We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Home Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have reviewed this hotel before, but since the property has done some upgrades and changes, I felt it was worthy another review. We stayed on the 8th floor with an excellent view of the sunset. There was an air conditioning problem in our room, but the lobby manager Giovanni immediately put us in another room without delay. The property was working on the public areas this stay, and the nice touches are leaving this hotel glowing and refreshed. The new convenience store at lobby level is a major improvement and modern. I have learned that at this property it is good to have a reservation number at check in. If you make future reservations at the lobby, please make sure a confirmation number is provided to avoid future check in confusion. Upon departure I had an issue with my bill. It was a complicated computer error of sorts, but superhero Kendy was called to correct the issue for us immediately. I would recommend to the hotel having a customer loyalty program associated with airline mileage to really boost their occupancy and RevPAR. A special thanks this visit to Giovanni and Kendy for going above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. I welcome anyone to contact me if they want more details on this wonderful property. As I have mentioned this is my home base in Guatemala City.

Room Tip: Have reservation numbers available for any room reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, they always help us improve our service. To offer always comfort and the highest standards of service. Our primary goal is to serve you with the best quality and the best price.

For any further information or service needed, please do not doubt in contacting us, you can also do it in our website.

Best Regards and we hope you come back soon, to Grand Tikal Futura, your second home.

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    150
    42
    18
    16
See reviews for
80
102
43
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We arrived for a one night stay and were very impressed with this hotel. Massive swimming pool and multiple hot tubs, great food and drinks.

If you are staying in Guatemala City I would highly recommend this be on your list. Oh, and it's connected to a large shopping mall!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sufusimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, it helps us to always offer the best service with the highest quality standards. We hope you stay with us during your next visit to Guatemala. ¡We are willing to serve you!

Any comments or further information, please do not doubt contacting us in our website.

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had a good experience at tikal I know for sure This is the place I want to stay every time I go to guatemala, I will be back to guatemala soon and I will make sure I stay here again. Thank you again for the service and I will be back soon

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, it helps us to always offer the best service with the highest quality standards. We hope you stay with us during your next visit to Guatemala. ¡We are willing to serve you!

Any comments or further information, please do not doubt contacting us in our website.

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

It is a great hotel from the room, breakfast, facility, friendly and helpful of people. You get more than what you paid. It is a highly recomended hotel in Guatemala. With that, i enjoy my trip overthere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shya2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, it helps us to always offer the best service with the highest quality standards. We hope you stay with us during your next visit to Guatemala. ¡We are willing to serve you!

Any comments or further information, please do not doubt contacting us in our website.

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san pedro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Got there and my reservations was for the following day but they were able to accommodate us. The service that night was good. The following day no so great we had to stand there for more than 30 minutes waiting to check out and get our cash deposit back, then they tell me they can't return the deposit to me In U.S currency which is what I have them I had to go into the shopping center twice and go back to the lobby and they finally gave me some bills that I couldn't get exchanged at any bank because they were torn. The people were just standing doing nothing at the front desk but wouldn't help us. Since all if this was happening they told me that I could leave me bags in the outdated stinky room it smelled like a motel. Very outdated as well. When we went back to finally get our bags to leave the key cards did not work so we had to back downstairs wait another 15 minutes to get key cards and then go back up when we when'd down they wanted to then charge is extra because we were late to check out which was absurd because it was their fault for having me go back and forth trying to get my money exchanged. Overall it's a good place because it's inside the shopping center but for pictures and the praise that it gets it isn't all it's praised to be. I would expect great customer service and great rooms but got neither.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eternallybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, it helps us to always offer the best service with the highest quality standards.

Hotel has been in remodelation process throughout this year, please come and check out the new experience in our rooms and customer service. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Any comments or further information, please do not doubt contacting us in our website. We hope you stay with us during your next visit to Guatemala. ¡We are willing to serve you!

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

After Sevilla, Spain, Antigua Guatemala Major Week is a very spiritual attraction for christian. The country, if you fallow your guide advised is very safe. We use Maya Sky they are very professional and flexible in other trips that you want to plan. The download almost everything closed from Thursday to Monday including most major stores. Trip to Copan(Honduras-8 hrs round trip) and Tikal are obligatory stops. If you plan to visit Tikal start your visit there expend full day in the ruins and rest at Flores then take a Bus up to Guatemala and Antigua Guatemala. lots of site to view. AVOID nite traveling 85% of the country is on mountain area with steep hills. Also visit Pacaya Volcano on hourse ride. Some people has comment that the country people charge for everything and anything but were visiting a country were people usually work 12 hrs day to earn aprox. 300-400 USA monthly! Of course you have to be vigilante to local that can overcharge you but that can occur in any country, same as robberies and violence to does tourist that take their risk. The roads in the country side are small and some time dirty and hazy since people tend to burn their garbage.
The hotel is very well localized in a mid-low income shopping center having near by Pizza Hut, Burger King and a Walmart if you can live without them. Check your room first before accepting it since some room the bathroom are small for tall or obese people. the buffet breakfast is excellent and the Hotel has a small Gym and pool.Go to 10th floor to take a full city pictures. Near by is a steak rest name La Parrillada with excellent service and meats. Don't go to La Estancia across the avenue since the service and food was below La Parrillada. Both are at walking distance. Also side bi side the Hotel is Miraflores Shopping Ctr mid income center. In all major stores you will see very good security but I said you always has to be on guard (avoid confrontation, and carry what $ money you will use for the day trip).

Room Tip: TOP. But check it before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guavatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, it helps us to always offer the best service with the highest quality standards. We hope you stay with us during your next visit to Guatemala. ¡We are willing to serve you!

Any comments or further information, please do not doubt contacting us in our website.

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here before...improved, but still not great. The property itself is beautiful and clean but customer service still needs to be polished up. Check in was courteous with personnel that speak decent English. As far as the bell staff, maids, and security staff, all give cold stares and never offer a smile or a greeting. The same can be said of the staff in the Spa: going through the motions but never trying to go above and beyond. I can say that the massages are great and priced very reasonably.

Room a bid worn but clean. Everything was in working order although an American sized ironing board would be a plus.

My biggest gripe would be the pool. The hours are limited with it closing at 9:00PM. Making matters worse is that the hotel CONTINUES to allow water aerobics classes to the local plus-sized population toward the end of the day. The male instructor deems it necessary to take up the entire pool and gives dirty looks when outsiders try to slip in and enjoy the pool for which they too have paid. The patrons of said class also flash dirty looks like you're interfering with their routinue.

Mixed bag....if you don't really belong in Zone 11, consider the many comparable hotels in the Zona Viva or Antigua.

Room Tip: A room facing Roosevelt is better in all aspects but does cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, it helps us to always offer the best service with the highest quality standards. We hope you stay with us during your next visit to Guatemala. ¡We are willing to serve you!

Any comments or further information, please do not doubt contacting us in our website.

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
3.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#16 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Property: Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Address: Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#8 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tikal Futura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura cuenta con 205 elegantes habitaciones, decoradas con exquisito buen gusto, brindando un sofisticado confort y la garantia del mejor descanso. Su portafolio lo componen 138 Habitaciones Deluxe, 38 Habitaciones Royal Floor, 14 Suites Ejecutivas, 12 Master Suites, 2 Suites Diplomaticas y 1 Suite Presidencial. Para satisfacer las necesidades del viajero de negocios, el Hotel Grand Tikal Futura ofrece en sus remodeladas habitaciones todas las innovaciones, facilidades y servicios que pueda requerir, entre otros, internet inalambrico de 6 Mb de velocidad y router individual en cada habitacion, disponible ademas en cualquier area del hotel, dos (2) unidades de telefono con doble linea telefonica, plancha y planchador, amplia cajilla electronica de seguridad con lector de aperturas, una variada seleccion de productos de alta calidad para el bano, suaves y exquisitas toallas extra largas de algodon con mayor absorcion, espejo de bano con aumento especial e iluminacion ideal para el maquillaje o el afeitado, sabanas, duvets de algodon y variado menu de almohadas, radio - reloj despertador, TV con pantalla de alta definicion LED de 32 pulgadas y mas de 80 canales de television por cable, acceso a un puerto de multiples conexiones –jack pack- que facilitara la conectividad de cualquier equipo electronico. El Hotel Grand Tikal Futura forma parte del impresionante Complejo Tikal Futura, integrado por varios componentes, entre ellos, dos torres de oficinas corporativas de veinte niveles cada una, centro comercial con mas de 170 variados locales comerciales, food court con mas de 30 opciones de restaurantes de comida rapida; “CINEFLICK” compuesto por cinco (5) salas de cine con tecnologia digital y proyeccion 3D, Teatro “Las Mascaras”, escenario ideal para obras de todo genero. Otro componente importante que conforma el Complejo Tikal Futura es el Centro de Convenciones y de Exposiciones, el recinto ferial mas grande de Centroamerica, con capacidad para albergar simultaneamente hasta 7,400 personas. Adicionalmente contamos con un portafolio de 15 salones -de variados tamanos- especiales para celebrar todo tipo de reuniones, convenciones, conferencias y celebraciones especiales. Igualmente, tres (3) salas de auditorios para realzar eventos de caracter corporativos y culturales. Para la comodidad y seguridad de nuestros visitantes, el Complejo Tikal Futura ofrece 3 sotanos de estacionamientos con capacidad para 1,500 vehiculos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Tikal Futura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura
Grand Tikal Futura Guatemala City
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing