We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel gym ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best hotel gym ever!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Barceló Guatemala City holds the best hotel gym I have ever seen. It has a complete set of aerobics and weightlifting apparel. They are brand new and working in perfect condition. Also, the hotel is conveniently located in an accessible zone and next to restaurants, if you do not feel like eating inside. Great value on the cost/benefit side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmami2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    580
    143
    49
    37
See reviews for
209
343
146
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antlers, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient being close to the airport. In hotel restaurant serves up a great meal. Gave it a 4 instead of 5 due to the beds could have been more comfortable plus had an issue connecting to the wifi. I would definitely recommend and/or return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbattsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Maybe a bit dated and ugly from the outside but with a nice pool, well appointed rooms, parking and free airport shuttle + great breakfast within walking distance from all of Zone 9 and 10. Generic large hotel experience done well.

Room Tip: The West tower is older and rooms are smaller with less amenities (but still pretty good) but has su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and staff. Its always motivating receive such appreciations from our guest. This will helpfull to us to keep our high service standards. Hope to see you soon in Guatemala.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel, I stayed here for a week for work. Hadn't stayed in a Barceló hotel before, and the rooms were very comfortable, spacious, and luxurious-feeling, good wifi connection for work. There were thoughtful little touches that made a very nice difference (who can resist welcome treats and fruits in the room?). Very nice and helpful service. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.

We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently I toured Guatemala with three different stays at the Guatemala City Barcelo so I had an opportunity to experience the facilties on three different times (weekend, end-week and mid-week). All three stays were excellent and I would most definitately return and recommend this Barcelo. The front desk was exceptionally friendy and helpful. The sports bar, and two other restaruants had a wide selection with reasonable prices. The business center was courteous and very helpful in arranging for private taxi with English speaking driver to see the city since my tour company did not have that included. Likewise, having an American Airlines facilty in the hotel made it extremely simple to check in upon departure and obtain boarding passes. The loaction on La Reforma Ave in Zone 9 made access to the city very easy and simple. Likewise, I like to walk and experience the local environment, I had no issues with security concerns when walking along La Reforma Ave and 7th Avenue even during early evening. The location was a block from a supermarket, cafes, and entertainment. An excellent deal for the price and what a guest receives.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent - I was on 3rd floor, then 4th floor and last 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gladbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.

We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights recently and absolutely loved the Hotel. The atmosphere and ambience were grand. The food bar was excellent weather for Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner. The only drawback was the King size beds that were quite firm. The location was very central to downtown. The rates were average/reasonable. We would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a softer bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.

We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, a safe in all rooms, and nice pool . The dinner and breakfast buffet were very good the sports bar food was so so. Located close to the airport.
Guatemala City is a beautiful clean safe place. All of the neighborhoods in the city compete for recognition of cleanliness and upkeep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.

We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,056 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 49 in Guatemala City
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 49 in Guatemala City
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Property: Barcelo Guatemala City
Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing