We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Older hotel, clean, great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Carbonear, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Older hotel, clean, great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Despite being an older hotel, We found it very clean. The staff were fantastic!
The price was right and the included breakfasts were quite good and offered good variety.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    55
    25
    9
See reviews for
26
36
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

You know after seeing the review of this place I was a bit apprehensive, but everyone was very nice. Only thing that could have been better is the breakfast, but it was good enough, the area is wonderful, great location really, if you can try a restaurant that's 3 blocks away called garcias great food

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopadmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huijbergen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stay here for work, two weeks. Hotel is basic, nothing more. Window in the room can not be opened, so no fresh air. Breakfast is not what one can expect, stale Bread, cold eggs even at 7 in the morning. For diner you should avoid it, restaurant is empty every night and I found out why the hard way. Worked all day so ordered a pizza and a beer. Pizza is for Guatamala very expensive but ok, tired and hungry. What I hot, a deep fried pizza from the microwave... And they call it the 'house pizza'
Asked about the mini size and style pizza, the guy just shrugged and walked away.
Mu advice, if you need a good and affordable hotel, better take the Princess. Stayed there two times before and is far better for the same price

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertWeterings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guatemala City hotels

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Our section (room 301) had no lift!! My parents (70 year old) had to use the stairs all the time.

You rate a room by its shower; we had to wait 7 mins until finally hot water came out.

At breakfast (7-10 am) around 8:30 am no more cereal was left and they just said nothing when I asked.

No swimming pool and the transfer service to the airport consists only in calling you a taxi.

Good located tough...

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Klossin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Clean and modern city Hotel set amongst many others within a grid system layout. close to many small restaurants. Staff polite, helpful and pleasant. Wewere not happy with the room we had on the first night, as it was overlooked by conference visitors in the morning and we felt like we were in a goldfish bowl! Also, very noisy due to work being done at 8 am! We complained and were moved to a much larger, nicer room on the 1st. floor, next to the breakfast room. Much better and more modern. Has aircon. My brother and sister arrived with their partners for one night, and were very pleased with their rooms. We had our teenage child in our room and so were charged a little extra, but very good price. The free breakfast was "OK" in my opinion, "Good" in my husbands. The usual: cereals, grits (yuk!), some kind of egg dish, refried beans etc. and fruit/granola with yoghurt. Good coffee and selection fruit juice/tea.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to not have ground floor as it can be noisy and lacking in privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed there 1/18-25. Numerous things were and went wrong. Heating system DIDN'T work! Was blowing cold air. Front desk was not friendly. In fact, one person slipped a note under my door for someone else who spelled their last name with one "L". Talk about inefficiency. Breakfast on Friday, 1/24, was LATE as over 50 people were in the hallway waiting for them to get their act together. On 4, yes FOUR, occasions, I attempted to purchase their currency. THEY DID'T HAVE ANY!! Right then, I knew that this place was penniless, just like the country. Check-in was at the 2012 AAA/AARP rate which they failed and WOULDN'T recognize! When their final tabulation of my bill was scrutinized, they, Jarlin Sarmiento, agreed. He or SHE e-mailed me on the ERROR, but never did anything about it offering rationale on the billing in beautiful third-worl accounting practices. What is even more disturbing is that BEST WESTERN would do NOTHING about it to retrieve my funds. What does that tell you about this chain of hotels where "you stay with people who care". PUHLEEZ. So, if you want to get flim-flammed or better yet see two men wielding shot guns across the street, then stay there. Otherwise, you can find another hotel where they treat you respectfully and honestly unlike HOTEL STOFELLA. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
278 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

the rooms are a bit too filled with furniture, but comfortable, clean beds... in-room internet access easy. breakfast buffet: adequate and plentiful. I arrived late so didn't venture too far for food, but mc Donald's on corner has a café with wonderful fresh brewed coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#9 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#3 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#16 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
Address: 2 Avenida 12 28 | Zona Viva, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Stofella is located in the heart of the zone Viva and ten minutes from the airport. We are surrounded by exclusive stores, office buildings, residential areas and an abundance of restaurants and nightclubs. The Best Western Stofella has luxury rooms fully equipped with automatic locks, cable television, analog dial up dataports, electronic safes and hairdryers. The Trattoria Veneziana Restaurant offer mediterranean and international food you can also ask for room service or have delicious snacks at our Caffee Venezia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stofella Hotel Guatemala City
Best Western Hotel Stofella
Best Western Guatemala City
Guatemala City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing