We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay thanks again its been a pleasure.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guatemala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay thanks again its been a pleasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here from 3/18 until 4/13, the front desk was super nice and extra freindly. The diningroom food was pretty good. The hotel was in walking distance to many restaurants. Close to the airport, taxi service in front of hotel. Housekeeping was not to good, never had face rags in room, always had to call then when I did call they did not have any to bring me. This hotel was great I would stay here again and recommend a place to stay if you are visting Guatemala.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wnbaaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We're glad your stay with us was for the most part very satisfying. We apologize for the not having enough face rags, we are working on that issue. Thank you once again and we hope you give us the privilege to serve you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Front office manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    162
    59
    31
    13
See reviews for
43
47
34
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinity
Level Contributor
244 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my third stay at the Holiday Inn Guatemala. The stays have spanned a six year time frame. It is always nice to see that the hotel is constantly updating and making improvements to the hotel. The same cannot be said for many of the Holiday Inn's in the states. The staff is friendly and the hotel will help make you feel safe with security always near the door. The breakfast buffet is fantastic with tons of fresh fruit, made to order omlets and stuff local Guatemalan fare. I will stay here again when I return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor due to noise from local restuarants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest:

On behalf of the management and staff of Holiday Inn Guatemala, we thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. As you mentioned we´re always making improvements to our property, pretty soon all of our rooms will be updated and ready!! Freshness in our fruits is always a priority with our buffet. We hope you give us the privilege to continue to serve you in the near future.

Thanks again!!!
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the HI Guate aspires to N American standards - as you are entitled to expect from a chain - and just about makes it.

Convenient free shuttle to and from the airport, opulent entrance and lobby, nice restaurant and shop, ubiquitous wifi etc.

When we walked into our room we said "we're home". Three weeks on the road and some pretty indifferent hotel experiences and this was back to what we pampered N Americans expect. Spacious with room and bathroom equipped as we're used to and a lovely big bed with attractive, comfy linens. Couldn't ask for more.

There are only two negatives I would want to report on. The first is the somewhat distant and off-hand front desk staff. The shuttle drivers, porters, doormen etc were just fine but, for some reason, the front desk staff seem to have an attitude problem. Secondly, street noise. Even on a high floor we were assailed by loud music and drumming until very late. Earplugs took care of it but this aspect was unexpected in such an, otherwise, fine establishment. These two issues occasion me to downgrade "highly recommended" to merely "recommended".

One final point, I gave the hotel a 5 for value. We were on a rewards night which cost us only 10,000 points. This is exceptional value but should not reflect the monetary equivalent. Since our night was free I have no idea what rooms here normally cost and, therefore, what value for money this represents.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear guest, first of all, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Second, we're glad that for the most part your experience was a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and will help us improve. We understand that being in the heart of zone 10, streets can be noisy, especially Friday and Saturday nights. We hope we get the chance to serve you again very soon.
Regards,
Front Office Manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Place is nice. Is my 3 time on this place. Service is very good.. front desk and restaurant have a nice service... my complains are allways the same at this place....
1.- Internet is really slow,... 0.25mb/0.17mb..
2.- Breakfast is not include....

Room Tip: Upper floor are less noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank algy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest, we'd like to thank you for your recent visit and review of our hotel. We're glad the service was to your satisfaction. Regarding the internet service, we recently installed a new system and its still under observation. I will let management know about the breakfast issue. We hope to serve you again sometime in the near future.
Best regards,
Front Office Manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice of America
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed there for two days with my family. The rooms are good and clean.It's in a good location,it's safe to walk at night and there are malls close to it.It's a good hotel for the price.The customer service and the food was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AIMXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear AIMXXI, We thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll work hard so that the service isn't only ok, but great next time.

Front Office manager,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I started with small errors and just got worse from there. Overall the rooms weren't that bad, but a series of errors and missteps made our 4 night stay less than enjoyable.

First, when I arrived, there was a strong petroleum type smell in the lobby and 17th floor hallway. Then, the drawers had a strong mildew smell. I called for help and housekeeping did come to clean them, but the smell of mildew lingered.

Even on the 17th floor we could hear lots of street noise, not just cars and buses, but people (laughing, shouting, whatever) throughout the day and most of the night.

After our second day there, as we went down for a very average breakfast buffet, we noticed painters getting ready to paint our floor. We hadn't received any notice. When we got back to our room, the varnishing work had begun and about half an hour later we got a call from the front desk asking if we wanted to change rooms and they would give us an upgrade.

The hotel moved our bags while we where out (with our approval) to a "Junior Suite", which we found upon our arrival to have two twin beds. Who has twin beds in a junior suite?

We asked for a change and we were moved to another room, but again, strong petroleum smell in the halls, weird stains on the bathrooms walls, smells of smoke in the bathroom.

Staff didn't really seem interested, with the exception of Sally, the front desk ranged from indifferent to rude.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear dmcccr, First of all, I'd like to apologize on behalf of Holiday Inn Guatemala for all the inconveniences you experienced. We're going to look into what might have caused the odors and talk to the front desk staff so this won't happen again. Again, we're very sorry your stay wasn't pleasant and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again and the way you deserve it.

Front Office manager,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I had a terrible experience with the staff they made booking mistakes and they had a horrible actitud.
They have no tact or manners on how to deal with paying customers!
We will never go there again, no matter how beautiful the place is!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejannddra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Alejannddra, first of all, we thank you for your recent review regarding your experience in our hotel. We're sorry that your experience wasn't a pleasant one. We'd like to know if the staff in general had a bad attitude or if it was specifically one person/area. We will check with our reservations department to find out what happened with your booking. If you'd like to further comment on your experience, please write to: fdesk@hinn.com.gt

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again and give us a chance to correct our mistakes.

Best regards,
Front desk staff.
Holiday Inn, Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
2.5 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#3 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#9 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Property: Holiday Inn Guatemala
Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#16 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing