We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT FRIENDLY !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Colares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“NOT FRIENDLY !”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Barceló Premium Guatemala is a big five star hotel rated at first place in TriAdvisor and has all the conditions to maintain the place, good rooms, bathroom not so good but enough, not free internet, very good breakfast, and luxuriant lobby..
However we were expecting more. In fact we arrived at 9 pm and nobody help us with the bags, they remain looking at us not helping, we come in and we didn´t see the reception and again nobody help us, we saw the reception because was a queue there, we went there we had been waiting and when our time arrived the things were fast but again nobody said us were the lifts were or helped us with the bags or come with us to show were the room was.Again in the morning no information about were the breakfast was or helped us to find a table. We were for our account. This is not a service for a five star hotel anywhere! Perhaps I had a bad day!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear guest:

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments about our service during your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenient we may have caused, as you mentioned, our quality and service standards should go beyond your expectations, especially when we welcome our guests and let them know about our services and show them to the Hotel premises. We really hope that we can make your next stay in Guatemala City more enjoyable.

Our kindest regards,

Un cordial saludo de Barcelo Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    580
    143
    49
    37
See reviews for
209
343
146
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My mom, sister and I stayed here through our tour with Gate 1 Travel. I could not believe how friendly everybody was at the hotel, I have to tell you what a difference to a hotel in the United States! We had 3 people in a room, so we opted for a roll-a-way bed, which was the size of a full bed and very comfortable. We were able to go the the business center and they helped us make reservations for a nice dinner in the city, they also helped us order a pizza one night. Out last day we spent by the pool, which was heated (what a treat). I was very pleased with everything at the Barcelo!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for your comments, they do help us to keep up in focusing on our guest needs and personalized service. We look forward to hosting you in your next visit to Guatemala City.

Our kindest regards,

Un cordial saludo del equipo de Barcelo Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This hotel is very convenient to the airport and is priced very well. It's best feature is a lovely big pool and hot tub.

Despite the hotel appearing quiet they could not offer me a non-smoking room, and the room we were given stunk of cigarrete smoke. I can only assume that the hotel is basically pro-smoking and does not have many non-smoking rooms.

If you are a smoker, or are not fussed by the smell of tobaco, then this hotel would be fine for you. But for me and my family, it was a bad choice

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake McQueeney, Tx
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Great music on 97.7. on the in room Sony alarm clock radio.... Fantastic breakfast buffet staff: Jennifer, Candy (makes great omelets any way you want!!!!), Carlos, Monica, Mauricio, Luis, and Francisco. Cleaning staff did a super job: Dona, Brenda and Claudia were all great! Sergio, Rodrigo, Regina and Andrea represented the front desk with excellence. Bryan and all the bell boys always greeted us with a smile. We were pleasantly surprised on New Years' Day with a complimentary bottle of Ron Zacapa rum........THANK YOU!!!!!!!! Pool was heated, jacuzzi was nice & warm (open 24hrs.) and a pleasant end to a day of traveling on the road . Breakfast buffet, be sure and try the Banana Leaf wrapped tamales, was superb and had different "local recipes" each day along with fresh juices , fruit, & pastries!! There is free WiFi at the hotel!!
We stayed in room 868 and had a great view of the fireworks New Years Eve!
Strikers Restaurant and sports bar is adjoined to the hotel with burgers, sandwiches, steaks and pizza etc.
You will not be disappointed staying at the Barcelo!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drwhitefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear guest:

We really appreciate your great comments and we are glad you have had a joyful stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time in mentioning specific names of different members of our staff. We will be very happy to see you back in your next visit to Guatemala. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you the very best for 2011.

Un cordial saludo del staff de Barceló Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Besides that everything was OK in the hotel, the main highlight was the huge HEATED swimming pool. Add up the hot Jacuzzi and shower and you understand why we’ve spent there all free time. To make it even better – the pool are open almost 24 hours.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the hotel staff we would like to thank you for your comments. We are glad you have enjoyed our Spa and we do hope that you stay with us in your next visit to Guatemala.


Kind Regards,

Un cordial saludo desde Barceló
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Excellent hotel. Stayed here twice during a recent visit to Guatemala. This hotel had far, far more class than we expected. Found out it used to be the Marriott. Beautiful pool & lounging area. View from our rooms was outstanding! City views, & in the distance the landing path for the airport. All stunning at night. Quality of food in the hotel restaurants excellent, & service as well. Overall, great ambience & a great place to stay. Rooms were likewise outstanding. Spacious, well-appointed, with immaculate bathrooms. Very, very pleased. We'll stay there again. A very safe, inviting environment!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abernathy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Guest:

We are so glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Barceló Guatemala City. Your good comments encourage us to take care of our guests and go beyond their expectations.
We look forward to hosting you in your next visit to Guatemala.

Our kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, PA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Barcelo in Guatemala City is an oasis in a very difficult town. They meet you at the airport, provide a vast breakfast buffet, box breakfasts and lunches for early departures, and have great bathroom amenities from Aveda. Complimentary combs, toothbrushes/toothpaste, and razors/shaving cream are all provided in each room, in case airport security or delayed luggage has yours. A shoehorn was welcome, and brought to the airports to help put on shoes after airport security.

Try the Chicken Soup in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclectic779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Guest:

On behalf of our staff, we would like to thank you for your comments; they will help us maintain our service standards and go beyond our particular guest needs and expectations.

We will be happy to see you back in our hotel in the near future.

Un cordial saludo desde Barcelo Guatemala!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,056 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 49 in Guatemala City
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Property: Barcelo Guatemala City
Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing