We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Front desk service was just OK. Internet is $10/day extra and front desk was not helpful getting password to use it. Rooms are great, Restaurant staff is great. and it is only 5 - 10 minutes from airport. We stayed one night on our own and three nights with a bus tour group.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel was nice, although I've stayed in other Barcelo hotels that offered higher quality of amenities. The room was small and the bathroom was extremely small. The shower door opened from the inside and it didn't have a good seal so the water leaked and the floor was soaked after 5 min. You have to turn the shower head to the wall, get in the shower then start the water.. doesn't sound complicated until you are in the position to take a shower. The food was average, nothing offered of the local cultural. Internet was not free. But it was in the city and I did feel safe. The staff were very professional and appeared to enjoy their job.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamieko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here on two different occasions on a recent trip to Guatemala City. The first stay we had a room on the 5th floor. The room was not near the elevator and was a much nicer room than the room we stayed in on our last day in Guatemala. Also, the first room had a little more space in it than the second room. During the second stay our room was right next to the elevator which was bad. We were on a lower floor during the second stay. It was a noisy stay and to top that the the people in the room right across the hall from ours were having a loud party. Men kept going in and out of the door and yelling in the hallway and the door was slamming shut. I called the front desk and reported the noise to them. They did send a security person up to our area and the noise level seemed to improve. I do believe that security spoke to persons in the room and then waited for a short time out in the hallway to listen in an attempt to see if the noise ceased. For their efforts the hotel is commended in responding so quickly to my complaint.
Rooms were clean and well appointed. Bathrooms are small. Towels, etc were good. Amenities were also good. Bathrooms were clean. The hair dryer in the second room in which we stayed did not work. When I called front desk to report this they immediately sent up a portable hair dryer for me to use. Lobby and dining room were well kept and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Our second stay in the Barcelo was only for one night.

Room Tip: Suggest getting a room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aug30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My last visit to Guatemala was 5 years ago, and back in that time I stayed at the Holiday Inn Guatemala, which was a good choice.

I decided to visit some customers and took a 2 days trip to have some meetings over Guatemala City and wanted to try a different hotel.

I checked options and I finally decided to take Barceló GUatemala, why?. Because 3 main points:

1. Free transfer to/from airport.
2. Rate that includeds premium room and full buffet breakfast.
3. Infraestructure and location

I booked my stay directly through the hotel reservation office doing reference to TA rate ($95.00 USD + tax) that included premium accomodation and free buffet breakfast daily. I got my a friendly replay confirming my booking. I also gave my flight details to make sure I got transportation when arriving to Guatemala's Airport.

A nice Shuttle was waiting for all Barceló guests and after waiting just a coupple of minutes we were conducted to the hotel. When I arrived to the hotel, check in was fast and accurate. I felt really secure in the area and hotel security itself was very good as well.

Hotel infraesctructure is very well preserved and eventhough it is not a new hotel, everything was spotless clean and very nice. I did not know that this hotel used to be the Marriot Guatemala a few years back, but with Barcelo management was perfectly suitable for my needs.

I got a very nice corner room, with all amenities that a hotel of this level offers. Room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was very nice as well, bright, clean and fresh. Bed was heaven!. I slept like an angel really.

Breakfast buffet is really complete and you may also have it at the pool area. There is a handcraft and souvenir shop within the hotel which I found very useful for some gifts to my family. In general, lobby, reception, bar and all common hotel areas are very nice and spacious. There was an event at the convention center attached to the hotel, but there was enough space for all of us.

Me and other colegues walked to the Hard Rock cafe at night around 8 blocks away and eventhough later we were told it was not such a good idea, I never felt unsecure. There are a Mcdonalds and a Pizza Hut just around the corner. I tried the Sushi restaurant inside the hotel and I liked a lot, very nice food presentation and tasty japannese food.

Only downside of the hotel would be that the charge for Internet WIFI connection, and it is more the botter that you have to pay it extra that the cost itself (it was around $10 USD per day).

I was very happy to have chosen this hotel for my stay and I will take it again for my next visit and of course... I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!.

Von voyage!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davicho77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.
We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Barcelo, Guatemala City and enjoyed it very much. The food was really good and the service excellent with a very friendly and attentive staff.
We definitely qould stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iprabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Great property. It's very clean. The staff is extremely helpful and all speak English. You feel very safe. All the entrances are guarded. The pool area is lovely. Our stay included breakfast and let me say the buffet was OUTSTANDING. Great way to start the day. On the down side, the restaurants choices are not great (sports bar, Japanese restaurant, buffet which, while great for breakfast, wasn't as good for dinner) and the decor is a bit dated. However, these issues were more than compensated for by the great staff, comfortable beds and luxury amenities (bath robes, too). The rooms have roomy terraces with a clothes drying rack (always appreciated!). We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pool as it's a bit quieter; however, we had a room facing the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I spent a night here before a flight and was very happy with my stay. The rooms were large, they were clean, and they had a good offering of toiletries to forgetful travelers. The elegantly decorated lobby offered several options for dining and drinks as well as friendly, staff. Room delivered breakfast, which I selected the night before and hung on the door for collection (past the 1AM deadline I might add), showed up when I had requested, it was inexpensive, and most importantly, it was delicious. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle to the airport which was timely and convenient. My stay was brief and as a result, I didn't get to sample all the hotel had to offer, however I would give this hotel my highest recommendation to travelers looking for a comfortable stay in Guatemala City.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your review will help us to keep our high service standards. We hope to see you very soon in Barceló Guatemala.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
462 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#9 of 49 in Guatemala City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing