We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have hoped for better for an Intercontinental...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Global
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I would have hoped for better for an Intercontinental...”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

At the last minute, the client changed my hotel from the Westin, to the Intercontinental. I was expecting the usual quality of an Intercontinental Hotel... it was not here. The staff were lovely and gracious, but things seemed run down, and not completely coordinated. The breakfast buffet was good, and the sushi restaurant in the hotel is worth checking out

I revisited Antigua, Guatemala and would HIGHLY recommend a trip to this area. It is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.
It is always very usefull for me to receive some constructives crtics in order to improve our service., We will are starting a process of renovation as we are aware that our hotel need some improvement.
Thank you for your compliment regarding our Buffet Brekfast and our Japanese Restaurant. Should you comme after September, we will have 2 addcional point of sales which will be the Saint Honore (a modern coffee shop) and the Picasso (a healthly and trendy restaurant)

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    266
    68
    25
    23
See reviews for
133
108
53
627
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Intercontinental for the past 8 years. There is no better hotel to stay. All of the staff, from the General Manager to the bellboy go out of their way to make you feel special and at home. Is always a memorable experience that repeats for me every stay. I highly recommend the Real Intercontinental for your stay in this beautiful country.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board in order for them to know where our areas of opportunities. And thank you for the personal note regarding my person! I am always trying to meet the majority of our guests.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I believe this hotel will please from the simplest to the most demanding guests. Just minutes away from fine sit-down and fast food restaurants and malls. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. There is a Sushi Bar near the lobby and the main restaurant prepares a number of buffets daily. Breakfast here is the best I’ve had thus far. The hotel tends to be quite busy. Always some sort of sweet 16 or I dunno, weddings going on. Near the international airport and hotel shuttle leaves every 30 minutes or so. The A/C unit makes no noise at all.... heaven!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O_SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.
It is always very usefull for me to receive some constructives crtics in order to improve our service.,
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board in order for them to know where our areas of opportunities.
It is through that we have the chance of beeing in the Zona Viva, the entertainement and business heart of the city.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights and wished for more...
Large and well equipped rooms, very nice and diversified breakfast, near a big shopping mall.
A few minutes ride to various businesses.

Service was very good.

Room Tip: High floor rooms will keep you away from the street hustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel.
It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard,
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Best regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

In the center of the Zona Viva (Zona 10), this is probably the best business hotel in town. Very good service, good restaurant options in the hotel or nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesterix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel.
It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard,
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I just returned for a 2 night - 3 day business trip from Guatemala City and had the opportunity to stay at this hotel.
Overall the hotel is pretty good, however I have some observations / cautions for travelers:
* Check out service is poor and slow. Plan to wait at least 20 minutes in the front desk for your check out.
* Asking for an upgrade doesn't give you much benefits for the exception of access to the executive lounge. Upgrade doesn't entitle you to free internet.
* When upggraded I requested a King size Bed. Honestly, for being a "suite" the sleep quality of the mattress was average to poor. A 5 star hotel with old, worn out mattresses? Not even in 2 star Marriott properties you get this. So always check your mattress or you'll end up with back pain.
* Gym is underequipped. Only 3 treadmills, 1 stepper, 2 elipticals and 1 stationary bike, and then iron lifting equipment. Come one! You have to either get to the gym before 5:30 am, or wait in line for the next available machine!!

However, staff is pretty nice.

Minor hiccups for a fairly good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvaroC_reaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.
It is always very usefull for me to receive some constructives crtics in order to improve our service.,
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board in order for them to know where our areas of opportunities
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have stayed twice at this hotel, and would book again. Consistently excellent service - and on the first stay, I was not a model guest, as I became quite ill. The hotel arranged for a doctor to see me, and then arranged to pick up the prescrbed medications. Then they made arrangements to clean the room when I felt well enough to go out for 30 minutes. The room was nice, and the technology works. In the central business district.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel.
It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard,
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
720 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
425 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing