We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“updated colonial charm and efficiency” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“updated colonial charm and efficiency”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

ups:
- quiet, lush, natural environment ideal for relaxing after a hectic day in this city
- old colonial charm and style, but with all the mod cons installed for business as well as pleasure
- very attentive service with a smile
- great breakfast

ok's
- the location is only slightly removed from the city centre, but this is actually a plus for your peace and quiet.
- price is right, not cheap but worth it.

conclusion: i will return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    108
    27
    25
    18
See reviews for
91
100
28
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I would stay here in a heartbeat again. The location, atmosphere and room quality were all fantastic and it was a relative steal at this price. The hotel was as nice as any found anywhere and the staff was professional and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This Hotel is very beautiful, in a safe area and staff is "friendly". But, probably best for only business meetings or events I feel. It was very disappointing to me. I have traveled to Guatemala many times.... Too far away from anything. Prices quoted before trip were higher when arriving. Almost all the staff was very friendly but there were HUGE communication problems, which I hold the front desk 100% responsible for. They had no money to exchange when we arrived, no problem, we can wait 30 minutes, One hour later,still no currency. After wasting more time waiting, when we needed to be somewhere, we found out there was a bank RIGHT NEXT DOOR, next to parking lot. Walked over & it was done in minutes....Why not tell us that? Room was freezing cold, when a room service person arrived with our food he commented on how cold it was, tried to fix the heat, could not & said someone would be up to take care of it ....we saw no one. Freezing cold all night. (But the bed WAS really comfortable! ~ would have rather been warm though) Honestly, it was an accumulation of small inconveniences that I never would have expected from a top rated Hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed our last night in Guatemala after a medical mission on Nov 22 2012 anticipating our final day in town to be relaxing. When I'd booked on line; I was automaticly charged a business class up grade. Upon arrival the girls at the front desk didn't even point out the extra amenities we had purchased which included a complimentary 5pm evening reception of h'orderves; beer and Internet access. We had to ask our bell boy what business class entail. He told us free food; beer and wine. When we tried to access the lounge; our card didn't work and we had to go to the front desk on 3 separate occasions. Needless to say upon complaining we were finally served by 6 pm. Apparently we where only one on the floor that paid for this service and we were charged for our wine when ourbell boy told us it was free. We booked a massage prior to arrival and was adviced a rate of $35; when confirm at the hotel we were quoted $47. It was one mishaps after another. The hotel is located on a highway away from town with nothing nearby. Our taxi ride was 35 minutes just to get to the closest shopping. The final inconvenient is our heater did not work in our room and when asked to speak to a manager our request was ignored. This place simply did not even meet standards as advertised. Might be a nice facility but I rather stay in town and at a hotel where the heater works.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The ambiance you get in Vista Real is the best you can ever get. Located a little outside the city, it is noise free and perfect to spend time there. I stayed for almost 2.5 months and i loved it

I should not forget to mention the hospitality received at restaurant. It is excellent.

Guys, you would never regret for choosing vista real.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which ends with 9 like 109, 209, and 309. They have Jacuzzi :) also ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ram3887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Big, comfortable hotel in a beautiful building, nicely decorated with pretty regional touches. The rooms are big and comfortable, good beds, spacious bathrooms with only one problem: getting into the shower is not easy because the bathtub is really high. The food is ok, brunch on Sundays is nice. Lots of events in the hotel, making it a bit noisy and crowded. Two drawbacks: the staff is friendly but they are somehow stiff like they don't feel at ease at what they do so they don't show much initiative and seem to know their lines by heart; and the hotel is in the outskirts of town so one has to take a cab to go anywhere, there is nothing at walking distance and as it is located on a highway there are no sidewalks.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel has a lot of character but it is up on the hills on a very busy and noisy highway. Very time-consuming getting into town or the airport (minimum 30-40 minutes in terrible traffic). This hotel is really for locals holding weddings/business events etc

There are much better located hotels in Guatemala City in this price range with superior access to places of interest in the city

Room Tip: get a room on level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hornyhombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
2.7 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Property: Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Address: Km.9 Carretera a El Salvador, Guatemala City 01015, Guatemala (Formerly Quinta Real Guatemala)
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vista Real Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Vista Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala City
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing