We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
San José, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, good service”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed here with my husband for a couple of nights before and after our trip to Tikal in Guatemala, and really enjoyed it. It's everything you would expect from an Intercontinental Hotel: comfortable rooms, great service and great food.
We booked an in-room massage the day we came back from Tikal and not only was it inexpensive, but it was extremely relaxing.
One last tip: if you order room service, order the baguette sandwich with the pickles and serrano ham ;) it's out of this world!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloBrenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear madam,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

We started this massage service at the beginning of the year and even if we do not have a complete SPA in the hotel, we noticed that our guests enjoy a private massage in their room.
I am happy that you liked our french baguette!

I will put your review on our staff board information as it is really a strong motivation for all of us to keep our efford giving to our guest an great experience during their stay with us

Looking forward to welcome you again in Guatemala

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    271
    70
    26
    23
See reviews for
138
111
54
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night here on my way to Honduras. Staff were very helpful in assisting with finding an ATM and an obscure bus station. We had to leave very early (4am) and they bought out tea and coffee for us as we'll as some cookies an fruit.

The room was clean and the hotel itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can_Fam_Adv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rooms were extremely well maintained, clean, and service was first class. I was in the executive suites so maybe that made a difference. The food was above average and I would definitely go back. Free wifi in executive suites was a big plus for business needs. I gave a speech there and the conference rooms were barely adequate for the large crowd (long and narrow) and we lost lighting a couple of times during the presentation. nonetheless, it is a nice area and you get a sense of safety

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjbsnr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will put your review on our staff board information as it is really a strong motivation for all of us to keep our efford giving to our guest an great experience during their stay with us

Looking forward to welcome you again in Guatemala

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I'm quickly coming to the conclusion that in Zona 10 in Guatemala there are only "average" hotels. The rooms are a little out-dated. Very dark the way things were decorated in the 1990s. The food is OK, but fortunately there are several restaurants nearby so that you don't have to depend on hotel food for all three meals.

The Internet connection wasn't good, and sometimes I wasn't able to work at all. I was disappointed that I was charged extra for it.

On the bright side, the bath towels are extremely thick and luxurious. There is a shower and a bathtub.

The staff is extremely nice. (I had no idea how they all new my name.) However, Guatemalans are very polite by nature, so I'm not sure I can really give the hotel any credit for this.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, but try to avoid being near the elevator due to the noise. Personally, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanisinecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests. It is part of our standard to call the guest by his name and I ma happy that my staff fully comply and pleased you.

Thank you for the internet critic, we already send a request to our Canadian supplier Guest Teck to check our connections in order to fix this problem.

I hope that you did try our Buffet Breakfat at the Cafe de la Paix or our japone restaurant the Tonashii, considered by the local japanse community as the best sushi restaurant of Guatemala!

For the decoration the hotel has been built en 2001 and renovated in 2007. But due to the dark color of the furnitures, I agree with you that the rooms look a bit dark. reason why we started since 2 month to change all the lamps in the rooms with 100W bubs. Hoping that on your next stay, you'll see the improvment.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Guatemala

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was my 1st visit to this city, let alone this country. Was greeted immediately at the doors of the hotel with a very gracious bellman. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff was very friendly. Was able to walk around the area and felt very comfortable doing so. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices and the fruit was freshly sliced for you while you wait. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to this city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrluthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will put your review on our staff board information as it is really a strong motivation for all of us to keep our efford giving to our guest an great experience during their stay with us

Looking forward to welcome you again in Guatemala

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I arrived to the Hotel the night before and stayed at the executive room. Next morning when I ordered breakfast at the executive lounge servers were RUDE and waiting time was so long for a simple omelette (30 min) that I had to go without breakfast. Very bad experience would not recommend the hotel from now on..!!

Bad experience, rude personal in the Executive Club Lounge

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Ernesto C,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments regarding our personnel in the Executive club lounge are very troubling. Rest assured this will be addressed with the proper department in order to avoid a similar occurrence in the future. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused you.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

It was my first time in this Hotel and I felt very well. Rooms are clean and beds are excellent. Great braekfast, very friendly staff, excellent gym with new machines.

The Hotel feels rather safe in an unsafe city.

Internet use was charged extra and extremly high. In these days that is a "no go" in my eyes.

Prices are rahter high compared to the "street prices", however remember it is a 5 star Hotel.

I will choose this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Schwabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

We know that most of the hotel are giving away the internet, but we did invest over USD 50'000 in order to have a perfect wireless internet with a 20MB speed in the hotel, reason why we are charging it. We have by the way the highest speed within the city .

Looking forward to welcome you again in Guatemala

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#8 of 49 in Guatemala City
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing