We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel not including their security” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$35 off room rate
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel not including their security”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Normally great service, but expect it to be impacted strongly on weekends especially when they are hosting a large group. Especially be aware of your property. There are professional Thieves frequent the hotel watching for groups checking-in. They are pros at distraction, then grab and run. Our group lost a bag with expensive computer, passport, cash, iPhone and other personal items. It is my preferred hotel in Guatemala City because of everything available in the area; two malls many restaurants, and the hotel itself. However, be very aware of your security - which probably can be said about any property in Guatemala City.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapingros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon Mr. Amsler:
Thanks for your comment, as you might remember we send you this letter in the precise moment , let me tell you that we had improvement our security standars and we will very please to invited you to come again to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel and check for yourself how we change.
Have a nice day.
Any Estrada
E Commerce Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    141
    39
    18
    15
See reviews for
73
97
40
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Returned for Semana Santa and as always, found the staff friendly and accomodating. Service was excellent. Room was clean and excellent. Security is prominent (overkill?) The attached mall makes the location the most convenient one could imagine. They are the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias Traveling Marco por tu comentario y mas aun por elegirnos para tu estadia, sera un gusto tenerte nuevamente en esta tu casa.
Any Estrada
E commerce Analyst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A large hotel comparable to the Barcelo. maybe twenty minutes from the airport by hotel shuttle. Indoor pool and three hot tubs - well, one hot tub and two others. Good work-out room. Nice views of volcanoes. Wi-fi worked on the top floors. helpful staff. About a mile walk to Kaminalyuju. Right next to a huge mall with lots of fast food places, shopping, cinema, etc.

Room Tip: top floors for wi-fi and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear dgauss:
Thank you for your comment it was a pleasure for us to serve you. Hope to see you soon in Guatemala.
Yours truly

Any Estrada
E commerce Analyst
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
24-100-800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibley, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I take a large group each year to Latin America. This hotel exceeds what I thought I would find from looking on the website. The rooms were spacious. The food was good. I hope to take the group there this year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Jim F.
Thank you very much for your comments, is a real pleasure have your feed back and let us know if we can do something else to make your stay comfortable for you and your group.
Best Regards
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. Hotel looks great and was a huge step up from most of the hotels Exodus provided on our tour. Lobby and rooms were impressive and pool/spa area was great. Only gripe was that I found it impossible to get any hot water in the shower.

Breakfast buffet was immense with international and Guatemalan options, almost impossible to choose. Dinner in the restaurant was mixed for our group of 11. Six ordered steaks and all sent them back as they arrived stone cold. The kitchen then cooked them some more so everyone got well done even though they ordered rare or medium - couldn't be bothered to return them twice although perhaps should have done.

Had a drink in the bar afterwards where there was a good band and lots of people dancing, closed at midnight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErkiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your comments, we are working to make it easier to use the showers. There are times when the restaurants are filled and try to improve care.
We look forward to having you again.
Best Regards
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed there several times on my most recent visit to Guatemala. For my needs I found the location more helpful than going into busy Zona Viva. The hotel isn't perfect, but I do tire of the pretensions of some of the other hotels in town. This time I was traveling with my 12 year old son who really loved their pool. It is indoors, but with a high glass clear ceiling that made it nice to be in during the day as well. The fitness centre had varied equipment although some of their machines should be replaced as I deemed them unsafe. The service from the staff were mostly positive. For our second stay this past week we stayed on the executive floor. It had a fabulous view of the volcanoes and definitely was quality and value combined. One minor issue is the problem with the lack of functioning electric plugs as in both the lower and upper floors we had problems locating plugs that worked properly. The lower floor room also did not have functional wifi in the room and the LAN cable in the room did not function, but for the economical price paid, I would definitely go back here or the executive floor in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolftree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your comments,about your suggestions we are working give you a better The internet improving it by installing antennas in several points of the hotel to have a good signal .
We hope to have you here soon.
Best Regards
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel looks impressive from the outside and has a range of good things like a pool spa and gym although the pool can be a little cold, the 2 nights i stayed went pretty well the rooms are great and clean staff are helpful but not over the top, the only thing i would say is make a tab at reception i booked online and presumed because they had my card details i could just sign for what i wanted and pay when i left..no....i had a pepsi in the pool area and had all sorts of issues with the payment i had to speak to 3 people to tell them i will pay when i dry and go back to my room for cash...when i went to my room the gentleman appeared as if i wasnt going to pay, pretty poor i thought for a big hotel
Also far away from zone 10, 35 Q for a taxi isnt too bad tho

o be careful with the scrambled eggs, mine wasnt cooked properly and i felt bad for 24 hrs

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good afternoon Mr. Keith: Thanks for your comment, Let me tell you that usually the credit data of every guest are closely guarded by security and used according to the instructions of each visitor We hve a New policy the guest tell us if he whant´s to leave open the voucher for additionals charges.
We hope to have you soon.
Your Truly
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
3.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#2 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#14 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Property: Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Address: Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#8 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tikal Futura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura cuenta con 205 elegantes habitaciones, decoradas con exquisito buen gusto, brindando un sofisticado confort y la garantia del mejor descanso. Su portafolio lo componen 138 Habitaciones Deluxe, 38 Habitaciones Royal Floor, 14 Suites Ejecutivas, 12 Master Suites, 2 Suites Diplomaticas y 1 Suite Presidencial. Para satisfacer las necesidades del viajero de negocios, el Hotel Grand Tikal Futura ofrece en sus remodeladas habitaciones todas las innovaciones, facilidades y servicios que pueda requerir, entre otros, internet inalambrico de 6 Mb de velocidad y router individual en cada habitacion, disponible ademas en cualquier area del hotel, dos (2) unidades de telefono con doble linea telefonica, plancha y planchador, amplia cajilla electronica de seguridad con lector de aperturas, una variada seleccion de productos de alta calidad para el bano, suaves y exquisitas toallas extra largas de algodon con mayor absorcion, espejo de bano con aumento especial e iluminacion ideal para el maquillaje o el afeitado, sabanas, duvets de algodon y variado menu de almohadas, radio - reloj despertador, TV con pantalla de alta definicion LED de 32 pulgadas y mas de 80 canales de television por cable, acceso a un puerto de multiples conexiones –jack pack- que facilitara la conectividad de cualquier equipo electronico. El Hotel Grand Tikal Futura forma parte del impresionante Complejo Tikal Futura, integrado por varios componentes, entre ellos, dos torres de oficinas corporativas de veinte niveles cada una, centro comercial con mas de 170 variados locales comerciales, food court con mas de 30 opciones de restaurantes de comida rapida; “CINEFLICK” compuesto por cinco (5) salas de cine con tecnologia digital y proyeccion 3D, Teatro “Las Mascaras”, escenario ideal para obras de todo genero. Otro componente importante que conforma el Complejo Tikal Futura es el Centro de Convenciones y de Exposiciones, el recinto ferial mas grande de Centroamerica, con capacidad para albergar simultaneamente hasta 7,400 personas. Adicionalmente contamos con un portafolio de 15 salones -de variados tamanos- especiales para celebrar todo tipo de reuniones, convenciones, conferencias y celebraciones especiales. Igualmente, tres (3) salas de auditorios para realzar eventos de caracter corporativos y culturales. Para la comodidad y seguridad de nuestros visitantes, el Complejo Tikal Futura ofrece 3 sotanos de estacionamientos con capacidad para 1,500 vehiculos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Tikal Futura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura
Grand Tikal Futura Guatemala City
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing