus is that the hotel is just steps from the U.S. Emabassy/Consulate, further facilitating that aspect of the process. We highly recommend the hotel. They even have internet access. The only minus was one chicken dinner that was undercooked. For safety's sake we mostly ordered breakfast all the time. It was great, especially the fried plantain. And they'll even prepare guacamole and tortillas (off menu) if you ask.

Stayed: March 2007
8  Thank NuevoPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed at La Casa Grande with the new son my sister was adopting. The staff takes good care of adopting families, providing bottled water, walkers, strollers, high chairs for families to use. For breakfast try the Grande meal-fruit plate, pancakes, scrambled eggs, black beans and cheese-enough for two! Gloria at the front desk is extremely helpful, speaks english and greets everyone with a cheerful
hello. Our room was large, had a balcony, and was close to the front balcony where you can watch the world drive by. It is a bit noisy, but take ear plugs, and enjoy the old world charm of this lovely hotel.

Stayed: March 2007
4  Thank remythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Vieja
Hotel Ciudad Vieja
#20 of 49 in Guatemala City
60 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
2.0 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#15 of 49 in Guatemala City
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#16 of 49 in Guatemala City
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Espanola
Hotel Villa Espanola
#38 of 49 in Guatemala City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Grande

Address: Avenida La Reforma 7-67 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
La Casa Grande Guatemala City
La Casa Grande Hotel
La Casa Grande Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing