We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Experience-Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First Rate Experience-Wonderful Location”
Reviewed May 14, 2010

My husband and I had purchased the bargain Gait-1 Travel 5-day package and loved the Barcello's location so near the airport. We got the older tower and had a view of Agua Volcano and the colonial aquaduct, which edges the north side of the airport, our first night.
On our return from 2 days sightseeing the parking lot view wasn't as inspiring -- but very quiet. Actually the sliding glass door did an excellent job of blocking street noise, and our neighbors were either quiet or the walls did a good job too.
Both rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and clean although we were visiting family so spent little time there. The mini-fridge is locked, and we didn't bother using it - just got ice from the machine down the hall for an evening cocktail. Pluses included apples at reception, discount coupons for the bar, and the wonderful breakfast buffet covered by many reviewers.
Thanks to the reviewer who mentioned a free 2-go breakfast box! I called the front desk the night before and it was waiting for us when we took the hotel's early airport shuttle. After airport formalities (save 30 quetzales p/p for exit formalities) it was great to sit down in the food court before visiting a few shops.
Having an American Airlines office just as we stepped off the elevator made getting seats and boarding passes the night before our early morning departure a breeze, and speeded up our airport departure.
Guatemala City would not be my base if sightseeing - nearby Antigua is much more charming and safer. But Barcello's location (corner pharmacy, Reforma Avenue only 1 block over) makes it perfect for late or early air arrivals/departures and for those with business or family commitments in the capital.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
In Barcelo Guatemala City hotel we make a great effort to fullfil our customers expectations. We are very sorry that during your stay you have suffered some shortcomings.
Your review will help us to improve our service standards.
We hope to see you at our hotel again so we can offer our quality services beyond your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    569
    137
    49
    35
See reviews for
198
337
142
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Went on a 5 day excursion with Gate1travel.com and this hotel was great. Stayed for 3 nights(total). There were 3 women in our room (our request) and we had 2 queen beds and a really nice size rollaway bed (comfortable too). The multiple pillows are comfortable and the bed firm. There are nice items in the bathroom and they brought us extra towels on request. They give you a bottle or two of water also. We stayed in one room for 1 night and had a minibar, then another room for 2 nights with just a refrigerator. There are robes and slippers in the closet for use too.

The pool is nice but the jacuzzi did not work during our stay. There is a bar by the pool and they have waitress service by the pool. You can order food from the STRIKERS bar too.

My sister had an hour massage for $35 and loved it.

The front desk staff was very helpful and spoke english very well. They will exchange money if you need it. You can also get money from the ATM's in the lobby. It will give you American cash or Guatemala money, you choose.

The breakfast buffet (included) was fabulous! I brought a few ziplock bags and took a few cookies for later in the day.

The hotel has a business center with computers for a fee or a fee for internet. Some of our group walked to the corner where there was a McDonalds (with an actual McCafe) with free wifi. There are armed guards outside the hotel. The are is safe during the day, but seems a little iffy at night. The front desk staff suggested not to walk around at night.

There are 3 restaurants. The buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice Japenese one for lunch and dinner (did not try) and Strikers, a chain bar, restaurant which we ate at 2 evenings and it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your review will help us to keep our high service standards. We hope to see you very soon in Barceló Guatemala.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The Barcelo has everything you might need located inside it's 2 towers. The neighborhood is a bit scary and located quite close to the airport. We were not adventurous enough to go out at night. The hotel has security posted at each entrance, gate, as well as the elevators. The main hotel tower has the deluxe rooms with upgraded bathrooms, while the back tower has the standard rooms which have very tiny bathrooms with tubs that don't drain well, hairdryers that don't work, and noise from the street if you open your balcony window.
The buffet breakfast is fantastic and has everything to suit a traveler's needs. The Sports Bar serves very reasonable priced meals by American Standards. While you await your meal or drinks, they serve you fresh popped popcorn in a basket. We had dinner and drinks for the 2 of us and it totaled only about $25.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtngran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your review will help us to keep our high service standards. We hope to see you very soon in Barceló Guatemala.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for three nights during mid-April. There's were so many great things about this hotel, good location (it's in the middle of the city), great service from staff, wonderful amenities!

I had purchased the 5 day package from gate1.com, and they definitely had set me up at the right hotel. The room was clean! The bathroom was well stocked with anything you might need (with a bottle of complimentry water each day). My stay came with free breakfast! Barcelo had an extensive buffet selection. They served both hot and cold meals. They even had a lady who made fresh omlets to order. I believe breakfast times were from 7am thru 11am. Here's a little tip, If you are heading out for the day, you can even request that they pack you a boxed lunch to go (just let them know the day before - either dial 0 from your room, or ask for it at the front desk). I had an early flight on my last day, and so I called from my room the night before, and the next day at 4:30am, my lunch was ready (didn't have to buy it at the air port). Lunch consisted of a ham/cheese sandwich, a piece of fruit, bag of chips and a juice box.

There's an exit by the elevators, if you leave from that exit (make a left when you walk outside) there were a couple of convenience stores where you can pick up last minute souveniours (I got coffee for $2 U.S. - the airport sold it for $12 U.S.). The spa services were also very cheap! I got a 50 minute swedish massage for under $40 at the hotel. They also have a pool, a jacuzzi, a gym, a spin room, plus a yoga room. If you are interested I think they also have dance/fitness classes during certain times.

They also have a free shuttle to the airport every hour starting at 4am. The airport is only 10 minutes away (but you never hear anything in your your - very well insulated). All rooms have a balony. My room even had bathrooms for me!

Absolutely no complaints about this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lth1031NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and staff. Its always motivating receive such appreciations from our guest. This will helpfull to us to keep our high service standards. Hope to see you soon in Guatemala.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I recommend this hotel to anyone, the location is close to the airport, but we didn't experience any noise whatsoever. The rooms were cleaned, but the bed a bit hard, the breakfast buffet was included in our package every morning and it was great, they had alot of varieties, including somewhat tipical food. We traveled with our 5 year old, and she enjoyed the pool, as it was clean and the water was heated. The area is secured as it is surrounded by other hotels and we felt very comfortable walking a bit late at night. Guatemala is a country not many visit or know about, and I will highly recommend not just the hotel Barcelo, but visiting Guatemala with the gate1.com promotions and take advantage of the clark tours there in the hotel, as they have the best tour guides ever!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianpena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have been in many hotels in Central America and the Caribbean during the past 13 years for business travel and beleive this hotel is a great place to stay for business or pleasure when in Guatemala City and have reasonable fares and top service compared to any other in the region.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel with the members of Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations regarding our services.
We hope to see you soon at Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

If this place is in your price range it's very nice. Great clean rooms, only complaint is they smell like smoke. I stayed here 2 separate nights (one at the start and one at the end of my trip) and both rooms were beautiful but a bit smoky. I hear the breakfast is fabulous but didn't have time to get it when it was included and didn't want to pay when it wasn't. It's just 2 blocks from the Zona Viva, across a busy street but one with traffic lights so if you're not afraid of walking around in Guatemala City that gives you easy access to great food and nightlife.

Highly recommend Casa Chapina for dinner in Zona Viva. And check out a few clubs if you are there on a weekend night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnzerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
719 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Property: Barcelo Guatemala City
Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing