We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice, clean and close to the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guatemala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Guatemala to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Guatemala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and close to the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Place is nice. Is my 3 time on this place. Service is very good.. front desk and restaurant have a nice service... my complains are allways the same at this place....
1.- Internet is really slow,... 0.25mb/0.17mb..
2.- Breakfast is not include....

Room Tip: Upper floor are less noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank algy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest, we'd like to thank you for your recent visit and review of our hotel. We're glad the service was to your satisfaction. Regarding the internet service, we recently installed a new system and its still under observation. I will let management know about the breakfast issue. We hope to serve you again sometime in the near future.
Best regards,
Front Office Manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    155
    57
    28
    13
See reviews for
39
45
33
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice of America
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed there for two days with my family. The rooms are good and clean.It's in a good location,it's safe to walk at night and there are malls close to it.It's a good hotel for the price.The customer service and the food was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AIMXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear AIMXXI, We thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll work hard so that the service isn't only ok, but great next time.

Front Office manager,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I started with small errors and just got worse from there. Overall the rooms weren't that bad, but a series of errors and missteps made our 4 night stay less than enjoyable.

First, when I arrived, there was a strong petroleum type smell in the lobby and 17th floor hallway. Then, the drawers had a strong mildew smell. I called for help and housekeeping did come to clean them, but the smell of mildew lingered.

Even on the 17th floor we could hear lots of street noise, not just cars and buses, but people (laughing, shouting, whatever) throughout the day and most of the night.

After our second day there, as we went down for a very average breakfast buffet, we noticed painters getting ready to paint our floor. We hadn't received any notice. When we got back to our room, the varnishing work had begun and about half an hour later we got a call from the front desk asking if we wanted to change rooms and they would give us an upgrade.

The hotel moved our bags while we where out (with our approval) to a "Junior Suite", which we found upon our arrival to have two twin beds. Who has twin beds in a junior suite?

We asked for a change and we were moved to another room, but again, strong petroleum smell in the halls, weird stains on the bathrooms walls, smells of smoke in the bathroom.

Staff didn't really seem interested, with the exception of Sally, the front desk ranged from indifferent to rude.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear dmcccr, First of all, I'd like to apologize on behalf of Holiday Inn Guatemala for all the inconveniences you experienced. We're going to look into what might have caused the odors and talk to the front desk staff so this won't happen again. Again, we're very sorry your stay wasn't pleasant and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again and the way you deserve it.

Front Office manager,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I had a terrible experience with the staff they made booking mistakes and they had a horrible actitud.
They have no tact or manners on how to deal with paying customers!
We will never go there again, no matter how beautiful the place is!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejannddra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Alejannddra, first of all, we thank you for your recent review regarding your experience in our hotel. We're sorry that your experience wasn't a pleasant one. We'd like to know if the staff in general had a bad attitude or if it was specifically one person/area. We will check with our reservations department to find out what happened with your booking. If you'd like to further comment on your experience, please write to: fdesk@hinn.com.gt

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again and give us a chance to correct our mistakes.

Best regards,
Front desk staff.
Holiday Inn, Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The building is pretty old (about 20 years or more), but looks modern. It's on Zona 10, the financial and hotel area of the city, many malls are close to the hotel. The price was excellent regarding the quality of facility and the personnel always try to make you feel comfortable. transfer from and to the airport every 30 minutes guarantees you will always be on time for your flight. I've been in this hotel more than 10 times, and it has always been very good.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to La Reforma Av, are the best, the others face to a big building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menduco_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear D. Mendoza,

On behalf of the personnel of Holiday Inn Guatemala, we thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We´re glad our location works out for you, we take pride in being in the heart of the "Zona Viva" We will let the staff know you appreciate their effort in making your stay a comfortable one. We hope you come to Guatemala soon so we have the opportunity to serve you even better,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
210 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

No Holiday Inn in the U.S. can compare to this skyscraper with outdoor heated pool, glass-enclosed gym, and a balcony for volcano viewing. Although it suffers from 80s decor, it was amazingly close to shops, malls, authentic Guatemalan restaurants and in the posh Zone 10, safe enough to walk at night. The restaurant was bright and stark and boasted a couple of huge t.v.s so we passed it up for some local food next door. It was a bit noisy, even on the 17th floor, since the bathroom vent opened directly into the exterior wall, transmitting honking cabs at rush hour. A fine gift shop with very reasonable prices for local goods. Don't depend on the free shuttle to take you to the airport. Ours never showed up and we had to hail a cab.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Nano: Thank you for your recent review of our property, We´re glad your stay for the most part was satisfactory. We understand that rush hour traffic can be very noisy.

Regarding our decor, we will let management know, recently we have been replacing furniture in every room beginning at the top and working our way down. We apologize our shuttle wasn´t there when you needed it, our schedule is for it to begin at 4 a.m. leaving every thirty minutes and concluding at 3 p.m., we will investigate what happened the day you checked out.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future and that next time you visit us your stay will be even better.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

VERY NEGATIVE RATING OF THIS PLACE, SPECIALLY THE NIGHT TIME MANAGER.
Me and my wife live in Central America and have used this hotel lots of times over the last 15 years. Very clean, wonderful bed and good value for the money, but HORRIBLE service, at least on this visit.
Here is what happened: me and my wife came back from eating dinner at 9:30pm and before getting ready for bed, we decided to drink some decaf coffee, but the coffee machine took 30 minutes to make half a inch of coffee and the color didn't look right. I called the front desk and asked to bring another coffee machine. They sent someone from the maintenance to try fix it for 10 minutes, and he said it was fixed, but the coffee machine did the same thing. This review is not because I got a bad coffee machine, that can happen in any hotel, as I travel extensively with my job and not everything can be perfect all the time, but is about having to call twice for that, after they finally agree to bring another coffee maker. At this point, already passed 1 hour and half minutes since trying to make coffee, and is 11:50pm and me and my wife have a plane to catch at the morning. This should not have taken 2 hours. Now is where it gets worse: I finally had the coffee maker after one hour and half and five phone calls and on the 6th call I asked them to please send another bag of decaf coffee, because the broken machine had used the only bag that was here, and we don't like to drink caffeinated coffee this late at night. During the 6th call, I was told that they couldn't bring me any decaf coffee. They provide decaf and normal coffee in all the rooms in little bags for free, so I know they wouldn't run out, so I knew he was telling me a lie. Then, I asked to speak to the night time manager directly, because at this point had already been 1 hour and 45 minutes and still no coffee and nobody seems to want to help me. They put me on hold for a few minutes, and then told me the night time manager was too busy to talk to me. I said fine, I'm coming down to talk to him, it was almost midnight by this time and was something I didn't really want to do, but I wanted to tell the manager how bad of service I had with trying to get a couple of coffee for almost two hours. I found the security guy on my way down at the front desk and asked him for the night time manager's name, and he wrote down for me. His name is Armando Urizer. I went to the front desk and asked for the manager by name and told to the receptionist what I wanted to talk to Armando about. After waiting for 10 minutes, this is late at night and the hotel wasn't busy at all, I got tired of waiting and left, and came back to the room to write this post. Again, the manager's name is Armanado Urizer.
FYI: One hour and a half into this drama, I mentioned to the receptionist to just please send me two cups of coffee decaf from room service without cost if they didn't really want to deal with it, is not what I really wanted because I wanted coffee in the morning, but I give them that option and they decline. I thought this was a high class Holiday Inn hotel with international high standards, I had a better service in much cheaper hotel. Imagine that, the manager didn't want to talk to a guest that had a problem.

Howard Fluker

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drawoh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#4 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
#12 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#2 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Property: Holiday Inn Guatemala
Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#16 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing