We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in Guatemala City center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spring

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guatemala City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Spring
Save
You added Hotel Spring to your Saves list
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
San Francisco, CA, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in Guatemala City center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Spring Hotel - both at the beginning and end of our trip to Guatemala. The building is an old colonial style and feels very authentic. Lovely court yards and all stone. The rooms we stayed in were fine - one a bit better than the other but both were adequate. The location is close to the pedestrian area of Zone 1 - and not too far from the bus stations. We found it very quiet and the wireless worked very well. Staff was friendly and attentive. The price for the room for 2 people was very reasonable - so a good overall value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
9
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location is not ideal but is close to LITEGUA bus terminal and some of the zone1 tourist attractions, like the Presidential Palace, Cathedral, Central Plaza, Underground market with many gift stores, and some old churches. You need to take a taxi to see other interesting places like the Archaeological Maya Museum or Zona Viva and the taxis will cost you $5-8 for the trip. The travel distance to the Airport was 1/2 h on Saturday morning ($10). The hotel is an old colonial building with two big patios and small breakfast place on the side. For $3-4 you will get a tasty breakfast with the good coffee and fresh juice. The rooms are big with high cellings but the furniture and bathrooms are not very appealing. In general it was clean but the bathroom's condition was below standard. The computer was only available when the small office was open for a couple of hours. The staff was friendly but they rather stuck to the front desk and were watching the traffic at the main entrance. I think it was due to the security issue because the surrounding streets have a bad reputation related to the drug business. During the daylight we felt safe to walk on the streets but everybody told us to be alert.
The biggest problem of this hotel is the level of noise that doesn't stop even when you close the windows and door to the room. There is an opening in the celling between the rooms, so if the rooms on your side are occupied you will hear every movement in other guest's bathroom. The sound from your TV will compete with the sound from the other room. The night staff should deal with the guests who enter the hotel at night time and behave like they are entering their own farm. The hotel is quite popular among Guatemalans and other guests from neighbouring countries, probably because it has a close location to many places in zona 1 and a low price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank latawiec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guatemala City hotels

Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I needed to find a place to stay for more than a week and thus did not have a huge budget. I should have swallowed the extra cost though because the Hotel Spring is a disaster. Walls are thin, no soundproofing and the staff makes little attempt to control noisy hotel guests. When I was there a group of young athletes were staying at the hotel and the place was like a frathouse. Music, TVs blaring, shouted conversations. Because Guatemala is so dangerous i can only surmise that's why staff did nothing about it for fear of eliciting a confrontation. The Hotel Spring is also located on a very quiet block—not a good thing security wise. Can't walk even in the evening because there is no one around except knots of menacing looking young men. Better to shell out the extra $20 and to get some sleep. I will NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose one at all. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank feministwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I needed cheap digs in central downtown, plain and simple. I knew about Hotel Spring for years, but I usually choose more expensive options. This trip required I stick to a budget. For the price I could not complain. Helpful staff, good security, hot water if you wait a while, while and a roof over my head. I like the old fashioned charm of the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttingsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed one night here as it was close to the bus station and we were taking an early morning bus. We only made the reservation the night before so got the last room in the place. It was grim but clean. There was no glass in the one window, although every other room in the place seemed to have them. The man at the desk in the morning was helpful and there was coffee available.
This area is not attractive. We did walk only a few blocks to the "pedestrian only street" but there were very few restaurants there, mostly fast food. From now on we'll probably stay in another hotel and take a taxi to the bus stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottFreeVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Hotel Spring is a delight! The rooms are large, clean, and go from $20 to $35. I guarantee that this place has the hottest water in all of Guatemala, too! Fun courtyards, plants, decoration in the style of old. But the best part is the STAFF! We had an early flight, so one of the desk clerks was there for us to get a taxi and show us out the locked doors at 5:45. TThe place is very secure and quiet even though it's close to a busy street. Two blocks over on 6th Avenida is all the food and entertainment you should need. Pretty easy access to the airport either way, at 80Q for two. They also take dollars or Traveler's Checks.

Room Tip: #43 is huge and has a large bathroom. $35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great place to stay when planning to take Litegua bus, easy walk to bus even with luggage. Close to Central Market, restaurants and shopping. Know as area were Che Guevara hung out while in Guatemala. Lots of work being done to update the area. New sidewalks, upscale bus line and new shopping. May not be a destination but great place to stay intransit.

Room Tip: I like street view, not much more noise than coutyard but fun to hang on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolachuckd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#21 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#25 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Capri
#37 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#30 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#10 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#39 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spring

Property: Hotel Spring
Address: 8 Av. 12-65 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Spring Hotel Guatemala City
Hotel Spring Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing