We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful rooms and setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were only here one night, and as my husband guessed, my daughter DID immediately say that she wished it was for two nights instead. We were picked up at the airport promptly. Rooms were lovely. My only gripe: when we arrived, I had no small bills for tips. Since we were in two different rooms, and we all had rolling luggage, and I didn't have money to tip, we asked to take our own bags up. The porter seemed disgusted by this, so he turned around and left with our bags still on the cart. Since he left the cart in the middle of the pathway, I had to push it out of the way, since I was standing behind it and couldn't move forward. Breakfast was fabulous, and all others in the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard G, Suites Division Director at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest

We apologize for the inconviniences you had with one of our personnel, I really thank the chance you gave me, by talking about this situation by phone and explaining me exactly what happened, this helped us to take the corrective measures, to make sure this does not happen again.

Also I apreciate the comments about the wonderfull experience you had with all the service and the arquitecture of the hotel, as you say in your comment.

We are looking forward to see you, and I wil be pleased to say hello to you and your family

Best Regards,

Howard Garcia
Suites División Director.
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    100
    24
    22
    18
See reviews for
86
96
25
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

First and foremost I've stayed here before and came back! Wonderful staff all around, great rooms, amazing beds. I traveled alone and they provide free shuttle transfer to & from airport. Wi-fi signal great throughout hotel. As a female traveling alone felt very safe walking thru property. They have amazing breakfast buffet, the menu for lunch & dinner is great. Beautiful grounds. I love this place one of the best hotels in the country! Highly recommended

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are great, I had one that faced the road and NEVER did I hear any traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kissbesos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard G, Suites Division Director at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for making such a nice comments about our propertyl, when the hotel was built the idea was making a different concept hotel, and with your comments we can see we achieve that goal.

We can see you had a wondefull experience not only beacuse of the arquitecture of the htoel but also for the service of our personnel, this is very important to know mainly coming from a guest who had the chance to try many of our services.

I will be glad to welcome you next time you come back.

Sincerely yours.

Howard Garcia
Suites División Director
Hotel Vista Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The rooms are perfect, nice and clean. The workers are friendly. Breakfast is perfect. There is a good sfeer in the hotel, you can feel yourself home. And there is good service in the hotel, but also drop and pick up at the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard G, Suites Division Director at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest

We really apreciate the feed back you give us about the service, and thank you for detailing your experience in the food and bevereage services, Shuttle end your overall score about the staff when providing you a carefull interaction.

I hope to see you back at the hotel and have the chance to greet you and wellcome you.

Best Regards,

Howard Garcia
Suites Divsion Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I were in Guatemala in April and we stayed two nights at the Vista Real. The hotel is gorgeous, the towels plush, the beds incredibly comfortable, the bathrooms with wonderful toiletries, marble all over. When we arrived which was already late at night, we told the guy who checked us in that we were going to be taking the shuttle the next morning at 4 a.m. to go to the airport. The hotel offers free transportation to the airport. I believe that the hotel staff should write down when people are going to use the transportation service. When we came downstairs probably at 4 a.m. sharp, the van had left already. They don't have a courtesy phone call to let you know that the shuttle is leaving. So we ended up taking a taxi. My boyfriend made sure to tell the staff person at the front desk that we were going to be coming back from Tikal at about 7 p.m. the next day and that please have the shuttle pick us up at the airport to take us back to Vista Real where we would stay a second night. No one picked us up. My boyfriend called them and asked to speak to a manager so that he could file a complaint. There was no manager. The hotel staff person said he would send a taxi for us. (So where was the transporation van they use?) The taxi took a while to arrive. My cousin who lives in Guatemala City had left a package for me at the hotel. I forgot to ask for the package when we arrived so I called the front desk from my hotel room. They said they didn't have a package. I told them my name and who it was from. I never heard back from them. I thought they would make an effort to check. . I would have expected a phone call from the front desk saying, "No mam, we haven't found anything." I had to go downstairs to the front desk and they said they didn't have any record of the package in their books. I asked them to please check their room where they keep the packages. Voila. There it was. They never had a record of the package though they keep a book where people have to sign when they claim what has been left behind for their guests. Basically, this beautiful hotel needs to train its staff on excellent customer service. I must say that the gentleman that took our suitcases to our room on our second night there, had an excellent demeanor. He explained some things about the room, wore gloves, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malena0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard G, Director General at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest

We really apreciate the time you invested giving us your feed back about your experience at the hotel.

We apologize for the inconviniences you had at the Hotel, with the transportation service the one we provide with high standards and this time we failed with you. also the situations you had at the front desk are not Qualified to our 5 star service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the hotel and I would be pleased to say hello to you and your boyfriend next time you arrive to personally apologize.

Sincerely yours

Howard Garcia
Suites Division Manager
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed for business but I wish I could have stay longer for fun and vacation. This is the perfect stay in every sense. The room was beautiful and bathtub amazing. Beautiful view, fantastic hotel. You feel like you are in an Arabic Palace!! The food is spectacular. The breakfast buffet and the coffee are superb. The staff is fantastic. Service was quick and very kind. I have nothing bad to say. On the Contrary it was the perfect stay for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoricelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaRealGuatemala, Director Division Suites at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Reading your comments, let us know that we are achieving our main goal in the hotel which is making a magnificent experience of service at a Hotel with a diferent architecture.

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your comments.

I hope I have a chance to meet you and thank you next time you come back.

Best Regards
Howard Garcia
Suites Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
391 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Have stayed here 6 times over the past years and every time is fantastic! Service is outstanding, food is excellent and the atmosphere is 5 stars! They have a new "Business Floor" which have not tried but if it is offering better, and more, service, it will be amazing!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any poor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaRealGuatemala, Suites Division Director at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Mss. Tracy

Thank you for your comments, during 17 years we have been in Guatemala´s hotel industry and your experience as a guest in the last years assures that our main goal on making the difference giving a personalized service is achieved.

We invite you to try our Business Class Floor expereince during your next stay, we are sure you will be amazed as you defined it.

Best Regards,

Howard Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

i lived in this hotel for about 6 month when on project - you will find a home away from home with such a good staff and a line of culinary delight that pamper you every morning

i would suggest to tasty and feel comfort of luxury and warmth of care by Hotel staff

Room Tip: take the room at 2nd floor by the back road - you will get a personal lawn at the back and very near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaushal j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaRealGuatemala, Director Division Suites at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank for taking the time and give us your comments, indeed it is important for us to know that we fulfill your expectations during your long stay.

Comments like this confirm that we are going on the right way to acomplish our mission, Satisfy all of our guest.

We will make sure to extend your satisfaction experience to our personnel at the hotel, we are looking forward to see you soon.

Best regards,

Howard Garcia
Suites Divsion Diretor
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#3 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
2.7 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#7 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Property: Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Address: Km.9 Carretera a El Salvador, Guatemala City 01015, Guatemala (Formerly Quinta Real Guatemala)
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vista Real Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala City
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing