We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but not close enough to things”
Review of Hotel Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas
Ranked #4 of 52 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but not close enough to things”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Crowne Plaza in Guatemala City is terrific. Spacious rooms, excellent services, views of a volcano and the airport (fun for plane spotters!). The beds are comfortable and the Internet is very fast and reliable. It's just several blocks from the main eating/going-out area, the "Zona Viva." However, because of its location, rooms are cheaper than other hotels and taxi rides are $3 to $5 almost everywhere in the city, so it's worth it. I'd stay again but if the Barcelo is the same price, I'd stay there instead.

Room Tip: If you need Internet, ask them to put you in a room near the router for better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew4CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.



Best regards,

Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    155
    82
    42
    31
See reviews for
66
65
39
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is old and needs to be updated. The rooms are really dark and some what dreary. The bathroom smelled of mold. The bed sagged on one side and was very uncomfortable. The first room I was given, the door would not lock when you left the room. I discovered this, as I always double check the door when I leave a room to make sure it locks. Due to the broken door lock, I was given another room on a higher floor that was slightly better and a little less dark. On the plus side, the staff is friendly and helpful. The complimentary airport shuttle is clean, efficient and on-time. I give this hotel 3 stars (rather than 2) because it is a good value for the money (less than $75/night) for those who need an overnight stay near the airport. If you are staying more than 1 night, I believe there are better options closer to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runwayg1irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.



Best regards,


María Joseé Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel has great service and location (in front of the airport). They serve a buffet all day with delicious dishes. The waiters are very attentive and helpful.

Regarding to the room, I believe they need some improvement, it suppose I received an upgraded room but the room wasn't as nicer as the last time I stayed there.

The bathroom was very tight.
I would like to enjoy some time at the pool, but I didn't like that is in front of the restaurant, everybody can see you, and I believe isn't either nice for the people eating at the restaurant.

There are available tours in the lobby, great service and price.

Room Tip: If you have a sleeping problems, you could require a room in the opposite side of the airport . The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabbiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest: It's a pleassure to contact you and know that your stay at our hotel was confortable. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you are going to travel again to Guatemala, 'cause the doors of this house always will open to receive you.

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the appearance and condition of the property. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We are working at a bedding refresh and we will ready to receive you again as soon as possible.

Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our group of nine was delayed from Milwaukee to Guatemala City and ultimately, Zacapa Guatemala due to a delay in Milwaukee. We made our way to Atlanta and then Miami, only to arrive in Guatemala City around 9:30 (versus 1:00 pm) CALMS (Central America Lutheran Mission Service) arranged for our group to stay at the Crowne Plaza near the airport. I had stayed at many Crowne Plaza's for business internationally and this location did not disappoint. The bed and ammenties were super comfortable, comforters, great bedding and hot showers (not the norm in Guate). You will be spoiled here. No business center to make copies, but wifi is available.

The restraurant garnered an " interesting " by the group. They are trying to cater to American as well as international tastes. No one got sick, so that is a plus. Great place to stay as they are fluent in english and portugese.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that you enjoy our restaurant service .

If you are planning another trip to Guatemala, please let me know.

Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo,
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Edgar Alvarez was very efficient and friendly as were everybody else. They are quick to solve problems and anticipate your every need. Best value for money hotel in Guatemala.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschwarzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.



Best regards,


María Joseé Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have the oportunity to stay at the hotel several times and the services is excellent the people are friendly and helpful
I always enjoy stay with you and the location is perfect are near for the principal mall of the city.

Marta B

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaLBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala again. I am pleased you did like our service. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you require additional information in this or other matters. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.





Respectfully,
María Joseé Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

All in a very good place to stay. Clean and safe. Excellent proximate to the airport. Shuttle was great. Food was surprisingly good - buffet was fresh and tasty.
The rooms could use an update - flat screen tv's, feather pillows, duvets, hvac units.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that you enjoy your time at our homme.

We are working in refreshing our bedding and rooms and soon we are posting new pictures online.

If you are planning another trip to Guatemala, please let me know.

Sincerely,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
1,385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 48 in Guatemala City
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 48 in Guatemala City
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas

Property: Hotel Las Americas
Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 kms. From La Aurora International Airport and very close to the main commercial and financial area of ​​the country. It offers 183 comfortable rooms, Gym, Heated swimming pool, Spa, Restaurant of Local and International food, Bar, Internet without cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Hotel Las Americas Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing