We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal for what you get”
Review of Hotel Spring

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guatemala City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Spring
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
225 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good deal for what you get”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I needed cheap digs in central downtown, plain and simple. I knew about Hotel Spring for years, but I usually choose more expensive options. This trip required I stick to a budget. For the price I could not complain. Helpful staff, good security, hot water if you wait a while, while and a roof over my head. I like the old fashioned charm of the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
10
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuttingsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed one night here as it was close to the bus station and we were taking an early morning bus. We only made the reservation the night before so got the last room in the place. It was grim but clean. There was no glass in the one window, although every other room in the place seemed to have them. The man at the desk in the morning was helpful and there was coffee available.
This area is not attractive. We did walk only a few blocks to the "pedestrian only street" but there were very few restaurants there, mostly fast food. From now on we'll probably stay in another hotel and take a taxi to the bus stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottFreeVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Hotel Spring is a delight! The rooms are large, clean, and go from $20 to $35. I guarantee that this place has the hottest water in all of Guatemala, too! Fun courtyards, plants, decoration in the style of old. But the best part is the STAFF! We had an early flight, so one of the desk clerks was there for us to get a taxi and show us out the locked doors at 5:45. TThe place is very secure and quiet even though it's close to a busy street. Two blocks over on 6th Avenida is all the food and entertainment you should need. Pretty easy access to the airport either way, at 80Q for two. They also take dollars or Traveler's Checks.

Room Tip: #43 is huge and has a large bathroom. $35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great place to stay when planning to take Litegua bus, easy walk to bus even with luggage. Close to Central Market, restaurants and shopping. Know as area were Che Guevara hung out while in Guatemala. Lots of work being done to update the area. New sidewalks, upscale bus line and new shopping. May not be a destination but great place to stay intransit.

Room Tip: I like street view, not much more noise than coutyard but fun to hang on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolachuckd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were in Guatemala City for only one night, and this place served our group of 14 well. There's a nice interior courtyard for small gatherings/waiting for everyone to show up before you head out on your next excursion. The Hotel Spring must have once been a very nice place, but it's showing its age. A little worn, but still clean enough that I would return.

We had a large room, three beds, high ceiling, and a small balcony that overlooked the front street.

Nice front desk staff, and they had several brochures on tours they will book for you (though we didn't have time to try any of these).

This is about a 7-10 minute walk from the Central Market. It's a commercial/business part of town, so when it's quitting time, the street emptied out quickly.

Room Tip: Maybe consider asking for a second floor room since first floor didn't have balconies. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterjibowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my 4 year old. The hotel is an old two story house around a courtyard. Whe I stayed the city was adding a new wider sidewalk lined with trees just outside which should make the place and immediate area a little nicer.

I stayed in the basic room and was told the difference between basic and deluxe rooms was mostly the beds. The basic room was more than adequate. There was good hot water and the room was large. The tv worked well and there is an alarm clock on the bed side table. There are water dispensers in the hallways outside the room. The hotel has a cafeteria which was opened for breakfast.

As can be expected in this price range, the place is a bit worn and not luxurious, but the people were friendly and helpful.

The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is around the corner from the post office with the arch bridge, and two blocks off the pedestrian shopping street which leads down to the Cathedral and national palace. If you are staying only for a short while, it is within easy walking distance from everything in the old town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in zona 1 as per our guide book, it has changed a lot since the book was written zona 1 has become isolated from the rest of the city, there is a small centre nearby but the main action is happening in zona 10, which has a cool mix of old and new and many affordable hostels!


Hotel spring was ok apart from the toilet smelling and backing up, which once reported was fixed. Breakfast was cheap but nothing special - wouldnt stay again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtunnicliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#34 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#28 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Capri
#40 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#11 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#20 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#10 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spring

Property: Hotel Spring
Address: 8 Av. 12-65 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Spring Hotel Guatemala City
Hotel Spring Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing