We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel In Guatemala City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel In Guatemala City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at this great hotel and I was completely satisfied with the service they gave me, the room view to the city was superb, and Walfre (the Bell Boy) took very good care of me, same as the Concierge (Jhennifer). keep up the good work. I´ll definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Get a view to the city is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Thank you for enjoying our Breakfast Buffet, we want our guests to have a good start !

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    258
    61
    23
    22
See reviews for
125
102
52
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was in Guatemala for a business trip and stayed at Real Intercontinental for 2 nights. The room is good and has a good size. It worth taking the time to enjoy the breakfast with many things done on time, like fresh juice, eggs and pancakes.
The pool area is nice with heated water and jacuzzi.
The hotel has wonderful location with very good restaurants around and only 6 min from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmactrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good location, right in the city but within a safe area for you to walk around. Excellent service. This hotel line seems to have issues with serving water on tables, you could be choking with your food and no one offers water at all. Other hotels from the same line have waiters with water available and keeping a good eye on customers. Here you have to chase people to get water. Good food, Good service overall. My room was very clean and comfortable, but then I am a frequent travel, not sure how the rest of them are. I recommend and will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

The restaurant personal has been informed regarding your comment for serving the water and thank you for helping me to improve our service.
.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at this property to get away from daily life. I had dinner and breakfast at the Cafe de la Paix. Dinner was great! Probably ate too much, but I sure don't regret it. Buffet breakfast was perfect too. Pool was a bit lonely, but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabys_PBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
It is through that few guests are using the pool as it is a bit hidden by beeing in the 5th floor.
.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Clean place, excellent attitude from staff, well maintained and great location. Went there for business and this is my 3rd time, it's really worth it. Breakfast and restaurants are good too. Also Had a business conference and the meeting rooms are great. Only suggestion would be to add more rooms to the business center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingAldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was surprised to run into problems at the Intercontinental. I stayed twice during a two-week trip in Guatemala. Each time I was assigned to a room which did not have all amenities in place as promised. Round one, no mini-bar. It took about two hours to get one. Round two, no safe. That came within 10 minutes. Reception was a mixed bag. Round one, the check-in clerk was surly and had me wait 45 minutes for my peanut-sized room. Round two, the clerk was welcoming.

I did enjoy the restaurant and found staff to be lovely and helpful.

Room Tip: I wish I knew!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor!

Our main goal is the satisfaction of our guests and I really take in serious your comments in order to correct this area of oportunity for us. I will personaly investigate this matter and make sure that it will not happen again. All rooms are supposed to have a minibar and a safe, it surely was with maintenance dpt, but we cannot rent a room which is not completly equiped.

Please accept my sincere apologies for this unfortunate experience and should you give me the oportunity of welcoming you again in Guatemala, please do not hesitate to contact me at it will be a pleasure to asist you personaly and make sure that you'll have a good experience with us.

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General manager
pierre.berthier@r-hr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Let me first start off by saying the bed here is awesome. If you're looking for something softer than a Mayan stone structure, than this is the place for you. The hotel itself is certainly adequate -- clearly tailoring to business people with large expense accounts. They nickel and dime you on everything. The most off-putting part of the hotel though is the staff. I spent a week traveling through Guatemala and was never confronted with anything less than lovely, genuine smiles. However, the only thing you'll be greeted with at this hotel is attitude. The staff seem very annoyed and put out having to deal with anyone. The exact opposite of my experience with the staff at a hotel down the street, The Westin Camino Real. Not only was it a much better price but the people were so kind and helpful. A much better choice -- but be warned.. the bed isn't as soft as the Intercontinental. Have fun!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre B, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Heather,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor!

Our main goal is the satisfaction of our guests and I really take in serious your comments in order to correct this area of oportunity for us. I would really appreciate if you take some time and write me a bit more about your experience and where I would need to improve it.

Please accept my sincere apologies for this nasty experience and should you give the oportunity of welcoming you again in Guatemala, please do not hesitate to contact me at it will be a pleasure to asist you personaly and make sure that you'll have a good experience with us.

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General manager
pierre.berthier@r-hr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing