We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good mid-range choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Watauga
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good mid-range choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Its a little difficult to find if arriving by car as the hotel rooms are above a small shopping center and the reception area is only one of the 'store-fronts'. However, the rooms are nicely appointed and the 'free breakfast' was delicious and professionally served. The airport shuttle service for our friends who were departing back to the States was timely and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBetsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
13
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I flew into Guatemala City apprehensively, at the start of my motorcycle trip from Guatemala to Argentina. To my pleasant surprise I was met at the airport by the Howard Johnson driver with my name on a card.which I hadn't even requested. He took me to this wonderfull hotel, conveniently located for the airport and also for the city itself. There followed a very relaxed stay in a good standard hotel, beautifully furnished and with friendly, efficient and helpfull staff. Breakfast was a delight in their busy restaurant with plenty of local business people also dining, which speaks for itself. This is a great little hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmonahan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

First of I would like to thank Ceasar Rojas (manger) he personally picked my wife and I from airport (they provide a shuttle service to and from at no extra cost) he was very pleasant to talk to, and cominucated very well in English! Once arrived at the hotel we couldn't belive how beautiful it is definitely a 5 star experience!!
Every morning we were given purified water bottles (complementary), and a excellent breakfast; Steven one of the waiters that took care of us every morning was very helpful and friendly along side the others that work in the resturant.
Over all I have to say this HoJo is by far the best experience I have had!! Rooms are always clean, staff bends over backwards to make your stay the best!
THANKS TO ALL!!!
The Espana Family

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

As our flight into Guatemala arrived at 10:00 p.m., we just needed a simple and close hotel to stay at before our 6:00 a.m. flight to Flores the following morning. We also wanted something reliable. The hotel also provided complimentary transportation to and from the airport, which was a big plus for us.

The room was small, but clean and quaint. The front desk was helpful (no problem with the wakeup call) and we were given a complimentary bottle of bottle of water (the only hotel during our entire trip that did that), which we used to brush our teeth and for some drinking. We could have paid less at another hotel. but we wanted to start our trip on the right foot and this hotel gave us that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlnFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here on two occasions on our recent trip to Guatemala because it is only 10 minutes from the airport. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The attached restaurant was excellent. On first arrival we were suprised by finding armed security guards (shotguns) stationed at the entrance but this common place throught the city. Staff were very accommodating and professional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doninsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have stayed in a few hotels on my visits to Guatemala. Howard Johnson in Guate, City has been the absolute BEST!!! This hotel has every amenity you could imagine. The free breakfast is at Geneva Coffee house which is on sight and it is amazing. A FULL breakfast that you chose off they menu. They do not have refrigerators in the room that was the ONLY disappointment I found! Their staff was AMAZING as well!!! Just booked another room for my visit in June!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We are five hours by bus from Guatemala City and needed a place to stay overnight before meeting a relative who was flying in from the states the next day. After reading the reviews on the Howard Johnson Inn, we decided to give it a try. The staff was exceptional in every way, from the manager, who spoke perfect English and was so kind and helpful, to the driver of the courtesy van who took us to the airport and waited patiently for our sister to arrive, to the maid who graciously brought us extra pillows. With a free courtesy van to the airport and later the bus station, an excellent free breakfast with full choice of the menu, and a clean, comfortable room, we felt we got much more than our money's worth.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside are a little brighter with large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstMate2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Espanola
Hotel Villa Espanola
#36 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#16 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santander Plaza Hotel
Santander Plaza Hotel
#24 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#17 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
#20 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center
Conquistador Hotel & Conference ...
#22 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City
Address: Ave Reforma 4-22, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Howard Johnson Guatemala City
Guatemala City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing