We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm in the eye of the storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Porcupine Plain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Calm in the eye of the storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Guatemala is still a country of uncertainty....the Holiday Inn Guatemala City is in the city's safest zone (10)....It is a older property but very well maintained....rooms are large and very clean with personal safes....staff is helpful and if language is a problem, many of them are multilingual... the Hotel also has a shuttle to the airport (you will be mobbed by a crowd at the airport entrance, just ask a security guard for Holiday Inn and they will get you to the shuttle)....the Hotel will also exchange U.S. $ into Q's (at a reasonalble rate, as opposed to the airport exchangers), but only in smaller amounts ($100)....the Hotel is also the depot for buses to Mexico etc. and to Antigua Guatemala.....there is a full service resturant in the Hotel (only available to guests).....the Hotel also will provide you with authorized (safe) taxis....note: please book thru the front desk....as in other C.A. countries everyone has a cousin, brother, uncle, they try to get business for, so just be safe and book thru the front desk....the Hotel is also surrounded by excellent resturants, next door and across the streets....unless you've been acclimatized to the local food bugs DO NOT EAT STREET VENDOR FOOD (even tho it's delicious)....also, only drink bottled water, even in the Hotel.

Room Tip: the top floors have suites, but regular rooms are so large it's really not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dawn H:

We are thankful because you took the time to comment in detail our hotel.

We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one and that you found the staff to be very helpful. We indeed have bilingual, if not trilingual staff that is always ready to help our guests with everything they need; be it a taxi, money exchange, directions or just answering questions or concerns.

Knowing that your stay was great makes us feel proud of all of our wonderful staff. We really hope to see you soon on your next visit to Guatemala City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    188
    64
    33
    15
See reviews for
54
52
38
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We use this hotel every time we visit Guatemala city, we have been returning since last year.
Consistent good service in every aspect. The location is the best you could find, the staff if very well trained and focused, rooms are big and with spectacular views of the city, the restaurant is also top kind. Rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xelaju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Xelaju007:

Thank you for your kind words. They make us feel satisfied because we know that we are doing a great job with our guests. They also make us feel motivated to continue improving the service that we provide.

We are honored to serve you every time you visit us when you come to the city and are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for a company trip that was originally scheduled to have me in the Westin, and when I heard "Holiday Inn," I thought, "what a downgrade!" I'm happy to say I was wrong. The rooms were spacious and well lit, and structured so many of them get great lighting and a nice view down the street even if you're not in the suite on the end. The staff was pleasant and prompt.

Due to my work schedule I did not end up utilizing the breakfast feature, and my only complaints were that some of the walls are thin, and the faucet handles are difficult to twist when damp. Out of all the myriad problems I've run into in other hotels, from billing problems to saturated carpet to drunk neighbors convinced my room was theirs, faucet issues rank pretty low on the list of Big Problems.

Even though I wasn't the one paying for this place, I feel their rates are a good deal and this would be a good choice for an upscale hotel with a slightly less old-world feel than its pricier neighbors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Camile M:

We are glad to hear from you, and we thank you for reviewing our hotel.

We are pleased and honored to know that we excelled your expectations on your first visit to Holiday Inn Guatemala. We assure you that everyday we are commited to improving all aspects of the hotel, whether it is its appearance or the service that we provide to our guests. Seeing your comments makes us feel happy and motivated to continue with such committment.

Regarding the small problems that you had with the fauctes, we will definately inform the respective department about it.

Thank you once again for choosing us and we hope to have you stay with us on your future visits to Guatemala City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, opposite Hard Rock Cafe. The ride to the airport is hardly five minutes. The rates are reasonable and is value for money. The breakfast has a good spread. There are good restaurants around this hotel. Complementary pick-up-and drop faculity to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiwariRohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear TiwariRohit:

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Indeed the hotel is in a centric area where you can find a wide variety of shops and restaurants and it is also close to the airport making it convenient to access different parts of Guatemala City.

We are really looking forward to serve you on your next visit to Guatemala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I will start with the bad stuff first, it will be short. The rooms are outdated, and the elevator is really slow. The AC unit was really loud. OK lets get to the good stuff. The best thing is the staff, they really know how to treat someone. Fernanda (not sure on spelling, my fault) went the extra mile, she really went like 20 miles out of her way. She took it on her self to reply to a message that I was given and she made sure that I received it as well. She called my room and asked me had I received a message, my reply was no, she asked if there were a message under my door, nope.. she gave me the message and then called the person back with my reply to ensure that my plans were taken care of. THANK YOU.. The breakfast and room service are wonderful, I travel for business and have stayed all over the world, this Holiday Inn is a bit run down but the people keep in running and do it well. The bed was very comfy, the room clean, I had no complaints really except that the AC was really loud. As long as it worked, I was happy.. :-) Thanks again Fernanda, I hope you become manager, you will do great. oh by the way, do not let them charge your card when you check in, if you see another review soon on here from me, then you can bet that I was over charged...

Room Tip: no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firemanstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Firemanstep:

We appreciate your comments about your stay at our hotel. This encourages us to keep doing our best we can to make you feel comfortable and to have a pleasant stay.

About your inconveniences we will try to fix them as soon as possible, so your next stay will be different.

We are glad that you had an amazing experience with us, and that Fernanda makes you feel great with us. I will make sure that Fernanda knows about your comment and great work she did. And we will let our HR Department to know about her job too.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is aprox. 10-15 minutes away from the airport; a complimentary shuttle to/from the International airport (GUA) is provided.

Check-in: quick and efficient; staff helpful

Elevators: extremely slow! It took up to 10 minutes to go down from the 7th floor!

Rooms: my room was facing to the back (not towards the hardrock-cafe).
The room was clean with carpeted floor (except bathroom).

A small minibar; a working desk and a table with 2 chairs.

No window to open; ventilation only by using the aircondition.

Internet: very bad.
In the evening, it connected and de-connected every moment - other users on my floor had the same problem.

Gym: small - smelling (plastic) floor - some/better ventilation should be provided.
Equipment: some treadmills, exercise bikes, free weights - basic - but all equipment was working.


Outdoor pool:
No lockers to store your clothes when changing for the pool or for the gym;
I did not see anyone who took a shower before entering the pool :-( so I don´t want to know the water quality.

Breakfast: aprox. 10-12 USD; nice variety of food.
The area for breakfast is a too small (waiting time; waiters removed your plates while you´re going to the buffet again).

Location: lots of restaurants, bars are in the area.

Summary: OK - but nothing special; you probably get similar services for less money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear tom_brd:

Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel, your comments are very important for us, to keep improving every day!

We will take note of all of them, take actions and try to make you next stay better.

We will be waiting to hear from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was a clean and comfortable place to stay. The staff were eager to serve and help. The beds were comfortable, everything was in good working condition, the rooms appeared clean, an airport shuttle was provided and the staff were friendly and courteous. The breakfast was excellent. We had two days of business meetings and the meeting rooms were comfortable and the staff saw that the meetings ran smoothly. If I return to Guatemala City this will be my choice of hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Plyeler:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad that you had a great experience upon your stay, not only in the hotel but also in Guatemala. Our greatest satisfaction is to receive comments like yours because they let us know we are doing a good job with our guests and motivate us to continue excelling in our service.

We are looking forward to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.0 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
#18 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Property: Holiday Inn Guatemala
Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#15 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing