We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good starting point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A good starting point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo at the start and end of our tour of Guatemala. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Most staff friendly and helpful. Food was so so, Final dinner actually quite poor, fish severely over cooked. No free internet was a bone of contention considering we had free wifi everywhere else we went in Guatemala. Staff say they get many complaints a day, but management intransigent to changing times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightening996327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    530
    123
    45
    34
See reviews for
176
314
132
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Barcelo is all that I would expect at a business-class hotel, courteous and efficient staff and modern, comfortable facilities in a safe area. I was on a tour and ate at 4 hotels in Guatemala and Barcelo had by far the best variety of food at their buffet—especially liked the egg white omlettes made to order. The pool area is very pleasant and was not at all crowded, whirlpool and pool had good temperatures. One evening there was a very good jazz trio playing in the lounge area. The airport shuttle leaves the hotel promptly at the designated time. The hotel was very lively with various events taking place such as a wedding and a graduation party.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seek-scenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and staff. Its always motivating receive such appreciations from our guest. This will helpfull to us to keep our high service standards. Hope to see you soon in Guatemala.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here on three separate occasions in October and November 2012 for a bit of luxury after a long international flight from Europe, a serious hike-a-thon in the Western Guatemalan Highlands and a sweat-dripping trip to the awesome Tikal!

What impressed me was:

- great sized beds/rooms for crashing out in and sorting out your smelly hiking gear
- a decent ( and decent-sized) swimming pool with whirlpool for exercise and chillaxing
- top staff ready to help and even have a bit of banter with
- excellent breakfast where the guacamole rocked my little world to bits
- safety, I never had to look over my back once
- proximity to the airport. The transfer was easy-peasy!

This really was an OASIS for me and I wouldn't hesitate to book in again if I am ever in this part of the globe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunichLozz-e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manger at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just another superior class hotel, the service from its staff though makes it unique. Good and safe location and if you take tours of the city no need to worry about the City's safety. The front desk staff members will do anything to assist you. Service worth its price!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you specify you want smoking or not smoking rooms, was not aware that they still offer thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.

We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I got food poisoing there. Stay was only mediocre until then, room was clean but dingy. Felt very safe though, which I undertand is a priority in G.C. I stayed there though Gate 1 tours which luckily refunded some of my money.

Room Tip: The included breakfast is no value, and stay away from the hotel restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,

In Barcelo Guatemala City hotel we make a great effort to fullfil our customers expectations. We are very sorry that during your stay you have suffered some shortcomings.

Your review will help us to improve our service standards.

We hope to see you at our hotel again so we can offer our quality services beyond
your expectations.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

October 2012, This was my second time to this hotel, both times after exhausting medical missions in small rural villages in the mountains of Guatemala. The first visit 2 years ago was very unexpected - our plane had mechanical problems, so the airline put us up at this hotel. After spending almost 2 weeks in very rough accommodations, and sharing rooms with 3 to 5 people per room - the Barcelo was HEAVEN!! We arrived at 8am and found out that we EACH had our OWN rooms for the next 24 hours!!!

The rooms and hotel are GORGEOUS (and not just 3rd world gorgeous - gorgeous on any continent!). This second trip was an overnight stay before catching our flight home, and was something I was really looking forward to! Rates were very reasonable, the food at this hotel was fabulous! After 2 weeks of local Guatemalan food up in the mountains (and most of it very good!), it was still wonderful to dig in to some excellent North American 'home' cooking :-)

The pool is beautiful, and they even have 'fruity' vacation drinks served pool side. The ONLY complaint I would make is that during both visits it took an hour or longer to get the drink at pool side. Every other area of this hotel had EXCELLENT service!! After 2 weeks of 3rd world living, and struggling with my very poor Spanish - it was nice to have service in English, and feel like a 'Queen-for-a-day'! I'm definitely NOT complaining about ANY part of my trip to Guatemala - the medical missions were SO rewarding for me, that I feel terrible even making any negative comments in this review......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and staff. Its always motivating receive such appreciations from our guest. This will helpfull to us to keep our high service standards. Hope to see you soon in Guatemala.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Barcelo in Guatemala City the week before Christmas in 2012. My tour was organized by Gate 1 Tours, who used a local agency, Clark Tours. The hotel is only 10-15 minutes from the airport and in a quiet neighborhood. I was not expecting a 4 star quality because of the price of the tour, and was pleasantly surprised when I checked in. I was given a large corner room with double balconies and huge sliding glass doors on the 8th floor, with views of the volcanoes and a king size bed. A big buffet breakfast was included as well. The staff speaks English and was very helpful. My only complaint is that there was no free WiFi, as this is now standard at many hotels. The hotel was probably fairly quiet because of the time of year I was there, but it far exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room high up if it is available. The room feels bigger and views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#13 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Property: Barcelo Guatemala City
Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing