We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Quiet And Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet And Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family stayed here for several days and loved it. The staff were beautiful and so kind to us. We were not sure what to expect coming from the USA with an average spanish vocabulary.

They provided a crib for our baby and such great service. The food was outstanding. We nearly ate every meal in the hotel so we basically tried the whole menu.

The hotel lacked amenities but made up for it with service and smiles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holaratcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    98
    24
    20
    17
See reviews for
85
91
25
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dayton ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Certainly were not disappointed at this hotel! Very attentive staff and accommodated our shuttle to/from the airport without a hitch. We stayed here in a quiet room overlooking the lovely gardens. So romantic at night as they set out candles for the walkway in order to pass from the lobby to the tower hotel room area. Large room setting and a very large bathroom. And a note in each room posted that the tap water is actually treated, so it was safe to drink!
The bedding was so comfortable with one of the best ever pillow top surfaces and lovely soft linens. Colonial architecture and similar feeling as when staying in a Spanish Parador setting.
The restaurant was wonderful for breakfasts and lunch or dinner and the Sunday buffet was outstanding!
Certainly I will no longer arrive at the airport and think I must go immediately to Antigua! Come here and relax; everything you need is here! It is also an easy taxi ride to other areas of the city should you want to go to another zone event

Room Tip: Ask for a room 'away' from the restaurant area on the weekend as the receptions and parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

ups:
- quiet, lush, natural environment ideal for relaxing after a hectic day in this city
- old colonial charm and style, but with all the mod cons installed for business as well as pleasure
- very attentive service with a smile
- great breakfast

ok's
- the location is only slightly removed from the city centre, but this is actually a plus for your peace and quiet.
- price is right, not cheap but worth it.

conclusion: i will return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I would stay here in a heartbeat again. The location, atmosphere and room quality were all fantastic and it was a relative steal at this price. The hotel was as nice as any found anywhere and the staff was professional and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This Hotel is very beautiful, in a safe area and staff is "friendly". But, probably best for only business meetings or events I feel. It was very disappointing to me. I have traveled to Guatemala many times.... Too far away from anything. Prices quoted before trip were higher when arriving. Almost all the staff was very friendly but there were HUGE communication problems, which I hold the front desk 100% responsible for. They had no money to exchange when we arrived, no problem, we can wait 30 minutes, One hour later,still no currency. After wasting more time waiting, when we needed to be somewhere, we found out there was a bank RIGHT NEXT DOOR, next to parking lot. Walked over & it was done in minutes....Why not tell us that? Room was freezing cold, when a room service person arrived with our food he commented on how cold it was, tried to fix the heat, could not & said someone would be up to take care of it ....we saw no one. Freezing cold all night. (But the bed WAS really comfortable! ~ would have rather been warm though) Honestly, it was an accumulation of small inconveniences that I never would have expected from a top rated Hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed our last night in Guatemala after a medical mission on Nov 22 2012 anticipating our final day in town to be relaxing. When I'd booked on line; I was automaticly charged a business class up grade. Upon arrival the girls at the front desk didn't even point out the extra amenities we had purchased which included a complimentary 5pm evening reception of h'orderves; beer and Internet access. We had to ask our bell boy what business class entail. He told us free food; beer and wine. When we tried to access the lounge; our card didn't work and we had to go to the front desk on 3 separate occasions. Needless to say upon complaining we were finally served by 6 pm. Apparently we where only one on the floor that paid for this service and we were charged for our wine when ourbell boy told us it was free. We booked a massage prior to arrival and was adviced a rate of $35; when confirm at the hotel we were quoted $47. It was one mishaps after another. The hotel is located on a highway away from town with nothing nearby. Our taxi ride was 35 minutes just to get to the closest shopping. The final inconvenient is our heater did not work in our room and when asked to speak to a manager our request was ignored. This place simply did not even meet standards as advertised. Might be a nice facility but I rather stay in town and at a hotel where the heater works.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The ambiance you get in Vista Real is the best you can ever get. Located a little outside the city, it is noise free and perfect to spend time there. I stayed for almost 2.5 months and i loved it

I should not forget to mention the hospitality received at restaurant. It is excellent.

Guys, you would never regret for choosing vista real.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which ends with 9 like 109, 209, and 309. They have Jacuzzi :) also ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ram3887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#3 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
2.8 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#7 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Property: Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Address: Km. 9 Carretera a El Salvador, Guatemala City 01015, Guatemala (Formerly Quinta Real Guatemala)
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vista Real Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Vista Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala City
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing