We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

I recently spend 4 days in Guatemala city (out of a total of 9 in Guatemala) and while I suggest spending only a couple if your on vacation, if you have to stay in Guatemala city it has it's charms and several things to keep you occupied. The Barcelo Hotel was a very good value for the money and is in a safe secure area very close to the main action in Zona 10 just a 5 minute walk away (though you will cross a couple of very busy streets).

The hotel gym and spa was excellent and there are plenty of food options on site. The breakfast buffet was also one of the best I've experienced in Latin America, a real treat.

The rooms were relatively quiet (full disclosure, I live in noisy Manhattan area) with soundproofed windows and no thumping disco music or noisy neighbors while I was there. The staff was friendly and service was good and I had no negative issues at all. All in all a very positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkoutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and share your experience in Barcelo Guatemala, its always motivating to receive such apprecitations from our guests.
This will help us to keep our high service standards.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    531
    123
    45
    34
See reviews for
176
314
132
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

I give this hotel 9 out of 10.

First, the good:
- heavenly beds and linens
- fantastic RainForest-type of shower
- courteous staff
- delicious food
- located in a safe area close to entertainment
- all the toiletries you can possibly think of

The not-so-good:
- they provide shoeshine and floss but no lotion? I thought that was the basics in all the hotels
- if you want a good view, you should request it, otherwise you'll be looking at a tin roof
- every morning when I ordered tea instead of coffee, I got iced tea and was charged extra for it. Of course, the staff was very accommodating and remedied the issue, but it's still annoying.

All in all, good hotel, great value!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel with the members of Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know tha we have meet your expectations regarding services.
We hope to see you soon at Barcelo Guatemala City.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

First, the food in the breakfast buffet (not included in price) was one of the best. Local and traditional breakfast foods. I loved waking up every morning for that. The rooms are very clean and with great water pressure in the showers. The beds are very comfortable with clean sheets.

There are alot of families that stay there so it can be loud at times, especially in the very crowded pool. Walking distance to Zona Viva.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 555Travelbug555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and staff. Its always motivating receive such appreciations from our guests.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

my girlfriend and i spent 4nights here a few weeks back. We originally booked for 2nights, but opted 2stay for an extra 2!
The hotel is pretty luxurious and is pretty much self-contained. It has a great pool and hot-tub, 3 different restaurants, gift shops, travel/tour operators, even a hairdresser and massage service. The buffet breakfast and dinner options were great, but we also tried the sports bar 1 night and that was great too. The staff were very helpful and all spoke perfect english- helpful if your spanish isn't that great.
The location is in zona 9, just on the edge of zona 10, where all the restaurants and nightlife is.
In fact the only problem we found was the cost of internet access from the business centre. Having travelled in canada and the states, just expected a hotel of this standard to have free wifi at least.
However, this is a minor gripe from what was a fantastic stay. We have since recommended it to my girlfriend's father who often travels to guatemala city on business.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howser77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel.
We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can.
If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to come back again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Excellent hotel. Great pool. My wife and I had dinner at the Italian resturant one night. Excellent food and wine at this place. The hotel also has a sports bar with a live band every Thursday nights. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Happy Guest,
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our Barcelo Guatemala City hotel to other travelers.
I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

After spending a week in San Pedro La Laguna on a missions assignment, the wife and I decided to stay at the Barcelo prior to flying out the next day. From the moment we walked in we were greeted by a wonderful and friendly staff. Our check-in was great! Jaqueline helped us out and even found us a room on a higher floor. The hotel itself is second to none. Great decor,wonderful atmosphere, and amenities of a 5 star hotel. The room itself was by far what the doctor ordered! Soft comfortable beds, clean carpet (one of my pet peaves) and a bathroom you feel comfortable using. In addition, the bathroom has all the little personals such as a vanity kit, shaving kit, etc you may need. We were extremely tired so we decided that would eat in one of the restaurants in the hotel. We decided to try the buffet and let me tell you we weren't disappointed. From fresh breads, vegetables, seafood and fresh juices this was by far one of the best meals we had on the trip. I highly recommend the Barcelo. Being a frequent traveler to Central America,in addition to being a Hospitality and Tourism Major ( I work with the Hyatt brand), I know good service when I get it. Thanks Barcelo for capping off the end of a miraculous trip to Guatemala

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank dterry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments. we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope your next stay and just around the corner.
Please call us if there is anything we can help you with.
Best regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

We are residents in Guatemala City and we wanted an out of the usual weekends going out to party. We arrived friday afternoon (holiday) and the Staff was very receptive and highly compliant. We wanted to order pizza for dinner and the reception made all the inquires so we got to eat Domino's at our room. Later at night we went out partying and the parking staff was highly aware and pendant of we coming back so we didn't had problems of the late entrance.

@ Midnight we ordered champagne and strawberrys w/chocolate and the service was incredibly fast. And in the morning, when we needed to attend a graduation, we found in the room all what we needed: iron, shoe polish cloth, sewing kit. We even asked for bath ropes and they were sent right away.

Overall the breakfast was more than a continental one, with many different Guatemala options. And on the checkout we were allowed to do 2 hours late checkout.

This hotel is now my personal recommendation for Guatemala City, for its great staff, installations, comfortable rooms (the biggest bed I've seen for this rate), it's unbeatable location and a very good rate when compared to similar hotels.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mickey_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecommerceBarcelo, e-commerce manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, May 11, 2009
Dear Mickey_GT,

Thank you for your time for writing this review.
We appreciate receiving encouraging feedback from our costumers and will do our very best to meet every expectation.
We are also glad that your inquires were met during your stay and are very thankful for your recomendation through this channel.
Our staff is looking forward welcoming you back to Barceló Guatemala City in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Costumer Service
Barcelo Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#13 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Property: Barcelo Guatemala City
Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Barcelo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing