We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major Week in Guatemala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
cayey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Major Week in Guatemala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

After Sevilla, Spain, Antigua Guatemala Major Week is a very spiritual attraction for christian. The country, if you fallow your guide advised is very safe. We use Maya Sky they are very professional and flexible in other trips that you want to plan. The download almost everything closed from Thursday to Monday including most major stores. Trip to Copan(Honduras-8 hrs round trip) and Tikal are obligatory stops. If you plan to visit Tikal start your visit there expend full day in the ruins and rest at Flores then take a Bus up to Guatemala and Antigua Guatemala. lots of site to view. AVOID nite traveling 85% of the country is on mountain area with steep hills. Also visit Pacaya Volcano on hourse ride. Some people has comment that the country people charge for everything and anything but were visiting a country were people usually work 12 hrs day to earn aprox. 300-400 USA monthly! Of course you have to be vigilante to local that can overcharge you but that can occur in any country, same as robberies and violence to does tourist that take their risk. The roads in the country side are small and some time dirty and hazy since people tend to burn their garbage.
The hotel is very well localized in a mid-low income shopping center having near by Pizza Hut, Burger King and a Walmart if you can live without them. Check your room first before accepting it since some room the bathroom are small for tall or obese people. the buffet breakfast is excellent and the Hotel has a small Gym and pool.Go to 10th floor to take a full city pictures. Near by is a steak rest name La Parrillada with excellent service and meats. Don't go to La Estancia across the avenue since the service and food was below La Parrillada. Both are at walking distance. Also side bi side the Hotel is Miraflores Shopping Ctr mid income center. In all major stores you will see very good security but I said you always has to be on guard (avoid confrontation, and carry what $ money you will use for the day trip).

Room Tip: TOP. But check it before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guavatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, it helps us to always offer the best service with the highest quality standards. We hope you stay with us during your next visit to Guatemala. ¡We are willing to serve you!

Any comments or further information, please do not doubt contacting us in our website.

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    150
    42
    18
    16
See reviews for
80
102
43
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here before...improved, but still not great. The property itself is beautiful and clean but customer service still needs to be polished up. Check in was courteous with personnel that speak decent English. As far as the bell staff, maids, and security staff, all give cold stares and never offer a smile or a greeting. The same can be said of the staff in the Spa: going through the motions but never trying to go above and beyond. I can say that the massages are great and priced very reasonably.

Room a bid worn but clean. Everything was in working order although an American sized ironing board would be a plus.

My biggest gripe would be the pool. The hours are limited with it closing at 9:00PM. Making matters worse is that the hotel CONTINUES to allow water aerobics classes to the local plus-sized population toward the end of the day. The male instructor deems it necessary to take up the entire pool and gives dirty looks when outsiders try to slip in and enjoy the pool for which they too have paid. The patrons of said class also flash dirty looks like you're interfering with their routinue.

Mixed bag....if you don't really belong in Zone 11, consider the many comparable hotels in the Zona Viva or Antigua.

Room Tip: A room facing Roosevelt is better in all aspects but does cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, it helps us to always offer the best service with the highest quality standards. We hope you stay with us during your next visit to Guatemala. ¡We are willing to serve you!

Any comments or further information, please do not doubt contacting us in our website.

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Not being able to get in the Westin El Camino ReAl, I opted for the Grand Tikal Futura located about 30 away if in morning traffic. Take into account rush hour traffic when going to the airport.

The room are comfortable and large enough that you will not feel claustrophobic.

The breakfast buffet was more than adequate, but not impressive.

My only point of contention was that while they advertised Wifi in the room, the signal was too weak to be useful. I was only able to get internet access in the lobby. The leather chairs there are greAt.

Conveniently located next to the Miraflores shopping mall which in itself is nothing to really write home about.

All in all at about $95 a night it can be a back up in case your first choice is full.

Room Tip: Be sure to rest quest non smoking if that is your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eraldo7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Commerce Analyst at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your preference and your comments, they help us to serve you even better in your next visit. Our primary objetive is to serve you with the highest standards in hospitality. We are sorry to hear about the signal, every room has an internet router, maybe the signal was saturated during the time you checked in.

We invite you to visit us again in your next stop in Guatemala City, we have new remodeled rooms and an excellent executive floor with amazing views, during your stay we offer FREE internet, shuttle service airport - hotel -airport, parking and more!

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

this place has a nice lobby and good location with all that you need in a walking distance. The room needs to be refurnished and so the bed, towel and linen. Its' all a bit outdated and in some cases not very clean. The room are quite big and relatively comfortable.

I was on the 3rd floor and facing the hotel entrance and it was bit noisy you may want to consider to stay on the upper floor not facing the main road.

Please, be informed that check is not allowed before 3 PM. The local bar is not very attractive. You can have a good breakfast on a short walking distance.

The staff is up to standard and very helpfull. I haven't tried the spa and swiiming pool which looks like its' the best part of the hotel-

Room Tip: upper floor , room not facing the main the road or the lobby entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pillola_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Analista de Comercio at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and comments, they help us to serve you better in your next stay.
Our goal is to serve you with the highest standards, we want to let you know all the rooms have been updated. You can have an early check-in with an additional cost.

Any further assistance needed, please contact us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The rooms are clean and nice. The service is great and the complimentary breakfast is quite good. The best is the friendly staff, they were all very polite and trying to make your travel the best. The best is the location, if you are traveling for fun or work, this hotel has a great location to get to know Guatemala City. I'll stay in this hotel again without thinking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSotoCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Commerce Analyst at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference, our primary goal is to serve you with the highest and finest standards of quality. We hope you come and visit Grand Tikal Futura Hotel soon.

Any information please contact us in our website.

Best Regards,

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at the Grand Tikal Futura for one night before heading to Antigua the following day. My husband is from another area of Guatemala and wanted to stay here because "it is the hotel that all of the government officials stay in". After a long day of traveling, there was a hotel shuttle waiting for us at the airport. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive away and check in was easy. We got a very nice king room on the top floor. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and everything was updated. We were quite hungry upon arrival. The hotel restaurant was already closed and venturing outdoors at night is not recommended in Guatemala City. We decided to give room service a try, but were very disappointed. The food arrived cold and dry. Our room included a buffet breakfast the following day. After a bad meal the night before, we were pleasantly surprised by the nice buffet spread, which included an omelette station, baked goods, fresh fruit and traditional Guatemalan fare. The hotel is quiet, safe and secure. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Corners rooms are nice and large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Director Comercial at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mrs. Sarah A.

Thank you for your preference and comments, we apologize for the inconvenience you had, it´ll help us to serve you better in your future stays. For any further assistance or information please don't doubt and contact us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from Feb 23-28 2014 ninth floor (executive) room 918, from 6 - 8 you are allowed to get drinks or coffee in the executive lounge. I went there and got a bottle of cold water and they told me I had to drink it there and could not take it to my room.
I told them that I wanted cold water because I had NO REFRIGERATOR in my room. (first time I have gone into a hotel with no refrigerator in the room) and that I needed to work and wanted the water to take to my so called executive room .
He offered to give me ice to take to my room and drink my room temperature water I told him that I don't have ice or drink water outside of the Unite States. The waiter them told me that he would give me the bottle of water if I gave him the one in my room................so he accompanied me to the room and we exchange waters.
I am a businessman who travels four times a year to Guatemala, only this time, I had the misfortune that the Clarion Suites was filled because of a Wall-Mart yearly activity and I ended up in this hotel which no wander had vacancies.
So for a simple bottle of water (that was nothing extra or special treatment) they lost a client.

Room Tip: They are remodeling The executive rooms you have to have breakfast upstairs (old bread) not the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Tikal Fut... H, Analista de Mercadeo at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

Agradecemos sus comentarios ya que nos ayudan a mejorar en nuestro servicio. Nuestro principal objetivo es siempre servirle con los más altos estándares de calidad. Le comento que el mini bar debe ser solicitado en la recepción, contamos con una "Mini Bar Convenience Store" en el lobby del hotel la cual está abierta 24 horas.

Contamos con máquinas de hielo en los niveles 4, 7 y 10 en el hotel, el agua puede ser solicitada también a Room Service. Las botellas de agua pura que están en su habitación son dos de cortesía y si desea más botellas de agua tiene un recargo adicional. Le comento que las botellas de agua pura que toma en el Royal Lounge si pueden ser llevadas a su habitación, ya que tiene bebidas de cortesía durante su estadía. (es una amenidad para nuestros huéspedes del piso ejecutivo)

De antemano, agradecemos sus comentarios, esperamos poder servirle en una futura ocasión. Por favor no dude en contactarnos, nos gustaría muchísimo poder servirle como usted se merece.

Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Guatemala City, Guatemala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
3.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#16 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Property: Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Address: Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#8 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tikal Futura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura cuenta con 205 elegantes habitaciones, decoradas con exquisito buen gusto, brindando un sofisticado confort y la garantia del mejor descanso. Su portafolio lo componen 138 Habitaciones Deluxe, 38 Habitaciones Royal Floor, 14 Suites Ejecutivas, 12 Master Suites, 2 Suites Diplomaticas y 1 Suite Presidencial. Para satisfacer las necesidades del viajero de negocios, el Hotel Grand Tikal Futura ofrece en sus remodeladas habitaciones todas las innovaciones, facilidades y servicios que pueda requerir, entre otros, internet inalambrico de 6 Mb de velocidad y router individual en cada habitacion, disponible ademas en cualquier area del hotel, dos (2) unidades de telefono con doble linea telefonica, plancha y planchador, amplia cajilla electronica de seguridad con lector de aperturas, una variada seleccion de productos de alta calidad para el bano, suaves y exquisitas toallas extra largas de algodon con mayor absorcion, espejo de bano con aumento especial e iluminacion ideal para el maquillaje o el afeitado, sabanas, duvets de algodon y variado menu de almohadas, radio - reloj despertador, TV con pantalla de alta definicion LED de 32 pulgadas y mas de 80 canales de television por cable, acceso a un puerto de multiples conexiones –jack pack- que facilitara la conectividad de cualquier equipo electronico. El Hotel Grand Tikal Futura forma parte del impresionante Complejo Tikal Futura, integrado por varios componentes, entre ellos, dos torres de oficinas corporativas de veinte niveles cada una, centro comercial con mas de 170 variados locales comerciales, food court con mas de 30 opciones de restaurantes de comida rapida; “CINEFLICK” compuesto por cinco (5) salas de cine con tecnologia digital y proyeccion 3D, Teatro “Las Mascaras”, escenario ideal para obras de todo genero. Otro componente importante que conforma el Complejo Tikal Futura es el Centro de Convenciones y de Exposiciones, el recinto ferial mas grande de Centroamerica, con capacidad para albergar simultaneamente hasta 7,400 personas. Adicionalmente contamos con un portafolio de 15 salones -de variados tamanos- especiales para celebrar todo tipo de reuniones, convenciones, conferencias y celebraciones especiales. Igualmente, tres (3) salas de auditorios para realzar eventos de caracter corporativos y culturales. Para la comodidad y seguridad de nuestros visitantes, el Complejo Tikal Futura ofrece 3 sotanos de estacionamientos con capacidad para 1,500 vehiculos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Tikal Futura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura
Grand Tikal Futura Guatemala City
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing