We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Four night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stay at the Holiday Inn located in Zona 10 (the safest zona). I had an executive two room suite for $125 a night, plus $22 each night for taxes. There was a free breakfast buffet for one person, whether you had two people or not. The buffet was quite good. There was a heated outdoor pool and exercise room as well. The staff was quite friendly and very helpful.

The only glitch was there was no shuttle to meet me at the airport and the hotel would not reimburse my taxi fair.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbhomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear pbhomey:

We thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you had an excellent stay during your visit to Guatemala City and that you were able to enjoy not only the room but the swimming pool and the fitness center. These last two areas were recently remodeled, so we are really happy to know that you got to enjoy them. We also like the fact that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet that is made with fresh ingredients and has a vast variety of items to choose from. What we like the most, however, is that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly; this is one of our main goals.

Just one thing that we would like to point out is that our rates are subject to an additional percentage of tax rather than an exact amount in US dollars. (22%). Also we are sorry you weren`t able to make use of our shuttle service. We do have complementary shuttle service for all our guests to and from the airport since 4AM to 3PM running every half an hour. After 3PM the shuttle remains at the aiport waiting for our guests unitl 11PM. Hopefully you get to make use of it on your next visit.

We are definately looking forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    188
    64
    33
    15
See reviews for
54
52
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is located in Zona 10 of Guatemala City; probably the nicest area. It is also located right next to the "terminal" for the first class buses to El Salvador, and is a short ride from the airport. As far as location goes, it is excellent.

The hotel is older, but has been kept up. The rooms are large/spacious and very clean. Internet works very well.

Highly recommended for a stay in Guatemala City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible. You'll still hear the airplanes, but not the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Bryan J:

We thank you very much for your review.

We are really excited to know that you had an excellent stay. We know how important it is to keep our rooms updated, specially when we are located in one of the best areas in the city. Also, having on site the offices to one of the biggest traveling agencies to El Salvador is indeed very convinient to many of our guests. We are glad you were able to benefit from that.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent our last night in Guatamala here as it is in zone 10 and near the airport. I expected it to be rather average but it was in fact excellent! The room was on a high floor so there was no street noise and it looked out over the Hard Rock Cafe.
The room was large and spacious with 2 double ,firm and comfy beds. We had a flat screen T.V. and a desk and chair and phone,an armchair and double wardrobes with a safe. The bathroom was well equipped with a bath with a shower above it and toiletries were supplied also a hair dryer and a phone. Everything was extremely clean.
We ate in the restaurant as a group of 6 and everyones food was fine except my burger was pink in the middle.Breakfast was a lovely buffet.
Computers are avalable in the business centre at a charge of $2 for 15 minutes so Iwas able to check my flight in on line.
The only sour point was the inconsiderate people next door who kept their T.V on till 5am. and this spoiled our nights sleep. But then some things cannot be controlled

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Brandylady:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

Your comments make us feel really honored because they demostrate that your stay with us was excellent. We have been remodeling our rooms for some time now, for example all of our beds were recently replaced with new ones, so that is why they are firm and comfortable. Also, our housekeeping staff works really hard everyday to make sure all the areas are nice and clean, so we are really proud of each one of them.

We are really sorry to hear that you didn´t get to rest how you would have liked to; we do know that some guests might be a little noisier than others so we are always looking out for any complaints about noisy neighbors.

We thank you once again for your comments, and we hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed two nights in November. Located in the Zona Viva, zone 10, the tourist area in Guatemala City. Location is very good with walking access to shopping and restaurants. Walking at night was secure. Complimentary shuttle to and from the airport is a big plus. Rooms are spacious with balconies, but the furniture is showing age and ceiling panels along with trim work needs attention, that lack of attention shows that this is an older property. (These items are easy to remedy and not costly to do so). Very helpful and friendly staff. Terrible wifi connection.

Room Tip: Our room faced La Reforma, a main throughfare in Guatemala City. It was on the opposite side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingHawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear FlyingHawn:

We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful; achieving that is one of our main goals because it lets us know that our guests feel welcome.

We are also glad to know that you liked the area in wich the hotel is located. Indeed we are in the center of Zona Viva where people can find a wide virety of shops, restaurants, and nightlife and are able to move freely at any time.

We apologize for not being able to meet your wifi connectivity needs but we want to let you know that we have taken note of that and we are working on it. As far as the furniture and the appearance of the room concerns, we also want to let you know that we have been remodeling our rooms.

Thank you once again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
605 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is well located, being near many restaurants and pubs. The staff throughout the hotel as very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself, however, is only average. The room is a reasonable size but a bit worn with campy decor. The bed was comfortable but the pillows not so much. The lobby bar is soul-less while the restaurant has no atmosphere with only mediocre food. When I booked on-line, I asked for hotel shuttle pick-up at the airport; every hotel BUT my hotel had a shuttle waiting. For the cost, there are better hotels in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Weerobie:

We would like to thank you for your comments of our hotel.

We are glad to know that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Comments like these make us feel excited because that is one of our goals; to have exceptional staff members.

However, we are sorry to hear that you didn`t find the rooms to be pleasant. We have been working on updating our rooms, and while it´s been a slow process it is also a steady one. We know that having nice updated rooms are important to our guests. Regarding the restaurant and the lobby bar atmosphere, we will definately let the Food and Beverage department know about your comments. We are also sorry that you weren`t able to make use of the shuttle service, perhaps you missed it because there are two shuttles waiting at the aiport. This is no excuse however, so we do apologize for the inconvenience.

We look forward to seeing you in our hotel on your next visits to Guatemala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Due to business I came again to this hotel.

There is a gentleman at the front desk who deserves recognition: Byron is his name. But all the staff deserves a recognition, since they were always helpful and making us confortable.

WiFi connection is good, but not fast. Ethernet cable is available at the room, and works great.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms siding to the West, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Enrique D:

Thank you very much for the time you took to review us.

We are glad to know that our staff`s attention to you has been excellent. Definately comments like yours are our main motivation every day. We will also let human resources know of your comment about Byron; he sure is one of our friendliest staff members.

We also would like to thank you for always coming back. We hope to keep serving you on your future visits to Guatemala City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Holiday Inn and The Westin Camino Real are one block apart in distance, yet a world apart in quality. The last two nights I stayed in The Holiday Inn. The first in a standard room, the last, thinking the noise level would improve, in an executive room. There are a few noisy discos in the neighborhood. In the Holiday Inn you can hear every drumbeat and the DJ sounds like he is in your room. EVERY ROOM. The hotel staff were very kind in trying to move me around to find a quieter room, realizing in the end that there are none. The manager was very disinterested and acted like he couldn't be bothered. He continued his work, not even looking up to talk to me. He said it's not his fault. "There is nothing I can do." He is right. It is shoddy hotel construction, not him. After moving three times, I was using the electric outlet and created a small explosion. Bare wires were exposed. finally, at 1 in the morning, I moved to the Westin. Whisper quiet and just as close to the discos. You cannot even hear them in the room. The cost is the same as Holiday Inn executive rate and there is free breakfast and much better wi-fi at the Westin (3 devices free vs 1 device that frequently would disconnect at Holiday Inn) I had to track the manager down and request that he refund that night that I escaped from the Holiday Inn. He did not offer. One very nice thing to say about both hotels is that their working staff are outstanding and very helpful.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. All NOISY. Go to the Westin. All their rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank send2royce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear send2royce:

Thank you very much for you review.

We really appeciate your comments about the hotel. We are sorry that you had such a negative experience during your stay. Actually investigating about your case we were able to see that the rooms to which you were moved were the quietest rooms that we have. Our frequent guests usually ask for these rooms precisely because they are quiet rooms. Each room has double acustic windows in order to prevent such inconveniences. We aren`t sure why there was a lot of noise that day; it must have been an out of the ordinary event in the area that made you feel uneasy.

In regards to the other problems you had, we have already reported them to the respective areas.

We hope you give us the chance to serve you better on a further visit to Guatemala City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.0 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
#18 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Property: Holiday Inn Guatemala
Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#15 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing