We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guatemala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Like this Hotel alot, good location and always friendly people at the lobby. HArd Rock Cafe is right in front, very convenient ! Breakfast is very good and service is fast (for those who always runing out of time).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Sindy R:

We really appreciate the time you took to review us.

It´s great to know that you always find friendly staff members. That is something that we aim at; to have friendly staff. We are also happy to know that you find our restaurant service to be fast and convenient.

We thank you once again and we hope to serve you on your next visits to Guatemala City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    162
    58
    30
    13
See reviews for
42
46
34
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The stay was absolutely awesome!! The workers made me feel very comfortable and the almost 3mos I was there I felt as if I was home!! Great staff!! I also felt safe and did not worry coming and going. It was an awesome experience. I would definately stay there again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Flora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Flora M:

We feel very excited to hear about you and your stay!

The fact that you felt at home during your stay inspires us to keep doing our best to provide excellent service to every guest. Having you and your friends stay with us was definately one of the best experiences we had, especially since your stay was a long one.

Ms. Flora we really hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your next visits to Guatemala city whether it is for work or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Being familiar with the Holiday Inn chain, I expected the hotel to be clean, comfortable, and suitable for a four-week stay in Guatemala City. Unfortunately, it was not. Here were the issues:
Hot water seemed to be only available every other day.
The room was not clean. When I walked across the carpet, there was a film left on the bottom of my feet.
The bathroom tub and sink looked as though it had not been cleaned in a long while.
Wifi was not reliable. Once logged in, I lost connection every 25 minutes and had to log in again.
Wash cloths were never left. I had to call down to the desk and ask for them every day.

Except for the lack of hot water, I could have managed to live with any one of the issues mentioned. After a week with no improvement, I moved to another hotel.

On a brighter note, the room furnishings were nice and the bed quite comfortable. Also, food in the dinning room was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Kathymjollie:

We really appreciate the time you took to review our hotel.

We are glad you found the furniture and the beds to be pleasant to you. We are also glad to know that you liked the food from our restaurant.

Regarding the problems that you encountered, we apologize about it and we have been investigating about what happened and we were able to find that when you first complained it was reported to housekeeping and the maintenance department right away so they could check what was happening. Also when the complain was made to the company that you work with, they immediately sent a representative to inspect the room and everything was fine. We are sorry that you felt uneasy at our hotel because by no means that´s not what we want to do; on the contrary, we want to make you feel at ease.

We hope that on your next visit to Guatemala City you give us the chance to serve you better and change your perspective of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The staff was very accommodating with my Mother's need for wheelchair assistance to her room. They made sure we had adjoining rooms and the bellman were excellent help with a large amount of luggage. The shuttle picked us up at the airport in a timely manner and was driven by an excellent employee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottH7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear ScottH7755:

Thank you for your nice comment.

We are always looking to serve our guests in every need they have. Our bellboys are always on the look out to help our guests in every manner they can and are always glad to do. Not only do we have a wheelchair but we also have handicap rooms that are fully equipped to make our guests feel comfortable.

We hope to have you stay with us soon and if you need to arrange accomodations, please let us know. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porcupine Plain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Guatemala is still a country of uncertainty....the Holiday Inn Guatemala City is in the city's safest zone (10)....It is a older property but very well maintained....rooms are large and very clean with personal safes....staff is helpful and if language is a problem, many of them are multilingual... the Hotel also has a shuttle to the airport (you will be mobbed by a crowd at the airport entrance, just ask a security guard for Holiday Inn and they will get you to the shuttle)....the Hotel will also exchange U.S. $ into Q's (at a reasonalble rate, as opposed to the airport exchangers), but only in smaller amounts ($100)....the Hotel is also the depot for buses to Mexico etc. and to Antigua Guatemala.....there is a full service resturant in the Hotel (only available to guests).....the Hotel also will provide you with authorized (safe) taxis....note: please book thru the front desk....as in other C.A. countries everyone has a cousin, brother, uncle, they try to get business for, so just be safe and book thru the front desk....the Hotel is also surrounded by excellent resturants, next door and across the streets....unless you've been acclimatized to the local food bugs DO NOT EAT STREET VENDOR FOOD (even tho it's delicious)....also, only drink bottled water, even in the Hotel.

Room Tip: the top floors have suites, but regular rooms are so large it's really not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dawn H:

We are thankful because you took the time to comment in detail our hotel.

We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one and that you found the staff to be very helpful. We indeed have bilingual, if not trilingual staff that is always ready to help our guests with everything they need; be it a taxi, money exchange, directions or just answering questions or concerns.

Knowing that your stay was great makes us feel proud of all of our wonderful staff. We really hope to see you soon on your next visit to Guatemala City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We use this hotel every time we visit Guatemala city, we have been returning since last year.
Consistent good service in every aspect. The location is the best you could find, the staff if very well trained and focused, rooms are big and with spectacular views of the city, the restaurant is also top kind. Rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xelaju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Xelaju007:

Thank you for your kind words. They make us feel satisfied because we know that we are doing a great job with our guests. They also make us feel motivated to continue improving the service that we provide.

We are honored to serve you every time you visit us when you come to the city and are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for a company trip that was originally scheduled to have me in the Westin, and when I heard "Holiday Inn," I thought, "what a downgrade!" I'm happy to say I was wrong. The rooms were spacious and well lit, and structured so many of them get great lighting and a nice view down the street even if you're not in the suite on the end. The staff was pleasant and prompt.

Due to my work schedule I did not end up utilizing the breakfast feature, and my only complaints were that some of the walls are thin, and the faucet handles are difficult to twist when damp. Out of all the myriad problems I've run into in other hotels, from billing problems to saturated carpet to drunk neighbors convinced my room was theirs, faucet issues rank pretty low on the list of Big Problems.

Even though I wasn't the one paying for this place, I feel their rates are a good deal and this would be a good choice for an upscale hotel with a slightly less old-world feel than its pricier neighbors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Camile M:

We are glad to hear from you, and we thank you for reviewing our hotel.

We are pleased and honored to know that we excelled your expectations on your first visit to Holiday Inn Guatemala. We assure you that everyday we are commited to improving all aspects of the hotel, whether it is its appearance or the service that we provide to our guests. Seeing your comments makes us feel happy and motivated to continue with such committment.

Regarding the small problems that you had with the fauctes, we will definately inform the respective department about it.

Thank you once again for choosing us and we hope to have you stay with us on your future visits to Guatemala City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
2.5 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#3 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#9 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Property: Holiday Inn Guatemala
Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#16 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing