We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very nice hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good. Well located.
They wanted to charge us arround 15.00 dlls for internet just because we paid with cupons. We used our friends password, they were in the next room and problem solved!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lucia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Google Translation
Sr. Sra. lucia k, muchísimas gracias por su comentario recientemente posteados en TripAdvisor, nos alegramos que la experiencia en su desayuno haya llenado sus expectativas de calidad y servicio, sin embargo lamentamos el inconveniente con el cargo de internet y por ello le pido disculpas, respecto a esto, le comento que con solo ser miembro de nuestro programa IHG Rewards Club el cual es totalmente gratuito, usted podrá hacer uso de este servicio totalmente gratuito a partir del 01 de enero 2014.

Esperamos tenerlo pronto de vuelta como huésped en nuestro hotel y poderle atender de mejor manera llenando todas sus expectativas de calidad y servicio.

Quedo a su disposición,

William Rodas
Gerente de Calidad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    265
    67
    25
    23
See reviews for
133
108
53
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Decided to try the Intercont rather than the Westin Camino Real as my stays were not great there.
Stayed on an executive floor, wifi access, great room, cofortable bed, gym ok.

Will stay here again after poor rooms in the Westin just round the corner!

Room Tip: high up executive floors the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ra66it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear mr. Ra66it, read your comments is like music to our ears, It is good to read that we did a an excellent job during your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate them, they make us feel proud.
It will be a real pleasure to serve you again and make from our hotel a home away from home!,

Best regards from InterContinentan Guatemala,

WIlliam Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ups:
Well located. Lots of restaurants around.
Staff very friendly
Free internet

Downs:
Room smelled like cheap motel. Super humid.
Tub flooded every time
They forgot to wake me up the last day (I almost lose my flight)

Usually these downs are related to 3-stars, even 4-starts. But an Interncontinental with things like these, mmmmm

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than the 5th floor - I was in the pool level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Guz V, thank you very much for your valuable feedback posted on TripAdvisor, we are really sorry for all the inconveniences during your stay with humidity in your room and with the flooded bath, they will be fully restored next year, so we will provide you rooms of first world. We have also taken very secure and safe measures to avoid mistakes in programming wake up call requests. It was not our staff intention to cause you inconveniences, but we are conscious that we put you in a hurry going to your flight.

Your next stay with us, we are sure we will exceed your expectations.

Best regards,

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Well located and close to a variety of restaurants, free wifi everywhere, good breakfast spot, warm and nice pool, good gym and really good good beds, they were really comfortable. If you need to use computers you have to pay for them, that's the only thumb down, considering it is a business class hotel. The staff was kind and nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mrs. Patricia M, thank you very much for your great comments about our location, our facilities, our confortable beds and our best, the attitud of our staff.

Thank you very much again for your great comments,

Best regards from Real Intercontinental Guatemala,

William Rodas
Quality Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We moved from the poor Vista Real Hotel in Guatemala City to the Intercontinental, which for a start is in a good central location in Guatemala City. Prepare yourselves for gridlocked traffic at times in the centre of Guatemala City. The Intercontinental has good friendly and responsive staff, well equipped hotel with dozens of bars and restaurants nearby

The room service food was particularly good, quick and prompt. Hotel is secure and rooms comfortable and reasonably spacious. Not much of a view but it is not a scenic resort style place. Laundry delivered right on time, no nonsense.

Some negatives air conditioning did not work despite 3 engineer visits. I could live with this - an alternate room was offered. May be more problematic at certain times of year.

The hotel was undergoing renovations while we were there, not ideal but no early or late noise and this issue did not detract much

Intercontinental may lack "local boutique charm" but it is a good big brand hotel, well run and well situated. The usual suspects trying to sell flutes and trinkets right outside the door of the hotel (who wants to buy a flute in the street anyway?) but this was no issue and you can come and go and depart and arrive unhindered.

If you are staying in the city and want a decent hotel the Intercontinental is good. Prices are on the high side but not ridiculous


Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Stephen H. On behalf of the staff of Real InterContinental Guatemala, I thank you very much your time to feed us back. We appreciate your comments posted on TripAdvisor regarding about the good attitude and service of our staff, however we appologize for the inconveniences with the malfunctioning of air conditioning and the noises because of the construccion. The issue with the air conditioning is already solved. The noises of the contruction will finish in the firsts days of the next year when our New The Market Restaurant and tha Maya Loung are opened. They will give a world wide class service.
My apologize again Mr. Stephen H.

I am at your disposition,

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

For business purposes, this hotel is ready to cover all of your needs.
Well located, it has the standard commodities that business travelers come to expect.
My stay was pleasant and I will book again on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Appreciated Mr. Christian R, on behalf of the staff of Real InterContinental Guatemala Hotel, you have posted invaluable comments of our prefered location in Guatemala City. Your comments are an excellent motivating words.
Mr. Christina R., I appreciate your comments and I am at your disposition,


Best Regards,
William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at Real Inter-Continental mid October 2013. Hotel is very nice, typical InterContinental; modern, clean, friendly. My room was upgraded since I am an IHG Ambassador which provided me with complimentary fruit and additional bottles of water in my room. View was of the pool which was not very exciting, but from what I was told all the views were mediocre.

Hotel staff were exceptional! Most staff were very informative, polite and friendly. Specifically Ruth at the concierge desk and Omar who is part of the Banquet services.

Breakfast at the Picasso was okay, typical hotel feast, but was good.

Tours - Martin Tours located in the hotel was great. I would HIGHLY recommend Wilmer for a tour to Antigua. His English is great and he is very knowledgeable. Made for an unforgettable trip.

Overall, Real InterContinental was a great hotel and I would stay here if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Request the hotel's taxi, rate is US$8.00 from airport to hotel but you need to reserve prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mr. KMALS thank you very much for you great comments recently posted on TripAdvisor they encourage us to give always an even more and better service. Our friendly and well trained staff will feel motivated when they read your motivating words. It is nice to read that we did good in the way we treat you as an Ambassador Member.
Thank you again Mr. KMALS, all of our staff and their best attitude will be at your disposition if you honor us with your visit in a near future.

Best regards

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,419 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
718 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
425 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing