We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fungus in the rooms next to the reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I stayed in the hotel for two nights in a very nice, spacious room in the new part of the hotel. After returned from a field visit I was unfortunately placed in a room to the left of the reception (room 105). It smelled really bad, humid. So I asked to be moved.
At first the receptionist refused me claiming that there were no spare rooms. I asked him to check again and he found a room on the next floor, but with the same location (room 204).
The room smelled fine so I decided to stay. After about 15 minutes it started to smell and I discovered huge patches of fungi on the walls near the cealing. I went to the reception, again, and explained myself. They did not seem to care much and seemed bothered by the fact that I asked to be moved again.
The bell boy helped me move my suitcase and saw the fungi, but he said he did not know what it was and seemed surprised when I said it could be a danger to the health of their guests.
I have generally been satisfied with the hotel, but I doubt that they will do anything to get rid of the fungus as they do not seem to take it seriously. Therefore I recommend that you ensure that you are placed in the new part of the hotel - away from the reception area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 271 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2010

This hotel is located on a relatively quiet street in Zona viva. Staff was very courteous and helpful. rooms clean and comfortable. It was only $45 a night when we stayed there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lenin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I normally stay at the Westin Camino Real when I am in Guatemala. So that I could remain for more time at the same cost I chose to stay at the Stofella which was suggested by friend. If your on a budget or would like to stretch your stay this is a fine hotel. From this hotel you can perform business activities as well as use this as a base for multicultural activities in day trips though out other parts of Guatemala. More importantly, the staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalesKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Stofella for two nights on a business trip to Guatemala City. It is one of the more affordable hotels in Zone 10 and has a very friendly staff, clean but small rooms and free breakfast in the morning. Couldn't ask for a more hassle-free business accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enox333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

This place is like an upscale-type best western in the states. It has a doorman, to give you an idea. The room was nice and very clean, the staff helpful and it was close to the airport, which is just what we needed. Overall, a great spot.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I stayed here while in town on business. The people who work there are very nice, the hotel's charming, and I don't really have a poor thing to say about it. It's not the fanciest in the zona viva by any means, but it's also not the most expensive. You'll have a decent stay if you come here, just don't expect the red carpet or come on a honeymoon. Other than that, it's clean, nice, and the people are good-natured.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bette1stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

This hotel is well-situated and the price -- $60 a night -- is cheap for this area. However, the WiFi does not extend beyond the reception area, which means you have to haul your Mac down to the lobby every time you want to connect. In addition, the hotel at first stuck me in an interior room off an old breakfast area: no windows, weird location. I refused it and got another with an interior window upstairs. Sorry, but I need to see light during the day. That said, room was in good shape, great mattress, good pillows, nice bathroom with huge shower, and massive cable reception. There is also a functional ATM in the lobby which means you're not looking over your shoulder at an ATM in public view. Breakfast was adequate and you can get WiFi there. However, next time I'd rather pay the extra $30 a night and get a room at the Holiday Inn or the Clarion where most of the rooms face a street. Lobby service was fine, nothing special.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 49 in Guatemala City
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella

Address: 2 Avenida 12-28 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Stofella is located in the heart of the zone Viva and ten minutes from the airport. We are surrounded by exclusive stores, office buildings, residential areas and an abundance of restaurants and nightclubs. The Best Western Stofella has luxury rooms fully equipped with automatic locks, cable television, analog dial up dataports, electronic safes and hairdryers. The Trattoria Veneziana Restaurant offer mediterranean and international food you can also ask for room service or have delicious snacks at our Caffee Venezia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stofella Hotel Guatemala City
Best Western Hotel Stofella
Best Western Guatemala City
Guatemala City Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing