We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oasis in Guatemala!”
Review of Hotel Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas
Ranked #4 of 52 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great Oasis in Guatemala!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a great place to stay when visiting Guateamala city. We first stayed here a year ago, and have been back twice more. The hotel itself is a little dated, but the staff are first rate, and in fact this is the most welcoming place we've ever been. Caleb Flores and his colleagues do their best to accomodate your needs and are attentive and friendly. The same is true for the restaurant staff, who remembered me, even though I had not been there in months. The food is quite good, and there's a good variety of both Guatemalan and North American menu items.

In very short order, the hotel has begun to feel like our home away from home, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the airport, and ironically, is a little quieter on that side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest:
Receive a warm greeting from Crowne Plaza Guatemala team.
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. If you have any conserns or questions do not hesitate to contact me. My email address is mj.navarro@cpguatemala.com.gt. and let me know if you are planning a new trip to Guatemala, it will be a pleasure to have you with us again.

Best Regards,

Maria Josee Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    155
    82
    42
    31
See reviews for
66
65
39
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had the opportunity to travel to Guatemala from the 18 to the 22 of June. I made the reservation for the Crowne Plaza Guatemala and it was very good, my arrival to the airport was not that good since my car reservation was not found. Fortunatelly I was lucky enough to be checked in by this professional lady I think her name is Leslie, polite and helpful.
The best part of my stay was the Housekeeper on the 9th. floor. this is one of those people you want to take home with you. The room was very clean and impressed the way she greeted me every morning. Congratulations to your Housekeeping staff.
I didn't have the chance to enjoy breakfast or drinks that the Priority Club membership allows you-
Parking is complementary, magnificent city or airport views,
I would like to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a priority Club Member, enjoy the benefits of the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertousky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest: Thaks for your comments. It's so good to know that you enjoyed your stay at out home. Please, let me know if you will be back, so we'll be ready to receive you again.


Regards,



Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is one star only. The building is in a bad condition, its carpets were very dirty and they smell to mould and urine, the tubs of this hotel leak after having a shower which cause a swamp in the bathroom. The staff is unfriendly.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 2nd floor and 4th floor are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirenalatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.



Best regards,


María Joseé Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here on a 5 night stay on May. The Hotel decor is a bit outdated but apart from that the services was Excellent and the food service has pretty good too. Not a 5 star hotel but has a five star service. The hotel is close to Zona Viva where you can find great restaurants and hangout pleaces. Overall I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest:
It's so good to know that you enjoyed your stay at out home. Thanks for your comments about aur service and food. Please, let me know if you will be back, so we'll be ready to receive you again.


Regards,


Maria Josee Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Hotel definitly need maintenance. The elevators dont work very well, the internet service is a nightmare, and the cold and hot water in the shower are bad label. Yes I waited 10 minutes openning both hot and cold water when I realized they were swap. I was really suprise this hotel can have the Crown Plaza brand name

My friend and I were laugh everytime we get into the elevators. When we wanted to go up, the elevator went down and viceversa. We thought we were the only ones but many of the visitors were also making joke about it.

I had 2 telephones in my room. Only one of them work. The cable tv service was also awful. You couldnt see you tv program. Despite all this I have to say that the people in the hotel were very friendly and they recognize their problems. Perhaps the manager is not willing to hear the customer complaints. In summary try other hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.

We are working in refreshing our internet service and our rooms.



Best regards,

Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Rooms:
Spacious, good beds, clean. The bathroom needs renovation it looks old (as the whole hotel does). The water in the shower does not get very hot.

Food:
Breakfast buffet is worthy plenty of choice, good service.

Location:
Close to the airport, with free shuttle airport service. No restaurants at walking distance.

Service:
The front desk staff is a little annoying. They go into discussion with me because we wanted to pay breakfast upfront. Arguing that it is the same paying the day before as the day after, so why don’t you let me pay upfront then – if it does not matter? My experience in Crown Plaza Guatemala has learned me that it will take them at least 10 minutes during check out just charging breakfast. I asked for the price of the breakfast buffet and then they mention the price of breakfast but without taxes included. When we left we had an early flight and they promised a breakfast box which was not there the next day. I had no remote control in my room, when somebody finally came to bring one she was inspecting all my room for quite a while to see whether “it had not fallen under the bed”. To many small issues to say “this hotel is good”. Good thing, the beds are lovely.

Pricing:
Because of the issues mentioned above, the hotel is a little dated and the bathroom facilities (no proper shower head, no hot water, damaged bathtub) the hotel is in my opinion a little overpriced)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaRemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that you enjoy our breakfast and our restaurant service . For the pricing issue, we will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.

We are working in refreshing our bedding and rooms and soon we are posting new pictures online.

If you are planning another trip to Guatemala, please let me know.

Best regards,

Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a nice place with good service and good food, but they always down the quality , the first time I visited here all was great, the second time instead the food was not so good and the room had problems with the air conditioning . But its acceptable because it not cost a lot. Badly they had some troubles with the police and one of the best members of the staff was arrested , I don`t know if he was found guilty or not but that is something to consider.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khazimba Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest:
Receive a warm greeting from Crowne Plaza Guatemala team.
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. As far as the inconvience you told us before it must have been a misunderstading since none of our employees has been arrested , I am sure it was a mistake.
If you have any conserns or questions do not hesitate to contact me. My email address is mj.navarro@cpguatemala.com.gt. and let me know if you are planning a new trip to Guatemala, it will be a pleasure to have you with us again.

Best Regards,

Maria Josee Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
1,386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 48 in Guatemala City
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#10 of 48 in Guatemala City
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 48 in Guatemala City
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas

Property: Hotel Las Americas
Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 kms. From La Aurora International Airport and very close to the main commercial and financial area of ​​the country. It offers 183 comfortable rooms, Gym, Heated swimming pool, Spa, Restaurant of Local and International food, Bar, Internet without cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Hotel Las Americas Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing