We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“100% satisfied - Great room for the money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Biltmore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Biltmore
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“100% satisfied - Great room for the money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a $90 room, so once you understand the economy my review makes more sense. Two of us arrived on Sunday night to stay the week on business. I was in room 2301 and he was on the second floor. Each of us commented the next morning at breakfast: Wow, what a great hotel! Our host told us this hotel was recently remodeled. My room had a new mattress, pillows, sheets, towels, etc. The quality of the mattress was apparent: it was extremely supportive and comfortable. The air conditioning worked great. There were zero issues with the room. The AC worked perfect, the bed was comfortable, the flat screen TV had US channels, the bathroom was great. All new fixtures in the bathroom and all worked very well. The room was clean, honestly I couldn't find anything wrong with the room.

So when the room is perfect you look for other things to tell people about on TripAdvisor. We had breakfast every morning and it was good food. Not outstanding but a much better "free breakfast" than you'll find at a US located Holiday Inn Express, Hampton, etc. I did have an issue - twice - where the table I sat down at had dirty coffee cups. Like someone drank coffee and left, and whoever made the table up left the used coffee cup with a brown stain in the bottom for the next person. I probably should have alerted mgmt, but I'm sure they will see this review.

The wireless internet service was different for me, but may be normal in this country. It's free in the lobby but you need to log in with an access code every 12 hours. Then your code expires daily, so you have to keep going back to the front desk and getting another code. While connected in the lobby it drops in and out so sometimes performing business was tiresome. If you want internet in your room its expensive, 120 local per day. I didn't try that.

So what's nearby? Well you won't be lacking for food or entertainment! We found new exciting things to do each night, all within walking distance. There is a connecting door to the adjacent Westin Camino Real so you can go into that hotel to eat, or shortcut to venues on that side of the block.

The hotel staff was professional, friendly, and accommodating. We will be returning to Guatemala in a few months and I'm sure we will stay at the Hotel Biltmore again. I certainly look forward to another enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you stay on the back side you avoid street noise but don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Hotel Biltmore, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you for your additional comment about our services.

We hope to see you soon again in Hotel Biltmore.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    86
    42
    14
    10
See reviews for
24
24
17
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place is clean and if you are on a budget or better hotels are booked, it will do. My room was very clean, but a mustiness in the air made me sneeze; however, it could be that I'm alergic to 1970-era window air conditioner units that wake you up several times a night. There was no hot water one out of three days and the milk at the breakfast coffee was curdled one out of three mornings. It won't cost much more to stay at a better place; however, the Biltmore is not the worst place I've ever had to stay on business.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side so you can open your window without so much traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMysteriousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Hotel Biltmore, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you for your additional comment about service facilities, your comment already was sent to responsible departments and also this kind of feedback will help us to improve; for Hotel Biltmore service and excellence in the priority.

Apologize for the inconvenient during your stay, we hope to see you soon again Hotel Biltmore.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here one night with an early am flight out. The hotel was much nicer that many 200 dollar a night hotels I have stayed in. I was very impressed. Free airport shuttle was convenient.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joey1656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Hotel Biltmore, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had one unscheduled night in this hotel,due to complications with our travel arrangements.The large room was fine, with a decent shower room, the bed was comfortable. The staff were helpful,the wifi is only free in the lobby.There is a connecting door through to the Westin hotel next door,you can have a meal or a drink there.The breakfast at the Biltmore was very average. It was reasonable enough for a one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Hotel Biltmore, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and our location, it always motivation to receive such appreciation from our guest. This will help us to keep our high service standard.

We hope to see you soon again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Good location in Zona 10; felt quite safe and close to good food options. Very good reception staff who were very helpful. Rooms are comfortable, spacious, well equipped and clean. Comfortable beds but sound proofing to the street noise could be better. Breakfast was good in a space just off the lobby. No problems or issues to report but we were only there briefly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Hotel Biltmore, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and our location, it always motivation to receive such appreciation from our guest. This will help us to keep our high service standard.

We hope to see you soon again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed at the Biltmore in Nov 2013.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. TV had a lot of channels to watch. The shower door dumped a lot of water on the floor when I opened it (two different rooms), so be sure to put down the floor mat before getting in.

This hotel is a $10 cab ride to/from the airport.

The neighborhood is safe (in my opinion, and I was out walking after dark). There's a Hooter's about 150 yards away- you will pass it on your way to the hotel. The Obelisk shopping mall is large and located adjacent to Hooters. While walking around the hotel neighborhood (same side of the big street, behind the hotel), I spotted a Fridays, Applebees, and McDonalds. There are several little tiendas for pop, beer, chips, etc.

Front desk staff spoke English and were quite helpful.

I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyegun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Hotel Biltmore, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time writting about our property, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. Thank you for your additional comment about our location, for us your satisfaction is the most important.

We hope to see you soon in Hotel Biltmore.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

the location in the Zona Viva is useful for meetings and to get to/from the airport. It's also much less expensive than the hotels in the surrounding area. It's connected to the Westin - where you can use the gym for $10 extra. The continental breakfast is good. Access to wifi is extra ($15/day) which borders on outrageous. I had no end of trouble with the phone (the handset didn't work, they didn't connect the phone so the message said I had checked out - not a good message for colleagues to hear, etc) but the staff was polite and attentive to correct the issues. The shower is amazing....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller_cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Hotel Biltmore, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, for your information we already sent your comment about the phone problems to the responsible department, we are very sorry for this. Please apology for this issue.

Please feel free to let us know any additional comment.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#16 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
#12 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santander Plaza Hotel
Santander Plaza Hotel
#25 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biltmore

Property: Hotel Biltmore
Address: Calle 0-31 15, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biltmore 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Biltmore Express Hotel in conveniently located only 8 minutes away from La Aurora International Airport in the "Zona Viva", which is the center of the business and commercial part of the city, and very close to museums, restaurants, bars and shopping malls. Enjoy your business trip to Guatemala staying at the Biltmore Express, a new hotel concept for executive travelers who enjoy feeling at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Biltmore Express
Hotel Biltmore Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing