We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Montvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

I arrived at the Barcelo the Day Tropical Storm Agatha came through. I have many great things to say about this hotel. First the breakfast buffet is great, good food and great dinning room, outside or inside. The pool looked great but I was unable to use it since it was full of ash from the Vocanic explosion. The rooms where neat and clean and the staff was always, always helpful and attentive.
The location is great since you are only 2 or 3 blocks from the Camino Real and can walk or if you feel unsafe take a taxi for 5 to 7 dollars. There is not a lot to do in Guatemala City but the Hotel comes thorugh.
I did not try the Japenease resturant, Strykers was a good pub/bar and the evening Buffet was not worth it.
Though the Hotel has resturants you are so much better off trying the resturants a few blocks up.
Everything of essentials is within stiking distance.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel with the members of Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations regarding our services.
We hope to see you soon at Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    530
    123
    45
    34
See reviews for
176
314
132
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in Barcelo Guatemala City after our flight to Los Angeles was cancelled due to a nearby volcanic eruption.

The hotel itself is lovely with a polished, luxurious feel to the grand lobby and comfortable rooms. There is an outdoor pool (although it was covered in ash at the time), a beauty salon, spa, fitness centers, meeting rooms, restaurants, gift shops and bars. Initially I was charmed by the hotel and happy to be staying there. The hotel setting itself is not the reason I am giving it a bad review.

The major problem with this hotel is the staff - they clearly do not care about their guests and turned out to be extremely unknowledgeable and unwilling to provide any sort of assistance with the challenges that were presented to us when the airport closed.

Long story short, it was important for us to get to L.A. as soon as possible to get a connecting flight to New Zealand. Because of a miscommunication among the staff, we were not informed about the airport closure until midday, while the hotel staff had been informed much earlier that morning and failed to inform us. Because of this, we lost the chance to book ourselves on a flight from San Salvador that evening. In the meantime, all of the other passengers who were on our cancelled flight had booked themselves onto the evening flight, which was now full. They all took a bus to Salvador while we were left with no other option than to stay in Guatemala City.

We were desperate to make our connection to New Zealand and were forced to spend nearly 4 hours on the phone with the airline, pleading with them to find room for us on the next available flight from San Salvador. We were made to pay an outrageous amount for Internet which we required due to the incompetence of the staff. It was a nightmare and we were left frustrated, exhausted and out of pocket. All this was the result of being misinformed by a hotel staff member that morning.

We spoke to the manager, Melanie, who not only was extremely unsympathetic to our situation- she was rude, condescending, and argued aggressively with us. She even tried to convince us that there was no flight from San Salvador on the TACA airline that evening or the next- even though we had just booked ourselves the flight about an hour before speaking to her. She even pretended to call the airline and have them tell us there was no flight - she was apparently put on "hold" by the airline.

Let me assure you Melanie, there was a TACA fight from Salvador to L.A. the next evening. We, along with almost one hundred other passengers, were on it.

After it was clear that we were not going to get any help from the hotel, we asked the manager to book us onto a bus to San Salvador for the next day, leaving at 9 am. She informed us it was cost approximately $30 per person. She assured us she would reserve us seats on the bus and we would have no further problems getting to El Salvador. After more unpleasant arguing, the manager reluctantly gave us a meager $20 discount on our room for the night.

The following morning when we came down to the lobby to get the bus, we were told that she had NOT in fact booked us onto the bus - which was now full - and we were forced to wait another hour and a half and pay an extra $20 per person, effectively negating our $20 room discount. We were told the bus ride would take approximately 3-4 hours, and in fact it took nearly 8 hours. We nearly missed our flight to Los Angeles because of the hotel manager had failed to book us on the earlier bus.

Because of the staff's ignorance about travel in Guatemala and unwillingness to help us with our situation, it turned what should have been a minor delay in our trip into a extremely stressful, frustrating and expensive ordeal for us. Essentially, in trying to address a mistake made by the hotel staff, we were spoken to as if we were petulant children by the hotel manager. After this upsetting experience, the entire establishment seemed to carry with it an air of exploitation. Obviously the priority for this hotel is to take as much money from guests while offering little to no personal care for the guests or their well-being.

How unreasonable and uncaring the hotel was toward our situation was magnified after we received a full refund from a small independent hotel in Los Angeles for a three night stay we had already paid for. This small act of generosity was enough to brighten our spirits after experiencing the extremely unsympathetic and impersonal attitudes of the Barcelo staff.

The only job of Barcelo hotel staff is to provide as much comfort and personal care for guests as possible - that is their one job. They failed miserably in this respect and ended up causing more problems for us while failing to admit to it or compensate for it.

I have never wrote a complaint letter for a hotel before, although I have stayed in many. In the end I felt compelled to write this as we were so upset by the unprofessional and condescending attitude of the hotel staff. We were presented with many extra problems because of the staff's lack of consideration or concern. Although the Barcelo has excellent facilities and a good location, you truly cannot put a price on customer care - of which the Barcelo has none.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank christinemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
In Barcelo Guatemala City hotel we make a great effort to fullfil our customers expectations. We are very sorry that during your stay you have suffered some shortcomings.
Your review will help us to improve our service standards.
We hope to see you at our hotel again so we can offer our quality services beyond your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We originally stayed at the Westin for business but were put up at the Barcelo the next 2 nights after our flight was cancelled.

THE GOOD:

-Location - close to airport

-Staff - super helpful and friendly (even in the face of hundreds of stranded travelers)

-Price - we paid $105/night including breakfast after having paid $235 the night before at the Westin (we liked Barcelo better). Food was more affordable than the Westin, too.

-Dining options - good restaurant with an outside patio, lobby lounge, Japanese restaurant and a sports bar called Strikers with lots of good pub type food options and a good atmosphere. There are also a few good places to walk to within a couple of blocks.

-Decent fitness center and pool area.


THE BAD:

-They charge for business center access.


THE BOTTOM LINE:

The Barcelo has all the amenities you'd need and we preferred it over the snootier Westin nearby. I've also stayed at the Intercontinental in this area and would recommend the Barcelo due to price, better dining options and the great staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_5703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope your next stay and just around the corner.
Please call us if there is anything we can help you with.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Our room was ok nothing special but the toiletries (toothbrush, razors, shoe horns, sewing kit, shoe shine sponge, shower cap, etc) were excellent. Our room had a king bed that was like a rock, if you threw your suitcase on the bed it didn't bounce and the pillows did not move. Rooms are a bit dated with cracked molding and a layer of dirt along the baseboards and our sheets were dirty upon arrival, so at best this is more like a bad Best Western hotel in terms of the room. Now the front desk representatives are just rude except for one lady who greets everyone as they walk by. Also there was complete confusion at the front desk when we tried to order the breakfast box for the next day for pickup; they were trying to charge us four dollars per person even though it was included. If this happens to you hang up and call the front desk again and hope you get another person who knows that the four dollar charge is for room service and not for the breakfast box pickup in the morning. The box includes a ham sandwich, juice and an apple. We ate at Strykers and Kyoto in the hotel. Kyoto has excellent sushi and the rolls ($8 dollars each) are very large. Strykers food did not taste so great but the service was good and they had plenty of TVs carrying all major sports. The Italian restaurant, Sirabella, is now gone from the hotel. If you are craving American food there is a McDonald’s next door to the hotel and a Pizza Hut and KFC across the street from McDonald's.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
First at all, Barceló Guatemala City Hotel would like to thank you for have stayed in our hotel and share your experience in Barceló.
We are sorry that during your stay you have suffered those inconveniences . Your comments will help us to continue improving our service and quality standards.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

We chose this hotel based on location, reviews and price. It has all the amenities plus that one needs when traveling. We considered other hotels, including the Westin, but settled on the Barcelo because we could get a junior suite for the same price as a single elsewhere.
The suite was 2 stories with a connecting circular staircase (not narrow) on the top floors of the taller tower. Both floors afforded great views of the city and the mountains and volcanoes beyond. The first floor was a living room with a sofa and chair, dining table, desk and television armoire. It also had a bathroom with shower. The sofa was a sleeper so the suite could be occupied by more than 2 people.
The second story is a bedroom with full bathroom. The bed was quite comfortable and there was a room safe. The curtains on this floor were automatic. Bottled water was in plentiful supply. You can also opt for wired or wireless internet ($10/day). There was also a minibar downstairs. The bathrooms were equipped with hair dryers, soap, shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, razor, toothbrush and toothpaste, shoe sponge and some other things we didn't utilize. There was also and iron and board in the spacious closet.
A nice touch was the 9th floor lounge reserved for guests staying in this category room. You could have food, snacks and drinks 3 times a day if you wished along with the use of a computer with printer and a television.
The hotel has 3 restaurants, a bar and gift shop. There is a business center and everyone was extremely helpful and courteous (they also spoke English which helped).
We utilized the complimentary shuttle to the airport (10 minute drive) and Oakland shopping mall on 4 separate occasions and it was always on time. Many good restaurants and clubs are within several blocks walking distance or a short cab ride. We felt very safe in this part of the city.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramonjamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and share your experience in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel, its always motivating to receive such appreciations from our guests. This will help us to keep our high service standards.
We hope to see you really soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

My husband and I had purchased the bargain Gait-1 Travel 5-day package and loved the Barcello's location so near the airport. We got the older tower and had a view of Agua Volcano and the colonial aquaduct, which edges the north side of the airport, our first night.
On our return from 2 days sightseeing the parking lot view wasn't as inspiring -- but very quiet. Actually the sliding glass door did an excellent job of blocking street noise, and our neighbors were either quiet or the walls did a good job too.
Both rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and clean although we were visiting family so spent little time there. The mini-fridge is locked, and we didn't bother using it - just got ice from the machine down the hall for an evening cocktail. Pluses included apples at reception, discount coupons for the bar, and the wonderful breakfast buffet covered by many reviewers.
Thanks to the reviewer who mentioned a free 2-go breakfast box! I called the front desk the night before and it was waiting for us when we took the hotel's early airport shuttle. After airport formalities (save 30 quetzales p/p for exit formalities) it was great to sit down in the food court before visiting a few shops.
Having an American Airlines office just as we stepped off the elevator made getting seats and boarding passes the night before our early morning departure a breeze, and speeded up our airport departure.
Guatemala City would not be my base if sightseeing - nearby Antigua is much more charming and safer. But Barcello's location (corner pharmacy, Reforma Avenue only 1 block over) makes it perfect for late or early air arrivals/departures and for those with business or family commitments in the capital.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
In Barcelo Guatemala City hotel we make a great effort to fullfil our customers expectations. We are very sorry that during your stay you have suffered some shortcomings.
Your review will help us to improve our service standards.
We hope to see you at our hotel again so we can offer our quality services beyond your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

Went on a 5 day excursion with Gate1travel.com and this hotel was great. Stayed for 3 nights(total). There were 3 women in our room (our request) and we had 2 queen beds and a really nice size rollaway bed (comfortable too). The multiple pillows are comfortable and the bed firm. There are nice items in the bathroom and they brought us extra towels on request. They give you a bottle or two of water also. We stayed in one room for 1 night and had a minibar, then another room for 2 nights with just a refrigerator. There are robes and slippers in the closet for use too.

The pool is nice but the jacuzzi did not work during our stay. There is a bar by the pool and they have waitress service by the pool. You can order food from the STRIKERS bar too.

My sister had an hour massage for $35 and loved it.

The front desk staff was very helpful and spoke english very well. They will exchange money if you need it. You can also get money from the ATM's in the lobby. It will give you American cash or Guatemala money, you choose.

The breakfast buffet (included) was fabulous! I brought a few ziplock bags and took a few cookies for later in the day.

The hotel has a business center with computers for a fee or a fee for internet. Some of our group walked to the corner where there was a McDonalds (with an actual McCafe) with free wifi. There are armed guards outside the hotel. The are is safe during the day, but seems a little iffy at night. The front desk staff suggested not to walk around at night.

There are 3 restaurants. The buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice Japenese one for lunch and dinner (did not try) and Strikers, a chain bar, restaurant which we ate at 2 evenings and it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your review will help us to keep our high service standards. We hope to see you very soon in Barceló Guatemala.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#13 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Property: Barcelo Guatemala City
Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Barcelo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing