We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2010

I've stayed 3 times at this hotel. The first two times we were very impressed with the value, location, property and hence we decided to stay a third time.

The service wasn't the same anymore, this staff didn't seem to care as much. From the time we arrived the Bell boy just looked at us while we were struggling to get 12 pieces of luggage. In the past we were welcomed very graciously with a drink and hot towels, this time.. nothing. they have included a beautiful delicious buffet breakfast, this time they scaled it down to a continental breakfast. we got three rooms, two suites and one regular room. Well the regular room was very basic, plain, unconfortable bedspreads,like those of motels. The suites were beautiful with comfy down conforters. So I feel bad for those guest that get stuck with a plain room. For a Grand Class Hotel as they claim, all room shuld offer the same quality. The Swimming pool wasn't even good to look at, for it was very dirty, and very very cold. I would only recommend this hotel if I knew they have better trained staff seeking for the comfort of their guest.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rileymaltez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 636 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2009

We are planning a trip to Guatemala and was surprised no one has reviewed this hotel. Our last stay was three years ago so with that caveat. The hotel is one of the more elegant non-boutique hotels that we have stayed in. Everything was tasteful and the ambience superb. The restaurant and bar are charming. The rooms were very comfortable and very tasteful. The service was excellent. The hotel is located in a quiet area on a hillside, a bit isolated but the hotel provided free transport to restaurants and shops. We no longer spend much time in Guatemala City, but the Quinta Real is one reason to visit. Its only downside was a small fitness center but that was being worked on. One of our favorites. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echandobuena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

If you want to spend a couple of romantic quiet days away this place certainly delivers. The building itself is stunning (OK, its faux Colonial, but still), the inner courtyard is one of the most beautiful communal areas I've seen in a hotel anywhere, the rooms are very romantic and the staff are fabulous. The restaurant is maybe not the best I've eaten in and the pool needs to be re-located (right next to the road and full of leaves) but these are minor niggles.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanFlemingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I'm not sure what chain this hotel might be a part of, but i intend to seek out more hotels like this one! The second i walked through the doors into the lobby, i was floored. The entire hotel reeks of elegance. It is beautiful.

Every single staff member is extremely polite and helpful. Accommodating and courteous. My luggage was taken up to my room for me and i arrived to find a little note, a candy and a tiny hand-crafted memento on my bed. The hallways were beautiful and the rooms even better. WONDERFUL beds, lovely furniture and elegant bathrooms with marble counter tops and beautiful tile-work in the tub.

The food was quite good. I highly recommend the soup! And the breakfast buffet was great.

My ONLY complaints that i have about this hotel are that there is no pool, and my wireless internet connection had some problems. This was remedied by working at the glass-top table by the window (fabulous view to the courtyard!) and opening the curtains. Wireless internet throughout the hotel as well.

The walkways from the guest rooms to the lobby is like walking through a garden. A fish pond with waterfall goes under the bridge/walkway, which at night, is lit up with candles. Truly a sight to see. So romantic!

I just can't say enough about this hotel! I would stay there again in a heart beat! I only wish i was there with my fiancee and not on a business trip by myself.

The hotel didn't seem to be within walking distance to much of anything. But is it is located on a main road (set back quite a ways, so traffic noise is no problem at all!) that goes directly to the main part of the city, and cabs are never more than a minute away.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kiwibeandip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

ROOM: We stayed in a Grand Class Suite and were very happy with it. It was spacious, tastefully decorated, had a beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi tub, and a comfortable king-sized bed. Our only complaint was that is was a bit musty.

GROUNDS: The reception area is beautifully grand and the interior waterfall garden with fish pond is really pretty. However, the small outside property is poorly manicured; (i.e. loose stone pathways, unkempt gardens, and a filthy pool that looked like a swamp!) The hotel is bordered by a 4 lane highway and construction of a high rise apartment; not a tranquil setting!

RESTAURANT: The hotel restaurant is very pretty but the food quality was poor, the service was rushed, and it was very expensive. Don’t waste your money here...take the free shuttle to the Fontabella Mall and eat at one of the great restaurants here. (We ate at Tres Fretellis and were very happy).

SHUTTLES: Here is where this hotel failed miserably not just once, but on THREE OCCASIONS!
1) The hotel’s shuttle picked us up at the airport. 5 minutes into the drive, the driver abruptly pulled over and hailed a cab. Without explanation, he loaded our luggage into the cab (which was a crappy old car with a broken windshield and no seat belts). Seeing the concern on our faces, the driver told us that he had to return to the airport for an emergency. (Even though he hadn’t received any phone calls from the time he picked us up). I was terrified...I thought that we were going to get driven to a remote location and robbed as I began to wonder if the shuttle was even from the hotel in the first place! Thankfully, we did arrive at the hotel after getting lost. However, the hotel didn’t seem to want to pay the cabbie. We didn’t say anything at the time because we were exhausted and it was our first time in the country...we thought that maybe that is how things are done in Guatemala. (We later learned that this is not so since we had great experiences at two other hotels!)

2) We paid the hotel $150 USD for a transfer to Lake Atitlan. We were picked up in an old Mazda Protege by a driver who spoke no english. The car broke down 4 1/2 hours into the drive (we were told that the total transfer time would be 3 hours) on a narrow winding mountain road at a blind corner. My husband assisted the driver to change a flat tire while our luggage and I sat at the roadside hoping that we wouldn’t get hit or robbed. After the tire change, the brake light lit up on the dash and the driver began vigorously pumping the brake pedal; suggesting that he had no brakes. (Scary when you are on a mountain road!) We slowly descended into a small town and stopped at an auto repair shop. We sat in the car for 20 minutes while the driver spoke to a mechanic. (We had no idea what was going on since the driver spoke no english). After that, the driver seemed lost and began asking anyone he saw for directions. After 5 hours, we arrived at our destination. We were upset about the small, uncomfortable, and poorly maintained vehicle and driver that spoke NO english and didn’t know where he was going; (2 other transfers that we booked through 2 other hotels provided spacious vans with knowledgeable, english speaking drivers).

3) Upon arriving at Vista Real for our second stay at the end of our holiday, we told the front desk employee about both negative transfer experiences that we had. By this time, we had 2 other hotels to compare it with and it was obvious that Vista Real had some serious issues when it comes to transfers. The employee didn’t seem too concerned and promised us that this stay would be problem-free. We decided to take the free hotel shuttle to the Fontabella Mall. Before we left, we grabbed a piece of paper with the hotel phone number and joked that they might forget to pick us up. The shuttle driver dropped us off and told us that he would meet us at the same location at 9:15pm. We waited at that spot until 9:50pm and no-one had come to pick us up. There were no pay phones at the mall, but luckily a mall employee was able to call the hotel for us...they actually forgot about us! I couldn’t believe that they would leave a couple of non-spanish speaking tourists in downtown Guatemala at 10:00pm! We were the only people on the shuttle...it wasn’t like they dropped off 6 and picked up 4; they just totally forgot about us! The driver finally came at 10:00pm and gave us a lame excuse. Upon arriving at the hotel we asked to speak to a manager who couldn’t believe what happened to us and apologized, offering us a 20% discount on our 2nd stay. This was hardly compensation given that all 3 instances put our safety at risk!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank StupFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

The Vista Real Guatemala feels like a beautiful colonial country house style hotel with the facilities of a mdeorn hotel; it makes you fell in between a movie on Zorro and really being back in the 18-19th century.
The staff is extremely courteous and professional and everything is stylized to please the eye though you might need to enjoy older and heavier kind of furniture, thick curtains and glamorous candelabra.
The restaurant serves also good food and the buffet breakfast offers some very nice options; overall it feels more like a business oriented resort and you will see few tourists there (at least in February).
All in all a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ulpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Vista Real, seperated by a few days. We got a fantastic rate the first night, did less well the second. Both rooms were enormous with large, well appointed bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfast was superb. Most of all, we remember the Vista Real for the extraordinary welcome and service throughout our stay. One warning: the location is fairly far from the airport, downtown and business sector in the city's "Zone 10."

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewYorkerRedoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,623 reviews
2.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,139 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
453 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Address: Km. 9 Carretera a El Salvador, Guatemala City 01015, Guatemala (Formerly Quinta Real Guatemala)
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $106 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vista Real Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vista Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala City
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing