We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should I return?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Having been here several times in the last few years, I was rather surprised that the level of service was not up to their usual standards.

No one greeted us at the entrance, nor took our bags or greeted us at the front desk. Where were they? They claimed not to have our reservation, but I showed my confirmation number and it was eventually cleared up. The young man who checked us in later was excellent.

Negatives: No bellman service offered nor water in the room. Refrigerator was locked and a service charge of $5 per day for holding your bags additional days was requested. Service at the restaurant was miserably lacking. We left after a ten minute wait with no service.

Frankly, I've never experienced this lack of attention before at this place nor at any other Starwood property.

I have never written a negative review, but management needs to give some attention to these matters.

It was Easter and the last day of Semana Santa so that may explain some of the short comings, but apparently not all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eraldo7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. We are very sorry for the inconvenient with our services; we can assure you that this is an unusual case, we apologize for what happened, your comment has been sent to the department in charge of it.

Again apologize on behalf of Westin staff for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope to see you soon in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Very truly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 785 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

$159 per night in Guatemala City should come with a certain level of service. I am SPG preferred and they didn't have my reservation. I presented my SPG card and no offer for upgrade. No Concierge on duty on a holiday weekend. Front desk and valet were fairly clueless about surrounding restaurants. Juice and tea were in the lobby with no cups (for my whole stay) $10 a day charge for internet on my bill which should be included w SPG preferred. Took about half an hour for front desk to remove it on checkout. Elevators not functional so had to use freight elevators after being told "there are no stairs" water in "hot tub" was lukewarm at best. Property is nice but absolutely no service or attention to detail. I travel in Central America a lot so I am not basing this on US levels of service. Save your points or $ and stay somewhere else in Zone 10.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregskinner8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. We are very sorry for the inconvenient with your Starwood Member; we can assure you that this is an unusual case, we apologize for what happened, your comment has been sent to the department in charge of it.

Again apologize on behalf of Westin staff for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope to see you soon in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Very truly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I travel to Guatemala very often, and this is by far one of the best options. Some rooms however are a bit outdated, but the ones that have been refurbished are really nice. The pool is the best one in Guatemala City, and the gym is just amazing.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Capodicapi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Any additional comment will be welcome.

We hope to see you soon again in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

During this trip to Guatemala we stayed at this property on multiple occasions. By far I would have to say its one of the best options in Guatemala to stay at. Service from everyone is great. The property is beautiful and you always feel safe being here.
One person that I wanted to thank as he made our stay MUCH BETTER, is Ariel at the front desk. He is great and always greats you with a smile. Since we stayed here multiple times he remembered us by name and was always willing to help.
The Westin Camino Real is lucky to have employees like Ariel.
In summary I would recommend this hotel; try the pool, hot tub and gym because they are all great! The only thing that I would have to say that I was not happy with was the spa services. When I got my massage it was far from what I would expect from a WESTIN chain hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the remodeled rooms because the other rooms are not nice at all! Lower floors I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddiepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,

¡Reciba un cordial saludo desde Westin Camino Real Guatemala!

Agradecemos el tiempo que se ha tomado en responder a nuestra encuesta, es una fuente importante de información conocer la percepción de nuestros clientes en cuanto a la calificación que nos brinda y los comentarios adicionales que pueden proporcionarnos. Esperamos volverle a ver pronto en esta su casa Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Saludos cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is our airline layover hotel and I've come here 2-3 times a month for the past three years. I've never seen anybody bring a prostitute there. It's a nice hotel with a super friendly staff, decent gym, and pool. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Any additional comment will be welcome.

We hope to see you soon again in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I spent one night at this Westin (so our perspective is limited) after arriving on a late flight into Guatemala city (we were travel weary). From the moment we arrived they began cheering us up. Staff was polite and professional, check-in was smooth, and they upgraded us to a rather nice suite. The room was great and we had an amazing (and much needed) sleep.

The breakfast buffet in the morning also had a nice selection, and again the staff we all smiles and helpful.

One caveat. I can't speak to the true "value" of the hotel, because we were staying on a discounted rate (so of course we had amazing value). Short of it is, the experience was just what we needed at that point in our travels. I wish I could say the same for a different Westin we stayed in a couple weeks later.

Room Tip: We were in a suite, which I assume was a newly renovated room (it had to be). So may be worth askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback. Thank you so much for your additional comment, it will help us to keep and improve the high service in each of your visits, we already sent this comment to the responsible departments.

We hope to see you soon in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Very truly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was a very nice place to stay, but the housekeeping is hard to come by. I only asked that my room be cleaned once during my 4 night stay. They came in to replenish the (for charge) bottled water, and left dirty towels on the floor of the bathroom. The lobby staff is wonderful - very friendly and helpful. Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertsmom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. We are really sorry for your additional comment about our service to clean your room; we apologize for what happened, we can assure you it is not usual case, but we have transferred this information to the appropriate department, .

However excuse us on behalf of Westin staff for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope to see you soon in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Very truly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.0 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Camino Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Camino Real Guatemala

Address: Calle Camino Real 0-20, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#11 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $146 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Camino Real Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Camino Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Camino Real Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Guatemala City
Guatemala City Westin
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing