We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Real InterContinental Guatemala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best location in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel is in the best zone (10) and 7 minutes away from the airport. The hotel is big, rooms are nice and service is great. Value.....it is expensive and they charge you extra for breakfast and internet. Food was not amazing but service is amazing! Beds are not big and pillow are to soft.

I recommend this hotel if you have a lot to spent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie7fR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel. It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    254
    59
    23
    21
See reviews for
116
101
52
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Be extremely careful in making reservations at the IHG website. I made a reservation for a meeting in Guatemala City and when the meeting was moved for security reasons, my charge card was billed for the full 3 day stay , including taxes. So I am out $454 and Intercontinental Hotels loses a customer who spends over $60,000 per year on business travel. I guess it makes sense to them.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Dauntless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Madam, Sir

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion regarding your booking through our booking engine of IHG.
Could you please be kind enough to explain a bit more what happened? In case of a booking as Advance Purchase, the system do mention that for the lower price received there no possibility of change of refunding.
Should you wish to contact me, please feel free to do so.
Best regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I've stayed a few times coming into or leaving Guatemala. With my teenager. Very comfortable and secure hotel. Beds are the most comfortable ever. Staff is friendly and helpful. They arranged a taxi for us to visit the textile museum and return safely. Food is good, brunch is the best!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyihatetoregister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel. It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Very nice hotel, clean with great service. Not everyone spoke perfect English but it was fine. Location of this hotel can't be better, Zone Viva had a lot to offer, ranging from shopping in near Oakland Mall to great restaurants. I stayed there on business for a whole week and went to a different restaurant every night, the variety of food were amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garfield_the_cat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel. It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Very clean, comfortable, great location, but service takes the cake! Amazing service, everyone knows you by name, even if you have not met them.
Absolutely everyone in the staff team was extremely corteous, friendly, and went above and beyong to attend any needs.
We stayed for 2 weeks, the breakfast is delicious and varies, everyday, but the fresh fuits, and fresh juices are served daily, which I took full advantage of! I do not have 1 negative comment to make. We did not use the Spa, nor pool to be able to comment.
Special thanks to Cindy, for helping me get local fresh cheese to take abroad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the city, the other view, is a building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maru620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel. It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is really well located (Zone 10) and you feel like you are in home! Rooms are very good (with coffee machine), great beds and bathroom. Breakfast is amazing! with many (really many!) options!
Staff is excellent and ready to help and support you anytime!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbassoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel.
It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City and have the pleasure to meet you. Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed a week. If you take the time to talk to and be friendly with the staff nothing is too much trouble with them. Had great fun in the bar with the barman going trough the cocktail list. He was highly amused at my feeble attempts to speak even basic Spanish. Food was excellent. And yes you are in a foreign country so don't expect all the staff to be fluid in every language under the sun. Most interesting part was walking out one morning for a cigarette to find the hotel surrounded by armed guards as the President of Nicugragua was attending a meeting there. Comming from a country where the Police don't even wear guns it was an experince. Stayed on the 14th floor, quiet roomexcellent breakfast. Room service provided excellent meal in the small houirs while pulling an all nighter for ameeting the next day. Hotel has great taste as included with the meal was New Zealand Anchor butter :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeweeroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odalís G, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 2, 2016
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Odalís Guzmán / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options with a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailor-made cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and views of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; with the fastest Internet connection (100MB), soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with iPod connection, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 2.5 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing