We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, WAY underpriced for what you get!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, WAY underpriced for what you get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

WOW. Rooms are fantastic with all the amenities you can think off. The hotel is about 15 min from Guatemala City Airport with free shuttle.
The hotel is in a mall complex with hundreds of restaurants around, all from Wendy's to deluxe restaurants.
We had a room with two queen beds for $70 + 22% tax. Book from their website. You might get a special like we did. Comparable room in US would be $190.

One of my all time favourite hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cavendish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    141
    39
    18
    15
See reviews for
73
97
40
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel represents excellent value.

The one negative is that the public areas could use a paint touch up.

That said, the hotel is excellent. Visually, it has a soaring atrium and my rooom was excellent: large and aesthetically appealing. The staff were extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful.

The gym is reasonable. Room service was of a timely nature and represented reasonable value. The Sunday buffet was excellent.

Finally, management are to be commended. In December, my flight was cancelled at the last minute by American Airlines and the hotel refunded my money.

Excellent service and excellent value.

Room Tip: Room 1002 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I feel the hotel is beautiful and it has a great location but the service is very poor and they are not friendly at all. I found the people working at the reception to be rude and uneducated. When I asked for directions, to get somewhere, they all looked at each other not knowing how to help me. I have stayed at this hotel many times before, but it appears as if it is going down hill. I also ordered room service which the food made me very sick the same night. I cancelled the last few days of my reservation and stayed at the Barcelo which was so much nicer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M-Weitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Analista de Comercio Electrónico at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios los cuales nos ayudan a mejorar en las áreas donde se necesita.
En relación a su comentario estamos tomando las medidas correctivas al respecto, mil disculpas por los inconvenientes. Esperamos que en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Guatemala, nos dé la oportunidad de atenderlo como usted lo merece.

Saludos Cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We needed a hotel in G.C. close to the airport for an early flight. Of the "airport hotels," we booked this room based on the hotel website's pictures/spread of their amazing pool. We got there at 3:00 pm. After eating at the restaurant (great place), we got to the pool at 4:40. The pool attendant informed us that the pool was to close at 5:00. Really? Awesome. Kids were crestfallen and we were bummed. The kicked us out at 5:00.

We talked to the manager. He informed us that they had scheduled the closure for the holiday so their employees could spend time with families. Certainly understandable and laudable. We asked him why there had been no notice on their website nor at checkin. His only reply was that they had made a mistake.

He offered us 50% off at the restaurant if we would visit later for dessert. No thanks, we said. Asking a guest to spend money in order to recieve their apology isn't acceptable. In the end, he agreed to send us free dessert by room service. The creme brullee was very good.

Stay again? No. Not with that kind of service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Analista de Comercio Electrónico at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:
Reciba un cordial saludo de todo el equipo de Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, le agradecemos el tiempo que se ha tomado para escribir su comentario, el cual nos ayuda a mejorar y prestar un mejor servicio. En relación a su comentario le informo que efectivamente tenemos una política de varios años que el área del Spa del Hotel para las fechas 24, 25 y 31 de Diciembre, así como el 01 de Enero, el horario para nuestros clientes es hasta las 18:00 horas, ésto lo hacemos para que nuestros colaboradores tengan la oportunidad de compartir con sus familias en esas fechas de fin de año.
Mil disculpas por las molestias ocasionadas, le aseguro que subiremos dicha información a nuestra página Web y los diferentes sitios electrónicos para que estén informados.
No me resta más que hacerle la más cordial invitación para poder atenderle a usted y a su familia como se lo merecen.

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Guatemala City and needed to stay in the city for a few days on several occasions. We were recommended Grand Tikal Futura Hotel and even though it isn't in the Tourist Zone (Zone 10) we decided to try it. We were not disappointed in the grandeur of the building, the friendly staff, clean spacious rooms and the safe environment. We enjoyed using the covered heated pool, spa, gym and restaurant. On one of our stays we booked into the executive floor which was a bit more expensive but included buffet breakfast, unlimited espresso coffee and bottled water and supper with a couple of drinks included. This worked out to be very good value and convenient. We had room service for dinner one night and one breakfast and the single meal size was big enough to feed both of us. They have complimentary airport shuttles. Taxis are readily available to take you to museums etc. There is an excellent museum right next door and a shopping plaza under the hotel and another next door. If I need to stay in Guatemala City again I will definitley be returning to the Grand Tikal Futura Hotel!

Room Tip: Executive rooms on level 9 include some food & drinks. Volcano views from some rooms - ask at d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
632 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Convenient location - 7 minutes from the international airport. On lower levels of the building - big shopping mall. Nice huge rooms and apartmants, big and comfortable beds, subtle touch of bedcloths. Frenetic breakfast , big variety of cold and hot dishes in different styles - good and elegant service. Good to be here

Room Tip: From the top levels - nice city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

So i've stayed in my share of guatemala hotels. Ranging from the Radisson to the Westin. All had their pros and cons. On this trip upon arriving to Guatemala I was suprised to find out that my usual hotels where not only full, but they had raised their rates to a staggering 140 + usd. I instantly wipped my cell and looked at tripadvisor and stumbled upon this property. What a great find! The hotel has everything you could ever need. It has a mall on the lower level, granted its not your Boca Raton mall, but its a simple little plaza with a great food court and cinema. Bang opposite you can find another plaza with a Chucky Cheese, and other misc stores. On the side the biggest and newest mall in guatemala, with stores ranging from Zara to Swarovski. On the sides you can find taco bell, pollo campero, and a few other fast food places and restaurants. On the back end of the mall, right behind the hotel you have everything from Ihop to sizzlers. The hotel has a great spa, pool, and gym. The gym area is clean and well kept. They have 3 hot tubs, which are a great stop after a busy day of working or traveling. The rooms are modern, sleek and for central america, I'd say are in the range of a marriott. The staff is nice and always willing to help. The only thing missing is a concierge or a guest relations staff member, aside from this hotel is A+. My only suggestion is that the food and bevarages in the hotel are a little high, (20 bucks for 2 beers) but with so many options outside the hotel, its not even an issue.

Room Tip: Hotel seems to have issues with WIFI. Ask for a router in your room if you really need internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
3.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#2 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
#6 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#14 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Property: Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Address: Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#8 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tikal Futura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura cuenta con 205 elegantes habitaciones, decoradas con exquisito buen gusto, brindando un sofisticado confort y la garantia del mejor descanso. Su portafolio lo componen 138 Habitaciones Deluxe, 38 Habitaciones Royal Floor, 14 Suites Ejecutivas, 12 Master Suites, 2 Suites Diplomaticas y 1 Suite Presidencial. Para satisfacer las necesidades del viajero de negocios, el Hotel Grand Tikal Futura ofrece en sus remodeladas habitaciones todas las innovaciones, facilidades y servicios que pueda requerir, entre otros, internet inalambrico de 6 Mb de velocidad y router individual en cada habitacion, disponible ademas en cualquier area del hotel, dos (2) unidades de telefono con doble linea telefonica, plancha y planchador, amplia cajilla electronica de seguridad con lector de aperturas, una variada seleccion de productos de alta calidad para el bano, suaves y exquisitas toallas extra largas de algodon con mayor absorcion, espejo de bano con aumento especial e iluminacion ideal para el maquillaje o el afeitado, sabanas, duvets de algodon y variado menu de almohadas, radio - reloj despertador, TV con pantalla de alta definicion LED de 32 pulgadas y mas de 80 canales de television por cable, acceso a un puerto de multiples conexiones –jack pack- que facilitara la conectividad de cualquier equipo electronico. El Hotel Grand Tikal Futura forma parte del impresionante Complejo Tikal Futura, integrado por varios componentes, entre ellos, dos torres de oficinas corporativas de veinte niveles cada una, centro comercial con mas de 170 variados locales comerciales, food court con mas de 30 opciones de restaurantes de comida rapida; “CINEFLICK” compuesto por cinco (5) salas de cine con tecnologia digital y proyeccion 3D, Teatro “Las Mascaras”, escenario ideal para obras de todo genero. Otro componente importante que conforma el Complejo Tikal Futura es el Centro de Convenciones y de Exposiciones, el recinto ferial mas grande de Centroamerica, con capacidad para albergar simultaneamente hasta 7,400 personas. Adicionalmente contamos con un portafolio de 15 salones -de variados tamanos- especiales para celebrar todo tipo de reuniones, convenciones, conferencias y celebraciones especiales. Igualmente, tres (3) salas de auditorios para realzar eventos de caracter corporativos y culturales. Para la comodidad y seguridad de nuestros visitantes, el Complejo Tikal Futura ofrece 3 sotanos de estacionamientos con capacidad para 1,500 vehiculos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Tikal Futura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura
Grand Tikal Futura Guatemala City
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing