We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must go if you visit Guatemala City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Popol Vuh

Museo Popol Vuh
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Private Guatemala City Museums: Popol Vuh, Ixchel, Railway and Miraflores...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Central America's more modern museums, this natural history museum is best known for its funerary ceramics, but also includes well-known Maya pottery pieces and other artififacts spanning the period from 2000 B.C. through colonial times..
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must go if you visit Guatemala City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The collection of Mayan artifacts is fantastic. Ranging with artifacts from the PreClassical, Classical and PostClassical periods one gets a fantastic overview of the artistic, technological and commercial advance of the Mayan Civilization.

The collection is small so I strongly recommend to ask a day earlier for a reservation of a guided tour (we paid Q.250.00 for the group tour). The tour guide was very well educated on the topics and provides great Insights on the treasures of their collection. A must if you visit Guatemala City!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank condottiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    48
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a beautiful little museum! They accepted our student ids which was a nice discount, and the artifacts are in great condition. There are English and Spanish explanations for pieces, and currently a stunning display of "mascaras" (masks) in pieces from pre-Mayan until modern day culture.
I usually never pay to take photos, but did here after seeing the array of perfectly in tact pieces they have on display.
Though we didn't visit the other two museums on the grounds, the grounds are really pretty also. Beautiful place to spend a quiet afternoon in GC!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Namastekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Full of Artifacts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I thought this museum very well represented the Mayan culture. The exhibits were well-done and quite interesting. I would recommend this to anyone interested in Mayan culture.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

It is a small museum but well designed,I learned a lot!It is a good teaching museum with a flow based on time .Lot of artifacts,There is a textile museum on the same campus,parking is very good Not a touristy place,Think students frequent it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank suseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hope to return again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I adored this museum. It is well-laid out. I learned quite a bit from reading the information on the wall (in English). From a curatorial point of view the pieces were well-organized. My husband had a few questions and the staff accommodated us by patiently answering our questions in English. The University and Guatemala City should be very proud of this gem! You could stroll through and be done in about 45 minutes, or stay for hours to soak up every detail. If you are a museum person, you may want to leave some extra time for yourself.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Delphine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Popol Vuh also viewed

Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 

Been to Museo Popol Vuh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing