We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A stayed here a combination of two nights, one at a time. The hotel is very inviting, has multiple restaurants, two gyms, pool, sauna, steam room, and a few bars. Staying here is like a vacation in itself. The price is very reasonable as well. The hotel is located in a business district and has a bunch of other restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are clean and modern. The bathroom is very nice and has a bunch of different bathing products not offered by most hotels. Also don't forget to get the breakfast. One of the best hotel breakfast's I have had!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Gerente at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Jon D,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and for sharing your whole experience in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel, its always motivating to receive such appreciations from our guest. This will help us to keep our high service standards.
We hope to see you really soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have been a Customer for the las four years at Barcelo hotel Guatemala city and Travel all over the world. But Barcelo hotel Guatemala is the best!!
I love to talk to people and ask question about the hotel and the country where i m. As a result, hotel Barcelo, becomes to be my favority. Never heard any or seen a costumer unsastify. In addition, the security is friendly and very polite. The hotel has two restaurants with very excelent Manu plus a hiuch sport bar with fantastic atmósfera.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Messi614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Gerente at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Messi614,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.
We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife and I spent five nights in this hotel, located close to the airport, in a new area of Guatemala City. The room, facing the pool, was spacious, very clean and quiet both night and day. Windows and balcony door are soundproof, once closed you will never hear a thing. Staff is very polite and helpful. We booked our excursions weeks ahead from the hotel's travel agency. Prices are very good and most of the tours are private. Thank you very much Karina Coj from Vacaciones Barcelo for being so nice and helpful. We took three tours: Antigua/Guatemala City, Tikal and Lago Atitlan. Please, ask for Jose Ruiz, the guide. He is one of the best and you will have a great time.
Guatemala is a very beautiful country with very nice people. If you like Latin America, Guatemala it's a must!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Gerente at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel with the members of TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations regarding our services.
We hope to see you soon at Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Hotel Barcelo, Guatemala City, is well suited for American travelers. A little bit of elegance and a lot of charm! Nice rooms, good food and attractive lobby, make this hotel, which is gated, a perfect place to stay in GC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xnyrnkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Gerente at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing the experience of staying at Barceló Guatemala City. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations regarding our services.
We hope to see you soon at Guatemala City.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

What can I say about Barceló other than they set the standards for all other hotels to follow. I chose the Barceló in Guatemala City due to the fact that I am a member of the hotel chain, and they have again proven to me why they are one of the leading hotel chains around the world. I checked in already knowing the room type I wanted (smoking with a balcony).
The Barceló bus was there waiting for me at the airport.
My room was to initially be on the 9th floor but due to the fact the rooms was not ready the front office asked me if I wanted to look at a room on the 6th floor.
I did and stepped out on the balcony to see the hustle and bustle of the city street below and the mountains in the distance. Needless to say I chose the room and was entirely satisfied.
For those who complained about the traffic/noise I find it hard to believe especially since I'm I light sleeper.
I had to catch a chicken bus early the next day so I never did get to try the breakfast buffet.
As an added note, there are plenty of restaurants in the area (walking distance wise such as McDonalds, KFC, Pizza Hut if you are into that)
Everyone at the hotel from the concierge, to front line staff made my stay enjoyable for the night I was there.
Thanks again Barceló.
Jeff

Room Tip: I preferred a smoking room with a balcony overlooking the main thorough fair rather than the back si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortWorthJeffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Gerente at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Jeff,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service, location and staff. Its always motivating receive such appreciations from our guest. This will help us to keep our high service standards. Hope to see you soon in Guatemala.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Arrived late evening as part of a small organised group tour. A large city centre hotel which had a well laid out reception and the staff were quick to check us all in. Our room was well laid out, clean, well equipped, great beds and a very good bathroom with lots of those little extras you need when you haven't time to unpack properly. Check out was also efficient and they helped to repair a broken suitcase. Only 8 hours so obviously not a comprehensive insight but I was impressed. We only had the 'packed breakfast' which was average so cannot really comment on the real thing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Gerente at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.
We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City Hotel in a longer stay to enjoy all the hotel services.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My Fiancé and I had the please of staying at the Barceló Guatemala City in January and March of 2014. From the moment we arrived it was clear to us that we were going to be taken care of like kings. The staff was always helpful, even when not asked. They could sense a need for help and jumped right in. Nothing we asked for ever left us feeling like we were putting anyone out, actually we always felt like they were patiently waiting for us to make a request. We enjoyed the dinner and breakfast buffet and we overwhelmed with the selection and quality of the food. Staff constantly cleaning the buffet area making for some great meals. Being from Orlando Florida, were we to find a similar hotel and staff, the cost would be at least $250-$300 a night. Our weekend stay in March with meals did not cost $250. And we had a great room with balcony overlooking the pool. Definitely the place to stay and we will again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcjd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Gerente at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and for sharing your experience in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel, its always motivating to receive such appreciations from our guest. This will help us to keep our high service standards.
We hope to see you really soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
453 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 49 in Guatemala City
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $90 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing