We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here back in February and it was very comfortable, breakfast included was well worth every penny. Service was the best!! Most places in Central America lack in this area... But not the Inter... In Nicaragua the service is exceptional at this hotel as well... It's as if you are not in Central America... Almost everyone speaks at least two languages... Highly recommend this hotel as well as the one in Nicaragua.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Elmary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Customer:

We are very grateful for your fine review about your recent stay in our hotel as well in our brother hotel en Nicaragua. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our complete breakfast at The Market restaurant and our staff services.

We remain at your services and hope to have the pleasure to serve you very soon.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
There are newer reviews for Real InterContinental Guatemala
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

The service is good, it has good restaurants but, I'm a regular visitor due business travels. This is my third bad experience at the hotel. The first one, I was placed near to the elevators, it is pretty noisy, they were kind and offer me a better room. Second time I was place on a handicap room, it was dirty, and there were some blood stains in the bathroom furniture. This third time, the beds are old and very unconfortable. They really need to change old mattresses

I would recommend when checking in to look for a room away from elevators, check that the room is clean and check for the beds in good conditions.

Room Tip: ask rooms away from elevators. check that the room is clean check for the beds in good conditions.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Customer:

We are very grateful for your recent stay and review about your experience. We extend our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you have encountered during your past 3 stays regarding room conditions. I assure you we have already updated your profile to make sure you will always be assigned to the correct room regarding your requirements. I´m also glad to inform you that we will soon be stating our complete Room and Corridor´s renovation, hopefully you will enjoy this in your future stays.

We hope that despite these situation we can have the opportunity to serve you in your future stays.

Kid Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is great, rooms, service, hotels etc. But the must important thing, there was no hot water!! I shaved and almost tore my face. I then took a shower and only towards the end when I was turning off the water, I started to feel lukewarm water. I mentioned this at the front desk, and it seems they know about itand just told me that I had to let the water run. I know now for next time, turn the water on 15 minutes prior to shaving and showering.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank nicatraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review about your experience. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience of the water temperature in your room. We have reviewed this case with our maintenance and housekeeping departments and will conduct a thorough analysis of our water system to make the corresponding changes to improve this.

We appreciate your comprehension and beg for a second opportunity to serve you. Please let me know about your future visits so I can personally make sure you enjoy your Best Rest and Experience.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
nelson.dlima@r-hr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My stay was very comfortable in a clean, spacious room. I was in guatamala for business reasons and felt safe and secure at the location. The staff was courteous and attentive to my needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Customer:

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we accomplished our goal to provide your Best Rest.

We look forwards for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
nelson.d´lima@r-hr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Restaurants on property are great, especially for the breakfast buffet. The Staff is great. The Customer Service is exceptional. The Guest Rooms could stand to be updated. The lobby and restaurants are very attractive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KeithMcCawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Customer:

Thank you very much for the review about your recent stay here in your home away from home. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our recently remodeled restaurants and our staff services. We will be conducting a complete room and corridor renovation in the last months of this year so hopefully you will be able to enjoy this in your future stays.

We look forward to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
nelson.dlima@r-hr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Thought I would try this hotel having previously always used the Westin. Public rooms are large, clean and comfortable but the bedrooms are tired and in need of a facelift. I booked a room on the executive floor - it was satisfactory but nothing more, and not as clean as I would have expected.
Staff were pleasant and obliging but the business services just not good enough I'm afraid.
Back to the Camino Real next time I think.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sprayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your recent stay and feedback about your experience. As you well mention we are aware of the renovation requirements in different areas of the hotel and I´m glad to inform you that we will be conducting a complete Room, Corridors and Executive Lounge renovation very soon as part of a continuous process since last year with Picasso Restaurant, The Market Restaurant, Maya Lounge, Lobby, Art Gallery, SPA and Gym.

We truly hope to have once again the opportunity to serve and that you can enjoy our model renovated room in your next visit to Guatemala, please contact me directly so In can personally take care.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
nelson.dlima@r-hr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

An outstanding property. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Wireless can be a bit slow at times but overall was reliable. Service was excellent at every step. Breakfast buffet was included in the rate and had a great variety of dishes. Will stay at Intercontinental hotels whenever I am in Central America.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are very happy you enjoyed our rooms comfort, hotel staff services and breakfast quality/variety. I am glad to inform you we have recently upgraded our Internet speed to 100 MB for faster and convenient quality.

We look forward for your next visit to Guatemala so that you can stay here in your home away from home.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
nelson.dlima@r-hr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Address: Calle 2-51 10 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $159 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing