We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, but watch out when you check out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
denver, colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, but watch out when you check out!”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Pool too small for swimming laps--only 16 m.

Front desk at check-out made 3 separate mistakes that would've cost me $75 if i had not checked EACH item!

Restaurant will wake you up with a knock on the door to sign their room authorization forms!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradoclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    271
    70
    26
    23
See reviews for
138
111
54
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

In a country where outstanding service and detailed attention to customer needs are commonplace, the Inter-Continental nonetheless stands out as one of the best hotels at which I have ever stayed in more than eights years of frequent visits to Guatemala City.

The best points:

Exceptional, polished service from every staff member

Great location

Very high quality food in the Cafe de la Paix restaurant at very reasonable prices.

The flaws are minor:

A charge for wireless internet access, although low, is nonetheless annoying.

There is no ATM machine in the hotel. (One is one block away, however.)

  • Liked — Service and excellent value
  • Disliked — nothing significant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odalís G, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 2, 2016
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Odalís Guzmán / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

This hotel is an excellent option for all travellers, specially the business traveler. the courteous and very professional staff makes this hotel your home away from home. Also, the excellent location in the middle of the entertainment district is ideal for the best restaurants and nightlife in the city. I would not hesitate to recommend the Intercontinental Guatemala as your best choice in Guatemala.

  • Liked — Service and staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odalís G, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 2, 2016
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Odalís Guzmán / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Loved both my weekend stays at this hotel. Was very good value for the level of service and facilities I found here. Was upgraded to a better room and offered early check-in and late check-out both times. Beware of concierge offered to book transport - the hotel cabs are expensive - better to ask them to book you a yellow cab - still safe and much cheaper.

  • Liked — Facilities
  • Disliked — Concierge
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank caoimhinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odalís G, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 2, 2016
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Odalís Guzmán / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Which is something you can't always say about Guatemala.

Stayed here for 6 nights and used GC as a base to explore the highlands. The Cafe De La Paix - apparently the only franchise of the legendary Parisian cafe - should be much better than it is. The Japanese restaurant is very good.

Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Internet should be free but isn't.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DamonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odalís G, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 2, 2016
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Odalís Guzmán / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

World-class property in GC, with lovely rooms, fantastic king bed with Luxury thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets. Service througout property was friendly and professional. An excellent buffet breakfast spread was included in our rate. Location in GC's safe and secure Zona Viva a plus. Free shuttle to and from GC Airport. No complaints here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet should be free and wireless
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank treasuresgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odalís G, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 2, 2016
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Odalís Guzmán / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

The checkin was good. I was booked into room 1424 and it was a nice corner room but the room was cold plus I tried to have a hot shower but the water was just luke warm not matter how long I let the water run – it was like this at 8pm then the next day at 4am and then when I returned to the room at 9pm it was still luke warm water. I asked to be moved and they gave me 1502 which had good hot water so I could at least get a shower. This might sound strange but the room was cold. I was only in this hotel 3 days but I wouldn’t stay again because of the car alarms. Outside my room there is a car park that is valet parking in the evening and they jam all the cars in with no room between cars so they can fit more and the car alarms go all night and not just one alarm but two or three. This goes on all night – the hotel could do something about this but I just don’t think they see it as a problem. The windows are thin glass so there is little sound insulation. In addition the TV did not work properly, it flickered all the time. There were two phones in my room, one worked and the other didn’t. Breakfast was good. Room service was slow but the food was good. Internet was Q70 per day but was fast.

  • Liked — Room service, internet
  • Disliked — Noisy Car Alarms all night
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank munizaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing