We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Spring
Nearby Hotels
$103
$93
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$196
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Guatemala(Guatemala City)
$99
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel(Guatemala City)
$108
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Guatemala City(Guatemala City)
$120
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$130
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Clarion Suites Guatemala(Guatemala City)
$76
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$81
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$884
$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
5
16
16
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
16
16
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuman rightswifitaxicityguatemala
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 43 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel has definitely seen better days, but it was sufficient and a good deal for the price. I stayed here for just one night and fit my needs. They provide towels, a clean room, tv, and hot water. The walls are a little thin-- I was next to the bathroom and was woken up by some early morning showerers. It's located near the Linea Dorada and ADN bus lines which was convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Spring Hotel - both at the beginning and end of our trip to Guatemala. The building is an old colonial style and feels very authentic. Lovely court yards and all stone. The rooms we stayed in were fine - one a bit better than the other but both were adequate. The location is close to the pedestrian area of Zone 1 - and not too far from the bus stations. We found it very quiet and the wireless worked very well. Staff was friendly and attentive. The price for the room for 2 people was very reasonable - so a good overall value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location is not ideal but is close to LITEGUA bus terminal and some of the zone1 tourist attractions, like the Presidential Palace, Cathedral, Central Plaza, Underground market with many gift stores, and some old churches. You need to take a taxi to see other interesting places like the Archaeological Maya Museum or Zona Viva and the taxis will cost you $5-8 for the trip. The travel distance to the Airport was 1/2 h on Saturday morning ($10). The hotel is an old colonial building with two big patios and small breakfast place on the side. For $3-4 you will get a tasty breakfast with the good coffee and fresh juice. The rooms are big with high cellings but the furniture and bathrooms are not very appealing. In general it was clean but the bathroom's condition was below standard. The computer was only available when the small office was open for a couple of hours. The staff was friendly but they rather stuck to the front desk and were watching the traffic at the main entrance. I think it was due to the security issue because the surrounding streets have a bad reputation related to the drug business. During the daylight we felt safe to walk on the streets but everybody told us to be alert.
The biggest problem of this hotel is the level of noise that doesn't stop even when you close the windows and door to the room. There is an opening in the celling between the rooms, so if the rooms on your side are occupied you will hear every movement in other guest's bathroom. The sound from your TV will compete with the sound from the other room. The night staff should deal with the guests who enter the hotel at night time and behave like they are entering their own farm. The hotel is quite popular among Guatemalans and other guests from neighbouring countries, probably because it has a close location to many places in zona 1 and a low price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank latawiec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I needed to find a place to stay for more than a week and thus did not have a huge budget. I should have swallowed the extra cost though because the Hotel Spring is a disaster. Walls are thin, no soundproofing and the staff makes little attempt to control noisy hotel guests. When I was there a group of young athletes were staying at the hotel and the place was like a frathouse. Music, TVs blaring, shouted conversations. Because Guatemala is so dangerous i can only surmise that's why staff did nothing about it for fear of eliciting a confrontation. The Hotel Spring is also located on a very quiet block—not a good thing security wise. Can't walk even in the evening because there is no one around except knots of menacing looking young men. Better to shell out the extra $20 and to get some sleep. I will NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose one at all. Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank feministwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I needed cheap digs in central downtown, plain and simple. I knew about Hotel Spring for years, but I usually choose more expensive options. This trip required I stick to a budget. For the price I could not complain. Helpful staff, good security, hot water if you wait a while, while and a roof over my head. I like the old fashioned charm of the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews