We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Hotel is a short distance from the airport and a few blocks from the Zona Viva. The hotel is large with 400 rooms, a business center, shops and conference rooms. The hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport. The rooms are nice but a little dated. The beds and shower were fine. The room was quiet even with planes coming into the airport. The breakfast was very good. WiFi costs about $10 a day. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This suited us perfectly for a night's stay after arriving on a long flight from Europe. Good service, choice of three restaurants, pool open until evening (lovely!), and a free shuttle back to the airport in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura-D-Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Barcelo Guatemala City at the end of our 15 day trip to Guatemala. The room was very confortable and we enjoyed the heated pool and jaccuzi very much. The airport is very close and the hotel offers convenient free shuttles.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrduguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and share your experience in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel, its always motivating to receive such appreciations from our guests. This will help us to keep our high service standards.

We hope to see you really soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I stay in Guatemala City frequently for work purposes. Just returned from 3 night stay at the Barcelo. Room was clean. Bed was very firm and we woke up every morning with stiff neck. Restaurant staff was ok, not what I've experienced at other Guatemala City hotels. Probably will never stay here again yet stay at my preferred properties.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo twice in November as we were flying into and out of Guatemala City. I found an excellent price for the hotel by pre-paying on Hotels.com.

I emailed the hotel before departing to arrange a free airport shuttle pickup. Our plane arrived later than expected and when we came out of the International arrivals, there was no shuttle there to pick us up. I called the hotel and they said another shuttle would be there soon, which it was. The shuttle was clearly labeled Barcelo and we were promptly taken to the hotel for check-in. Even though it was close to 11 pm, there were lots of people checking into the hotel.

The front desk staff was very helpful and spoke very good English. Check-in was simple and I was able to exchange some US dollars for Quetzales, at a higher than normal exchange rate, but the convenience factor made it worth it to me. The hotel also has two ATM machines in the lobby for those who want to obtain Quetzales that way.

Our room was very clean and open. The bed was very comfortable. The room had a nice view of the city and we were pleased that a complementary bottle of water was also included.

There hotel has a Sports Bar, which was ok. The food was normal bar food (burgers, salad, fish, etc.). Service at the restaurant was a bit slow, as our entire meal took a little over an hour. A band was playing, which was quite loud, so it was difficult to talk across to others at the table at times.

There is also a Japanese restaurant on property, but we did not eat there. I looked at the menu and prices seemed a bit high, but not too far out of whack considering this is a 5 star hotel. For the value conscious diner, there is a McDonalds, Pizza Hut and KFC half a block away from the hotel.

The hotel is guarded and I never felt insecure while on property. Walking to nearby restaurants (MCDonalds and Yi Hou) during the day time was no problem either. Not sure about walking around at night though.

All in all, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 3rd floor on one visit and another on time on the 6th floor. Both rooms were quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveW_in_Cow_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Found this place on Trip Advisor for my business visit when other places with more international brand names were full. Boy was I blown away. The property is not too far from the airport which was a pleasant surprise especially when you did not hear the noise of the jets. The check in was very efficient and friendly with hardly a wait. The staff were all very friendly and extremely disposed to assisting in whatever way they could. The room was very nice and in fact bigger than what I expected given the price I paid which included breakfast. In fact, kudos to the chain for starting breakfast at 5:00 am (continental style between 5:00-6:00 am and buffet from 6:00 - 11:00 am). Not many hotels start breakfast even at 6:00am. The hotel is well situated with a number of external eating places nearby if you decide to go out. Despite the presence of more well known hotel brands in Guatemala City, the Barcelo will be my preferred choice on my next visit. This is definitely 4.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knobbiett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good five star hotel: efficiant check-in and check-out, room is well equiped and in a very good condition, breakfast is very nice. There are also many restaurants within a five minutes walk if you prefer to go out.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank bldavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and share your experience in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel, its always motivating to receive such appreciations from our guests. This will help us to keep our high service standards.

We hope to see you really soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
455 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 49 in Guatemala City
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $90 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing