We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An oasis !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Camino Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Camino Real to your Saves list
The Westin Camino Real
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Camino Real 0-20, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An oasis !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

A beautiful hotel . We arrived for a 4 night stay prior to 3 weeks travelling around Guatemala . The first room that we had had a dreadful view so we changed rooms even though we were warned that there would be building noise ! It had a much better view and we coped with the noise ! we booked on line which said that it included breakfast . After the first day we were moved to an inferior breakfast room . Rather irritating but nothing we could do ! The staff were all unfailingly happy and pleasant .

Room Tip: This is a very safe area of Guatemala City . A perfect place to stay for the uninitiated . Close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. We really appreciate to know your feedback this will help us to improve this service. This comment already was sent to responsible department.

We hope to see you soon again in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    195
    71
    24
    22
See reviews for
60
89
40
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here on our wedding night having our wedding reception at the same hotel... but i am going to comment about the stay only and not the party (which was awesome btw)... It was a nice room, check in was slow, but a lot of people checking in at the same time that day...we ordered food service and it was very good and quick and also had a great breakfast at the restaurant!,.. we asked for late check out and no problem with that.. enojyed our stay at this hotel...

Room Tip: ask for a room towards the street..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R76S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you for your additional comment about our services.

We hope to see you soon again in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. It has a fantastic marble lobby. The buffet restaurant has very good food and the wait staff was all great during my stay. However, there is no easy way to get to the pool because you have to take the stairs several levels down and go through the spa to come back upstairs to reach the pool. For a business traveler that has an hour to kill before dinner that just is not convenient enough. The incidentals do add up because there is a charge for each bottle of water that is provided in the room. Overall it was a pleasant experience, but there are some things that can be handled better.

Room Tip: If you want a good view you need to have a high level room. My room was on the second floor and I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanpierce63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you so much for your additional comments, we really appreciate to know your feedback. This comment already was sent to responsible department.

We hope to hear from you soon and please apologize for inconvenient during your stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here one night before and one night after flying to Tikal. The hotel is well-located, good for business as well as pleasure, but not up to par for what you would expect from a big-city Westin in the United States.

It seemed a little run-down since we stayed there nine years earlier, but the beds were comfortable (“Westin Heavenly Bed?”) and we felt secure, as there were always hotel personnel at the entrances and you had to insert your room card in the elevator in order to get it to stop at your floor.

The wifi situation was outrageously complicated, so much so that we would probably not stay there again unless they fix it. They limit the number of devices that can access the internet from your room to three. Which for a Silicon Valley couple is not enough – we try to go offline when we travel, but who wants to pay for international cell data just so you can make sure things are okay back at home, or to search TripAdvisor for restaurant recommendations?

Furthermore, getting three devices connected required multiple calls to the hotel operator, as they had to create authorization codes for our additional devices, and not all the authorization codes worked. Additionally, while there is supposedly free wifi in the lobby and restaurants, we were never able to get connected – the user interface always requested us to pay for another day’s access. In general, the wifi system was much too frustrating to be useful for today’s connected traveler, whether she is on business or pleasure.

Service in general was so-so. Two lights in our room were burnt out, and despite informing them about the problem, only one of them had been replaced when we returned from Tikal two days later.

Although we stayed on the “executive level,” it’s not clear to me that this provided much of a benefit. They serve snacks and non-alcoholic beverages during the day, but they aren’t very tasty and the service in their executive lounge is “relaxed.” We opted to pay for the breakfast buffet downstairs in the main restaurant, as the free one for executive level guests was less appealing. The breakfast downstairs is very good, with eggs cooked to order, fruit and a variety of breads and meats.

It may be the case that Guatemala City hotels are suffering the same slow decline as one sees in the Zona Viva, but attracting more leisure and business travelers to this property will require some investment and upgrades.

Room Tip: Not sure it's worth it to pay for executive level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. We are really sorry for the experience during your stay with our wifi service, we already sent your comment to the department in charge of it, this is not an usual case we apologize for this, is not an acceptable. Thank you very much for the additional comments, are a real strength to improve.

Again apologize on behalf of Westin staff for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope to see you soon in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here two nights. I arrived after dark on a sunday, all was well. I had to get up and leave early on monday (before 6am) and got back after dark. So far - so good. I hadn't seen out the windows yet - no one warned me when I checked in (to an upgraded suite, room 559).

6:30am - bam - slam - bam - loud laughter and talking. Apparently my room is right next to the service room, all of the workers going in and out with carts and everything. This goes on all morning.

7:30am - workers start arriving. Unbeknownest to me - 2 feet behind my bed - right on the other side of the wall - is a full blown construction site - they are expanding the hotel. See the picture. I could not believe my eyes. The pictures on my wall above the bed are shaking as they hammer on the wall. As they use construction grade power tools. the yelling. The banging. The trucks going around. NO WARNING whatsoever. I blew two suite upgrades on this place and they gave me a room that abuts to a full blown construction site. Unbelievable.

8:00am - cannot take it anymore, go to shower. Guess what. NO HOT WATER. Maybe they used it all on the construction zone 2 feet away from my room.

I talk to the manager. All smiles, so sorry, no there is NOTHING we can do - nothing. The bill is the bill, we can do nothing for you. Yes, the general manager knows about this.

YES - OTHER PEOPLE HAvE COMPLAINED (I asked). I was amazed - you actually rent your high end, expensive rooms to people fully knowing they are in a construction zone - not NEAR but IN a construction zone, "Yes sir" (smiling). Don't you think this is a bad idea - "I'm so sorry sir" - still smiling. It is like talking to a robot. The general manager is aware of the problem - but they don't car. Multiple complaints about this from many people over time - they do not care. cannot do anything about it - nothing.

I've stayed here in the past, but this is the last time. I'm platinum with starwood - this is the worst treatment of customers I've seen. They know every time they rent these rooms that person will be in a construction zone.

and. they. do. not. care.

Never again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped,

Muchas gracias por su fina retroalimentación sobre su estadía en nuestra propiedad, deseamos extenderle una sincera disculpa por los inconvenientes ocurridos durante su visita, nos encontramos en un proceso de remodelación con la finalidad de brindarle más y mejores servicios que usted como nuestro cliente se merece; lamentamos que nuestro personal no haya brindado una solución efectiva durante su estadía, su comentario ha sido trasladado a la Dirección del área para corregir este tipo de servicios que no son aceptables.

Nuevamente sirvase aceptar nuestras sinceras disculpas al respecto y esperamos tenerle pronto en esta su casa Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Saludos cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice stay while in Guatemala City. Nice rooms. Beautiful lobby. Great breakfast buffet. Fresh juices in lobby. Negatives were expensive for Wifi in room. Hard to exchange money in lobby.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Borglum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Any additional comment will be welcome.

We hope to see you soon again in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Visited Guatemala City and had a great time at the Westin. Nice pool and hot tub with bar, fun staff. Rooms are spacious, concierge lounge has a great breakfast and evening snacks. Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsbronde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Any additional comment will be welcome.

We hope to see you soon again in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.4 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#2 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#4 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#14 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Camino Real

Property: The Westin Camino Real
Address: Calle Camino Real 0-20, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#11 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Camino Real 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Camino Real Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Guatemala City
Guatemala City Westin
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing