We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great option close to the airport”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Rooms are a little dated but staff is kind and responsive, the pool area is really impressive and the breakfast buffet is surprisingly good with LOADS of options. Someone from the hotel was waiting for us at the airport and transportation to the hotel went smoothly. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    581
    143
    49
    37
See reviews for
210
343
146
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

There were some things that drove me nuts about this hotel, and others that were great. Not good: 3 rooms in a row had problems with the lock on the sliding glass door onto the patio. The bath/shower is configured such that you have to be IN the bath to turn on the water, but the hot water is scalding hot, so I seriously scalded my feet trying to turn on the water for a bath. The good: beautiful lobby with lovely holiday decorations, fabulous full breakfast buffet with lots of tropical fruits. Also I left something in my room when I checked out, and they found it and got it to a friend who was still there. It is close to the airport so that is a plus too. However I had concerns about security with the unlocked door, and I was limping from scalded feet. They could easily turn down the temperature of the hot water to a safe level, given the poorly designed shower/bath configuration. I am afraid a child is going to be seriously injured.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the tall tower facing the volcano. The corner room has 2 balconies - 2 sets of windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuanaRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
In Barcelo Guatemala City hotel we make a great effort to fullfil our customers expectations. We are very sorry that during your stay you have suffered some shortcomings.
Your review will help us to improve our service standards.
We hope to see you at our hotel again so we can offer our quality services beyond your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel has gone severely down hill since it was the Marriott. I walked off the elevator and it was so overly perfumed that I choked. It was just as bad in my room and they now have bedbugs. Got bitten during the night and had to change rooms. Disgusting! Do not stay here!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank camox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,



Thank you for choosing our Barceló Guatemala City during your stay in Guatemala.

Please accept our most sincere apologies regarding the incident which occurred during your stay with us, it does not at all reflect our standards of quality and hygiene.


We have taken preventive actions in order to avoid this and thank you in advance for giving us a chance of attending you again.

Barceló Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Second time in this hotel, the only complaint I have is about the internet service, sometimes goes slow or poor signal. Hotel is located in zone 9 and near to the most of places to go in the city. The bathroom still has some old style bathtube and the height of the shower is quite low.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HbiscusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We hope to see you very soon in Barceló Guatemala.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our medical team of volunteers stayed at this location and we were very pleased with all the amenities provided. The hotel is walking distance to a pharmacy, several gift shops, restaurants and even McDonalds. The complimentary Wi-Fi and breakfast buffet was a plus and because we had over 25 in our party, the hotel gave us an incredible rate. The staff is friendly and accommodating and took care of all needs. We will definitely stay at this location for our next visit to Guatemala.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherryl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

First u need to pay $10 american dollars for internet for 24 hours use (no free wifi), there is a charge for business center, the restaurants are expensive $18 dollars for a buffet, $10 dollars a coktail, and the restaurant services is not good at all and the food is little old and not tasty, next time i will try another hotel in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titi110580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
In Barcelo Guatemala City hotel we make a great effort to fullfil our customers expectations. We are very sorry that during your stay you have suffered some shortcomings.
Your review will help us to improve our service standards.
We hope to see you at our hotel again so we can offer our quality services beyond your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVergne, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Transportation to the airport is complimentary with the reservation and it’s only about 5 minutes ride to it. The staff is very professional, friendly and willing to accommodate you. Fred was on duty when we checked-in and requested a room with the view of the volcano and he went out of his way to comply. This was great because atop our balcony, we enjoyed looking over all the city lights while having a drink and feeling the cool breeze while watching the volcano‘s activity early in the morning. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern in décor. The complimentary breakfast is exquisite, providing an extensive variety of local Guatemalan dishes as well as all the classic breakfast trimmings. I was complementing the chef on this meal and he said, wait until you taste the lunch menu. Unfortunately we were not there at lunch time but judging by the breakfast selection, I’m sure it’s very good. Spa and swimming pool are available as well as a few shops to browse and purchase last minute souvenirs or necessities. The display of an “alfombra”, a multicolored saw-dust stencil-like artistic rug creation such as are found all over the city’s streets during Holy week festivities, gives it an authentic and unique cultural feeling to the decorations of the building.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the west have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glorialaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and staff. Its always motivating receive such appreciations from our guest. This will helpfull to us to keep our high service standards. Hope to see you soon in Guatemala.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,056 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 49 in Guatemala City
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 49 in Guatemala City
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Property: Barcelo Guatemala City
Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing